Deputy Chief Prosecutor of SPP, Zhu Xiaoqing response on Wrongful Convictions

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.
Zhu Xiaoqing (Member of the Supreme People's Procuratorate Party Committee, Deputy Chief Procurator, Porcuratorial Committee Member, Second Level Grand Procurator.

Zhu Xiaoqing (Member of the Supreme People's Procuratorate Party Committee,  Deputy Chief Procurator, Porcuratorial Committee Member, Second Level Grand Procurator.
Zhu Xiaoqing (Member of the Supreme People's Procuratorate Party Committee, Deputy Chief Procurator, Porcuratorial Committee Member, Second Level Grand Procurator.

13:17, July 8, 2013 ;Source: Procuratorate Daily

http://www.chinanews.com/gn/2013/07-08/5014633.shtml

Several Points on the Understanding of "Upholding the Bottom Line of Preventing Unjust, False, and Wrongly Decided Cases"

Since the Party's 18th Congress, General Secretary XI Jinping, has issued a series of major instructions on the establishment of rule of law and political legal work, particularly emphasizing that we "should strive to let the masses feel fairness and justice from every judicial case." Upholding the bottom line of preventing unjust, false and wrongly decided cases is an important aspect of ensuring social fairness and justice. To this end, we must clarify the following ideological points:

1, Clarifying that ensuring the quality of case-handling and upholding the bottom line of preventing unjust, false and wrongfully decided cases is the lifelong pursuit and responsibility of all law enforcement and case handling personnel.

Such cases are not only a catastrophe for the parties, but also seriously harm judicial authority and judicial credibility, impacting the public's faith in social fairness and justice and influencing the long-term stability of the nation. Although the several unjust, false or wrongly decided cases that have been recently revealed were all handled many years ago, and although they only occurred in a handful of places, still, "experience is the best teacher" and that none have been discovered today, does not mean that there are objective definitely none happening, and that none are discovered today does not mean none will happen in the future. Therefore, ensuring the quality of case handling, upholding the bottom line of preventing unjust, false and wrongly decided cases is the lifelong pursuit and great responsibility of all law enforcement and case-handling personnel. Law enforcement and case-handling personnel haven't the slightest reason to feel good about themselves for this, but should rather approach it in the spirit high responsibility, from a knowledgeable and contemplative mindset, so long as they remain in a law enforcement or case-handling position. At the same time, it must also be clarified that "upholding" means resolutely upholding the [asses under one's own protection and one cannot fail do so and hope that others down the line will uphold them. "Upholding" means striving to exclude any illegal evidence that is discovered to avoid that evidence fostering an unjust, false or wrongly decided case. "Upholding" means putting yourself on the line, bravely following the law to express and stick to correct opinions, and when discovering that leaders' decisions might produce an unjust, false or wrongly decided case, reporting it to the level above or even reporting to several levels above so as to prevent a tragedy. Those who clearly know that superiors decisions will produce an unjust, false or wrongly decided case but still carry it out and do not report to superiors will be held responsible in accordance with law. "Upholding" means that case-handling personnel cannot have an excessive caseload for long periods of time, as it will become both difficult to ensure the quality of the cases and difficult to avoid unjust, false and wrongly decided cases from occurring; not to mention the serious impact on the health and studies of case-handling personnel. Therefore, where the problem of high case-loads and insufficient staffing is particularly prominent, support should be garnered from the Party committee and government to hire some procuratorial support personnel. The case load/ staffing conflict is usually pronounced in areas that are more economically developed, and college graduates are very willing to come but face a lack of employment; so long as the Party committee and government consent, all the requirements are there to hire high caliber personnel that can excel at auxiliary procuratorial work.

2, Clarifying the Meaning of Case quality.

