Reply of the SPC and SPP on Issues of Conviction and Sentencing for the Use of Cloud Storage in the Production, Copying, Selling, and Distribution of Obscene Electronic Information for Profit.

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

Title: Reply of the Supreme People's Court, Supreme People's Procuratorate on Issues of Conviction and Sentencing for the Use of Cloud Storage in the Production, Copying, Selling, and Distribution of Obscene Electronic Information for Profit.
Promulgating Entities:The Supreme People's Court, The Supreme People's Procuratorate
Reference number: Legal Interpretation (2017) No. 19
Promulgation Date: 2017-11-22
Expiration date: 
Source of text: http://www.court.gov.cn/zixun-xiangqing-69832.html

(Passed on August 28 2017 by the 30,by the 1724th session of the Adjudication Committee of the Supreme People's Court, and on October 10, 2017 by the 70th meeting of the 12th session of the prosecutor's committee of the Supreme People's Procuratorate, and is hereby promulgated, to take effect on December 1, 2017.)

People's courts, people's procuratorates of all provinces, autonomous regions and directly governed municipalities, PLA military courts and military procuratorates, branch courts of the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region higher people's court for the production and construction corps, the Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps Procuratorate:

In recent years, some High People's Courts and provincial-level people's procuratorates have sought advice on issues of conviction and sentencing for the use of cloud storage in the production, copying, selling, and Distribution of obscene electronic information for profit. Upon research, the following reply is made:

I. Whether those who for the purpose of making a profit, use internet cloud storage to create, copy, sell, or distribute obscene electronic information, should be pursued for criminally responsibility, is to apply the relevant provisions of the Criminal Law and the "Supreme People's Court and Supreme People's Procuratorate Interpretation of Several Issues Concerning the Specific Application of Law in Criminal Cases of Using Internet or Mobile Network terminals in the Production, Copying, Publication, Sale, and Distribution of Obscene Electronic Information "(Legal interpretation〔2004〕No.11)," the "Supreme People's Court and Supreme People's Procuratorate Interpretation on Several Issues in criminal Cases of Using the Internet, Mobile Network Terminals, and Call Centers in the Production, Copying, Publication, Sale, and Distribution of Obscene Electronic Information (2)" (Legal interpretation〔2010〕No. 3).

II. In light of the special characteristics of cloud storage, when pursuing the criminal responsibility of those who, for the purpose of making profits, use network cloud storage to produce, copy, sell or distribute obscene electronic information, the volume of electronic information produced, copied, soled, or distributed should not be considered alone, but instead full consideration should be given to circumstances such as the scope of dissemination, unlawful gains, the performance of the perpetrator, as well as whether the obscene materials involved or were distributed to minors, and comprehensively assess the dangerousness to society and give a proper punishment, to ensure the punishment is commensurate to the crime.

This is our Reply.

About China Law Translate 831 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

两高关于利用网络云盘制作、复制、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息牟利行定罪量刑问题

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.
【法规标题】最高人民法院、最高人民检察院关于利用网络云盘制作、复制、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息牟利行为定罪量刑问题的批复
【颁布单位】最高人民法院 最高人民检察院
【发文字号】法释〔2017〕19号
【颁布时间】2017-11-22
【失效时间】
【法规来源】http://www.court.gov.cn/zixun-xiangqing-69832.html

(2017年8月28日最高人民法院审判委员会第1724次会议、 2017年10月10日最高人民检察院第十二届检察委员会第70次会议通过,自2017年12月1日起施行)

各省、自治区、直辖市高级人民法院、人民检察院,解放军军事法院、军事检察院,新疆维吾尔自治区高级人民法院生产建设兵团分院、新疆生产建设兵团人民检察院:

近来,部分高级人民法院、省级人民检察院就如何对利用网络云盘制作、复制、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息牟利行为定罪量刑的问题提出请示。 经研究,批复如下:

一、对于以牟利为目的,利用网络云盘制作、复制、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息的行为,是否应当追究刑事责任,适用刑法和《最高人民法院、最高人民检察院关于办理利用互联网、移动通讯终端、声讯台制作、复制、出版、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息刑事案件具体应用法律若干问题的解释》(法释〔2004〕11号)、《最高人民法院、最高人民检察院关于办理利用互联网、移动通讯终端、声讯台制作、复制、出版、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息刑事案件具体应用法律若干问题的解释(二)》(法释〔2010〕3号)的有关规定。

二、对于以牟利为目的,利用网络云盘制作、复制、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息的行为,在追究刑事责任时,鉴于网络云盘的特点,不应单纯考虑制作、复制、贩卖、传播淫秽电子信息的数量,还应充分考虑传播范围、违法所得、行为人一贯表现以及淫秽电子信息、传播对象是否涉及未成年人等情节,综合评估社会危害性,恰当裁量刑罚,确保罪责刑相适应。

此复。

打赏
About China Law Translate 535 Articles

CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*