Notification on Personal Information Protection and Using Big Data to Support Joint Prevention and Control Efforts

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

To each provincial, autonomous region, and directly-governed municipalities' Committee on Network Security and Informatization, and relevant departments and committees of the Party Central Commission and state organs:

In order to do a good job in the protection of personal information in the joint prevention and control of pneumonia caused by novel coronavirus infection, and to actively use big data including personal information to support the joint prevention and control efforts, notice on related matters is hereby given as follows with the consent of the Central Network Security and Informatization Committee.

1. Each local department should attach great importance to the protection of personal information, and other than units other than departments authorized by the State Council Health and Hygiene Departments on the basis of the "P.R.C. Cybersecurity Law", the"P.R.C. Law on the Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases", and the "Regulations on Emergency Response to Public Health Emergencies", units and individuals must not collect and use personal information without the consent of the subject of the person whose information is being collected for prevention and control of the epidemic or disease prevention and control. Where laws and administrative regulations provide otherwise, those provisions are controlling.

2. The collection of personal information necessary for joint defense and joint control should be done with reference to the national standards in the "Personal Information Security Specifications" and adhere to the principle of minimum scope, and in principle, the targets for collection should be restricted to key groups such as confirmed cases, suspected cases, and those with close contact; and in general should not target all groups in a specified area to prevent de facto discrimination against groups in that specified area.

3. Personal information collected for epidemic prevention and control or disease prevention and treatment, must not be otherwise used. Without the consent of the person whose information is being collected, units and individuals must not disclose names, ages, ID numbers, telephone numbers, home addresses, or other such personal information, except as needed for joint control efforts and after processing for desensitization.

4. Institutions that collect or have control of personal information should be responsible for protecting the security of personal information, and should employ strict management and technical protection measures to prevent theft and leaks.

5. Under the guidance of relevant departments, enterprises with the capacity are encouraged to actively use big data to analyze and predict the migration of confirmed cases, suspected cases, and persons with close contact, to provide big data support to joint prevention and control efforts.

6. Any organization and individual discovering violations of rules and laws in the collection, use, or disclosure of personal information may promptly report them to the departments for internet information or for public security. The departments of internet information should promptly address violations of rules and laws in the collection, use, or disclosure of personal information, as well as incidents causing leaks of large volumes of personal information, in accordance with the “P.R.C.Cybersecurity Law" and related provisions; the public security organs should strictly combat those involving crimes in accordance with law.

General Office of the Central Network Security and Informatization Committee

February 4, 2020

 

About China Law Translate 943 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

关于做好个人信息保护利用大数据支撑联防联控工作的通知

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

各省、自治区、直辖市网络安全和信息化委员会,中央和国家机关有关部委:

为做好新型冠状病毒感染肺炎疫情联防联控中的个人信息保护,积极利用包括个人信息在内的大数据支撑联防联控工作,经中央网络安全和信息化委员会同意,现将有关事项通知如下:

1.各地方各部门要高度重视个人信息保护工作,除国务院卫生健康部门依据《中华人民共和国网络安全法》《中华人民共和国传染病防治法》《突发公共卫生事件应急条例》授权的机构外,其他任何单位和个人不得以疫情防控、疾病防治为由,未经被收集者同意收集使用个人信息。 法律、行政法规另有规定的,按其规定执行。

2.收集联防联控所必需的个人信息应参照国家标准《个人信息安全规范》,坚持最小范围原则,收集对象原则上限于确诊者、疑似者、密切接触者等重点人群,一般不针对特定地区的所有人群,防止形成对特定地域人群的事实上歧视。

3.为疫情防控、疾病防治收集的个人信息,不得用于其他用途。 任何单位和个人未经被收集者同意,不得公开姓名、年龄、身份证号码、电话号码、家庭住址等个人信息,因联防联控工作需要,且经过脱敏处理的除外。

4.收集或掌握个人信息的机构要对个人信息的安全保护负责,采取严格的管理和技术防护措施,防止被窃取、被泄露。

5.鼓励有能力的企业在有关部门的指导下,积极利用大数据,分析预测确诊者、疑似者、密切接触者等重点人群的流动情况,为联防联控工作提供大数据支持。

6.任何组织和个人发现违规违法收集、使用、公开个人信息的行为,可以及时向网信、公安部门举报。 网信部门要依据《中华人民共和国网络安全法》和相关规定,及时处置违规违法收集、使用、公开个人信息的行为,以及造成个人信息大量泄露的事件;涉及犯罪的公安机关要依法严厉打击。

中央网络安全和信息化委员会办公室

2020年2月4日

 

About China Law Translate 1032 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。