Some comrades believe that upholding the bottom line of preventing unjust, false or wrongly decided cases means that it would be better to have some cases slip through the cracks than have them be wrongly decided. I do not agree with that perception. What we call judicial fairness simply means that when one's rights are encroached they will definitely receive protection and remedies, and that criminal activity will definitely be stopped and punished. In other words, judicial fairness includes preventing cases from slipping through the cracks. The meaning of case quality is that the evidence is credible and sufficient, the nature of the case correctly determined, the handling proper and the procedures lawful; which means that cases must neither be wrongly decided nor allowed to slip through the cracks. Because, if they are wrongly decided, the suspect or defendant do not feel the fairness and justice, and if the case is let slip, then the victims do not feel the fairness and justice. Of course, according to the principle of not punishing where a crime is in doubt, handling these doubtful cases might create some 'slips', but there is no conflict between this kind of 'slip' that is called for by law and the prevention of 'slips' in the guiding ideology. Therefore, we should both uphold the bottom line of preventing unjust, false and wrongly decided cases, but also adhere to the 'two fundamentals", preventing entanglement in minutia, and tolerance of crime.

3, Clarifying the standard of "Unjust, false and wrongly decided cases"

My understanding is that in unjust cases a crime objectively occurred but the person prosecuted was not the criminal; in false cases a crime did not necessarily occur and the case or the person being brought into the litigation process is false. The common point of unjust and false cases is that they both take a person who has not committed a crime and make him a suspect or defendant in a prosecution, in layman's terms, they 'got the wrong guy' Wrongfully decided cases can be distinguished on the basis of broad and narrow meanings, the narrow meaning is just as in unjust or false cases, and also indicates having 'got the wrong man'. The broad meaning of wrongly decided case includes initiating a prosecution of a case in doubt where the evidence is not clear or insufficient, because this kind of case does not meet the legal requirements for prosecution or trial but is treated as if it did, making it a wrongly decided case in light of the balance of legal regulations. 'unjust, false and wrongly decided cases" as normally uses, primarily means "getting the wrong guy", while at the same time, it also includes handling a case in doubt as an offense. Because in cases in doubt, there might be a real crime but there might also be no crime, if they are handled as crimes some of the suspects or defendants will be wronged. For example, in a 100 cases-in-doubt, even if only 5% are unjust, if they are all handled as crimes then 5 people will be wronged and this doesn't uphold the bottom line of preventing unjust, false and wrongfully decided cases. Therefore, to uphold this bottom line of preventing unjust cases and false cases (getting the wrong guy), we must persist in not punishing where there is doubt, and uphold the bottom line of not handling cases-in-doubt as crimes.

To the public, "not getting the wrong guy" seems like a simple thing, so why does it become so difficult to do once it's in the judicial organs that we must struggle so hard to attain? First, is because the proof in criminal matters is a retrospective proof that can only use the evidence gathered to recover and reproduce criminal facts that have already past, and the process of this type of recovery or reproduction is extremely complicated, and restricted by a number of factors so that the truth is easily buried or twisted. Second is because whether or not a person is the right man, whether a certain suspect or defendant is the true offender, is something only he knows (if the suspect or defendant is not the real offender, then the offender also knows, and judicial personnel do not know. Judicial personnel see only the facts and evidence in the case. Therefore in the theory of litigation proofs, there exists the distinction between objective truth and legal truth, objective facts and legal facts. Objective truth is not seen by judicial personnel who can only rely on the legal facts 'reproduced' through case evidence; and only when these legal facts correspond to the objective facts, which only the criminal knows, do we get the right guy. If they don't conform, then unjust, false or wrongly decided cases appear. Therefore, in judicial proofs, objective truth is the goal, and legal truth is the standard.

4. Clarifying the Specific Standards for Procuracy Organs in Upholding the Bottom Line of Preventing Unjust, Unlawful and Wrongly Determined Cases

What standards should procuracy organs use for arrest and indictment, before it is considered upholding the bottom line of preventing unjust, false and wrongly decided cases? For example, can we require that any case for which there is an arrest or indictment, there must be guilty verdicts 100% of the time? I think that it's certainly bad to have low conviction rates, but that we can't require a 100% conviction rate.

Let's first talk about prosecution. Although indictment and trial standards are both "the facts of the crime are clear, evidence credible and sufficient, there isn't a clearly visible line that can be understood at first brush that divides clear and unclear facts, or sufficient and insufficient evidence; and it is hard to avoid having a "fuzzy area". For most cases, this line is fairly easy to draw, but in a few cases exist in this fuzzy region between clear and unclear, credible and sufficient and incredible and insufficient. Further, different people have different understanding, and this can lead to situations where one person sees clear facts and credible and sufficient evidence while other see unclarity, and insufficient evidence. It the goal is put forward that 100% of indicted cases should lead to convictions, prosecutors will increase their risk margins and only indict those cases where there is no difference of interpretation in the facts and evidence and where a crime is clearly established and those cases that fall within the fuzzy area, allowing for different understandings will not be indicted, and this means that will result in insufficient force in fighting crime. It is precisely because of this that every country in the world places strict checking mechanisms on prosecutions' decisions to not prosecute, so as to prevent failures to prosecute. At the same time, many countries find that as the prosecuting body, the procuratorate should maintain an amount of flexibility and some even put the standard for indictment below that for judgments. So as to maintain this type of flexibility, some countries even go so far as to not keep records on the percentage of indicted cases resulting in conviction, so as to prevent prosecutors failing to prosecute in an effort to improve their rates. China's procuratorial organs should strictly follow the statutory requirements for indictment, "the facts of the crime are clear, the evidence is credible and sufficient", in deciding whether to prosecute. Because it is precisely where the facts of the crime are clear and the evidence credible and sufficient that reasonable doubt can be excluded, and therefore unjust, false and wrongly decided cases can be prevented. We will shall put a great deal of focus on prosecutions that later result in a non-guilty verdict, and carefully analyze them. If it is felt that the judgment is indeed in error, a prosecutorial counter-appeal should be raised in accordance with law; if it is felt that judgment is correct, the we should earnestly summarize the lessons learned, and hold the case-handling personnel responsible for any fault. If it is felt that the judgment is reasonable and that the indictment was also reasonable, then there should be increased research and communication with the court to facilitate a unification of enforcement measures and evidence standards.

As for approval of arrests, based on the same reasoning, we should strictly follow the statutorily determined for deciding whether or not to arrest on the basis of review of the facts and evidence of the case. Any case that meets the requirements for arrest that is approved, even if there is ultimately a not-guilty verdict or a penalty less than a jail term, cannot be called a wrongful arrest. An arrest where requirements for arrest were not met, or a failure to arrest where the requirements were met is a wrongful arrest or a wrongful non-arrest. There are several points on this that must be explained:

1. Here the fact and evidence are "the facts and evidence at the time of the review for arrest" and are not the facts and evidence ultimately clarified in litigation, and are also not the final facts used to determine the verdict. Because arrest is a compulsory procedure at the beginning of the investigation for the purpose of ensuring successful prosecution, with the deepening of the investigation and progress of the proceedings, the original facts and evidence and the social harm presented by the suspect might change. The requirements of facts and evidence for arrest are "there is evidence proving that there was a crime" and are not "the suspect's conduct constitutes a crime" , so we cannot ask that all cases with an arrest return guilty verdicts. We must attach equal importance and to, and earnestly research, cases where a verdict of not-guilty is given after an arrest to see whether the evidence and facts at the time met the requirements for arrest.

2 The facts and evidence here are "the facts and evidence of the case" and not just "the facts and evidence in the case file." If the recently disclosed major unjust, false and wrongly decided cases had been based on the facts and evidence in the file would probably have mostly met the requirements for arrest. But the case cases have a common characteristic, which is that the suspects were all coerced into making confessions, and the personnel approving arrest could not discover, or did not give sufficient attention to, the use of torture to coerce confessions. In addition to the facts and evidence in the case file, the "facts and evidence in the case", should also include all known facts and evidence known to the suspect and others. If when reviewing to approve arrest, in addition to reviewing the case file, issued that should have been focused on where focused on, issues that should have been discovered where discovered, and suspects and witnesses who should have been interviewed or interrogated where, but no facts or evidence contrary to what is in the case file were discovered, the that isn't a wrongful arrest. If issues that should have been focused on were not, issues that should have been discovered were not, and suspects or witnesses who should have been interviewed or interrogated were not, and the result is a not guilty verdict, that is wrongful arrest. Precisely because of this, Article 86 of the revised Criminal Procedure Law provides three scenarios in which suspects shall be interrogated during reviews to approve arrest, and then also provides that that one "may question witnesses and other participants in the proceedings and hear the views of defense counsel; and that where defense counsel so requests, their views shall be heard."

3. Wrongful arrest here is an assessment of the work quality of the personnel approving arrest rather than an assessment of whether or not to compensate the defendant. Assessment of whether or not the defendant should be compensated should use the final resolution of the trial as a standard. If a case is ultimately withdrawn, not-prosecuted or given an not-guilty verdict, it is a wrongful arrest that should receive criminal compensation unless there are circumstances calling for the avoidance of compensation. Author: Zhu Xiaoqing (Supreme People's Procuratorate Party Committee Member, Deputy Chief Procurator, Member of the Procurator's Committee, and Second-Level Grand Procurator-- Editor's note)

About China Law Translate 830 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Deputy Chief Prosecutor of SPP, Zhu Xiaoqing response on Wrongful Convictions

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.
朱孝清(最高人民检察院党组成员、副检察长、检察委员会委员,二级大检察官

朱孝清(最高人民检察院党组成员、副检察长、检察委员会委员,二级大检察官
朱孝清(最高人民检察院党组成员、副检察长、检察委员会委员,二级大检察官

2013年07月08日 13:17 来源:检察日报

http://www.chinanews.com/gn/2013/07-08/5014633.shtml

对“坚守防止冤假错案底线”的几点认识

党的十八大以来,习近平总书记对法治建设和政法工作作出一系列重要指示,突出强调“要努力让人民群众在每一个司法案件中都感受到公平正义。 ”坚守防止冤假错案底线,是保障社会公平正义的重要方面。 为此,要在思想上明确以下几点:

一、要明确确保办案质量、坚守防止冤假错案底线,是每一个执法办案人员的终生追求和重大责任。

冤假错案不仅对当事人是一场灾难,而且严重损害司法权威和司法公信力,影响人民群众对社会公平正义的信心,影响国家长治久安。 最近披露的几起冤假错案虽然都是若干年前办理的,发生冤假错案的也仅是极少数地方,但“前事不忘,后事之师”,目前没有发现不等于客观上肯定没有,现在没有发现不等于今后不会发生。 因此,确保办案质量,坚守防止冤假错案底线,是每一个执法办案人员终生的追求和重大的责任。 任何执法办案人员都没有丝毫理由对此自我感觉良好,而必须以高度负责的精神、临渊履薄的心境和一丝不苟的态度来对待,直至退出执法办案岗位。 同时还要明确,“坚守”就要坚决守住自己把守的关口,不能自己不守而寄希望于后面的环节去守;“坚守”就要着力发现并坚决排除非法证据,以防冤假错案被非法证据的表象所遮蔽;“坚守”就要严防死守,敢于依法发表并坚持正确意见,发现领导的决定可能产生冤假错案的,要向上级甚至越级报告,以防悲剧的酿成。 明知上级的决定会产生冤假错案仍予执行,也不向上级报告的,要依法追究责任;“坚守”就不能让办案人员长期超负荷办案,否则不仅案件质量难以保证,冤假错案难以避免,还会严重影响办案人员的身心健康和学习充电。 因此,在案多人少矛盾十分突出的地方,要争取党委、政府支持,招录一些检察辅助人员。 人案矛盾突出的地方大多经济较为发达,大学毕业生很愿意去但就业不足,只要党委、政府同意,就完全有条件招录到有较好素质、能够胜任检察辅助工作的人员。

二、要明确案件质量的内涵。

有的同志认为,坚守防止冤假错案底线,就要宁漏勿错。 我不同意这种认识。 所谓公正司法,就是受到侵害的权利一定会得到保护和救济,违法犯罪活动一定会受到制裁和惩罚。 也就是说,公正司法包括防漏。 案件质量的内涵是事实清楚、证据确实充分、定性准确、处理适当、程序合法,这就必须做到不错不漏。 因为如果错了,犯罪嫌疑人、被告人就感受不到公平正义;如果漏了,案件的被害人就感受不到公平正义。 当然,根据疑罪从无原则,对疑罪作无罪处理有可能造成“漏”,但这种依法不得已的“漏”,与指导思想上防止“漏”,二者并不矛盾。 因此,我们既要坚守防止冤假错案底线,又要坚持“两个基本”,防止纠缠细枝末节,宽纵犯罪。

三、要明确“冤假错案”的标准。

我理解,冤案是客观上存在刑事案件,但被追诉人不是犯罪人;假案是客观上不一定存在刑事案件,进入诉讼程序的案件或被追诉人是假的。 冤案和假案的共同点在于,都把没有犯罪事实的人当作犯罪嫌疑人或被告人来追究,通俗地说,就是“把人搞错了”。 错案可以有狭义和广义之分,狭义的错案与冤案假案相同,都是指“把人搞错了”。 广义的错案还包括将犯罪事实不清、证据不足的疑案作为犯罪来追究,因为这类案件不符合起诉、审判的法定条件,但当作符合条件的案件来起诉、审判,从法律规定来衡量也属于错案。 一般所说的冤假错案,首先是指“把人搞错了”,同时,也包括把疑案当作犯罪处理。 因为在疑案中,可能有真犯罪的,也可能有未犯罪的,如果把疑案作为犯罪处理,就会使部分犯罪嫌疑人、被告人蒙冤。 例如,100个疑案中,即使只有5%是冤的,如果都作为犯罪处理,就会使5个人蒙冤,这就没有守住防止冤案假案的底线。 因此,为了守住防止冤案假案(把人搞错了)这个底线,就必须坚持疑罪从无,守住不把疑案当作犯罪来处理这个底线。

“不把人搞错”,这在公众看来似乎很简单的事,为什么到了司法机关就这么难,需要我们去苦苦追求? 一是因为刑事诉讼的证明是回溯性的证明,它通过收集到的证据去“回复”和“再现”以往的犯罪事实,而这种“回复”、“再现”的过程非常复杂,受很多因素的制约,真相容易被掩盖和歪曲。 二是因为人有没有搞错,某犯罪嫌疑人、被告人是不是真犯罪,只有他自己知道(如果犯罪嫌疑人、被告人不是真正的犯罪人,那犯罪人也知道),而司法人员并不知道。 司法人员看到的只有在案的事实和证据。 由此在诉讼证明理论上,就有了客观真实与法律真实、客观事实与法律事实的区别。 客观事实司法人员没有看到过,司法人员只能凭在案证据所“再现”的法律事实来认定案件,而这种法律事实只有与犯罪人知道的客观事实相符,人才不会搞错;如果不相符,就会出现冤假错案。 因此,在司法证明上,要以客观真实为目标,以法律真实为标准。

四、要明确检察机关守住防止冤假错案底线的具体工作标准。

对检察机关的批捕、起诉工作应该提出什么标准,才能守住防止冤假错案的底线? 比如,能不能要求凡是批捕、起诉的案件都要做到100%判决有罪? 我认为有罪判决率低肯定不好,但也不能提100%判决有罪的要求。

先讲起诉。 虽然起诉和审判的标准都是“犯罪事实清楚,证据确实、充分”,但是,在事实清与不清、证据确实充分与不确实充分之间,并不存在一条一看就清楚、一摸就明白的界限,难免存在一定的“模糊地带”。 就多数案件而言,这条界限比较容易划清,但也有少数案件处在清与不清、确实充分与不确实充分的模糊地带上,加上不同的人有不同的认识,因而就会出现有的人认为事实清楚、证据确实充分,有的人却认为事实不清、证据不确实充分的情况。 如果提出诉后要100%判决有罪的目标,公诉人员就会把保险系数留得过大,只起诉那些事实证据不存在任何不同认识、明显构成犯罪的案件,而将处于模糊地带、存在不同认识的案件作不起诉处理,从而造成打击不力。 正因为如此,世界各国都对检察机关不起诉规定了严格的制约措施,以防止该诉不诉。 同时,许多国家还认为,检察机关作为控方,在追诉犯罪上应该保持一定的张力,有的还将起诉标准规定为低于审判标准。 为了保持这种张力,一些国家对诉后有罪判决率根本不作统计,以防止检察官为追求有罪判决率而该诉不诉。 我国检察机关应当严格按照法定起诉条件即“犯罪事实清楚,证据确实、充分”来决定起诉或不起诉。 因为犯罪事实清楚、证据确实充分的,就能排除合理怀疑,从而就能防止冤假错案。 对于诉后判无罪的案件,我们要高度重视,认真分析。 如果认为判决确有错误,应当依法提出抗诉;如果认为判决正确,就要认真总结教训,办案人员存在过错的,还应追究其责任;如果认为判决有道理,而检察院的起诉也有道理,则应加强研究,并与法院沟通,以便统一宽严尺度和证据标准。

对于批捕,基于以上相同的道理,应根据审查批捕当时在案的事实和证据,严格按照法律规定的条件来决定捕或不捕。 凡是符合逮捕条件而批捕的,即使后来被判无罪或者徒刑以下刑罚,也不属于错捕;对不符合逮捕条件的予以逮捕或对符合逮捕条件的不予逮捕,就是错捕或错不捕。 对此,需要说明以下几点:

1.这里的事实和证据是“审查逮捕当时的事实和证据”,而不是诉讼最终查明的事实和证据,也不是看案件最终是否作了有罪判决。 因为逮捕是在侦查初始阶段为了保证诉讼顺利进行而采取的强制措施,随着侦查的深入和诉讼程序的推进,原来的事实、证据以及犯罪嫌疑人的社会危险性可能发生变化;逮捕的事实、证据条件是“有证据证明有犯罪事实”,而不是“犯罪嫌疑人已构成犯罪”,故不能要求逮捕的案件都被判有罪。 对于捕后被判无罪的案件,我们同样要高度重视,认真分析,看当时在案的事实和证据是否符合逮捕条件。

2.这里的事实和证据是“在案的事实和证据”,而不仅仅是“在卷的事实和证据”。 当前披露的重大冤假错案,如凭当时在卷的事实和证据,估计多数都符合逮捕条件。 但这些案件有个共同的特点,就是犯罪嫌疑人都因遭到刑讯逼供而作了有罪供述,而批捕人员对刑讯逼供却没能发现,或者虽然发现了但没有引起足够重视。 “在案的事实和证据”,除了案卷里的事实、证据外,还应包括犯罪嫌疑人等所知道的事实和证据。 审查逮捕时除审阅案卷以外,如果该注意的问题注意到了,该发现的问题发现了,该讯(询)问的犯罪嫌疑人、证人作了讯(询)问,也没有发现与卷内相反的事实和证据,那就不属于错捕;如果该注意的问题没有注意,该发现的问题没有发现,该讯(询)问的犯罪嫌疑人、证人没有问,结果被判无罪,那就属于错捕。 也正因为如此,修改后刑诉法第86条规定了审查逮捕应当讯问犯罪嫌疑人的三种情形,还规定“可以询问证人等诉讼参与人,听取辩护律师的意见;辩护律师提出要求的,应当听取辩护律师的意见”。

3.这里的错捕是衡量批捕人员工作质量的错捕,而不是衡量应否对犯罪嫌疑人、被告人赔偿的错捕。 衡量应否对犯罪嫌疑人、被告人赔偿的错捕,应当以诉讼的最终结果为标准。 如果案件最终被撤销、不起诉或判无罪,只要不具有免赔的情形,就都属于错捕,应当予以刑事赔偿。 作者:朱孝清(最高人民检察院党组成员、副检察长、检察委员会委员,二级大检察官——编者注)

About China Law Translate 654 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*