Judicial Independence, transparency and Accountability

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

Judicial Independence, transparency and Accountability[1]

Jeremy Daum[2] February 3, 2014

Translated By: Yanfei Bai

Independence, transparency and accountability have become key phrases in China’s judicial reform efforts this last year as President Zhou Qiang took office as head of the Supreme People’s Court and began a campaign to increase public confidence and access to the courts. Striving to realize President Xi Jinping’s exhortation that citizens be able to “ feel fairness and justice from every case,” the Supreme People’s Court has released a series of opinions and interpretations to make court information more available to the public, to put large numbers of judicial opinions online, and to prevent wrongfully decided cases. The importance of judicial independence , transparency and accountability to the rendering of impartial and accurate judgments has also been emphasized by other quarters, most notably in the decision of the Third Plenum’s chapter on advancing rule of law, and in a remarkable opinion by the Central Political-legal committee on preventing miscarriages of justice.

There is an unavoidable tension inherent in simultaneously calling for increased judicial independence, heightened public scrutiny of the courts and further accountability for judicial actors. It may even seem that these principles are irreconcilably promoting conflicting values as will be explored below, but they actually function in pursuit of a common end: ensuring that judicial functions are performed in accordance with law and in the absence of undue influence or control. Correctly understanding the complex relationship between these concepts, and how they interact to promote judicial fairness and impartiality, is the first step to ensuring that the courts can fully carry out their stabilizing social and legal functions. Only then can appropriately-balanced procedures and institutional frameworks be implemented to realize this goal.

Properly functioning courts give voice to the letter and the spirit of the law by performing their basic functions of resolving disputes, articulating legal norms, protecting legal rights and constraining the unlawful actions of both citizens and the government. For individuals and organizations to conform their conduct to the law and to act in reliance on the law, they must understand both what the law requires of them and also the likely legal consequences of their actions. Where courts resolve disputes on the basis of subjective or unknowable factors, or inconsistently interpret and apply the law, it is not only arbitrary and unfair, but it also undermines the law’s normative value. Criminal laws which are capriciously enforced cannot be expected to deter crime, nor can rights and contracts be meaningfully relied upon without consistent enforcement mechanisms.

Judicial independence is necessary so that judges might perform these functions without fear or favor, and without being beholden to any individual, organization or government. Judges must be insulated from threats, enticements or other influences that would discourage them from faithfully applying the law and considering evidence. This is the core meaning of “rule of law”, that the law, as expressed through the courts, is a bottom line that will not bend to any interest, or, to use the Chinese phrasing, to ensure that “no organization or individual’s privilege can exceed the law.” To insulate judges from external pressures, many international standards and national laws and constitutions provide conditions for the appointment, salary, promotion, discipline and removal of judges, so as to prevent these issues from becoming a lever by which to coerce judicial action. The goal of these guarantees of judicial independence, however, is not to protect judges’ interests, but to benefit the judged, who are entitled to impartial trials and whose rights and interests are within the power of the court.

Independence is a prerequisite for impartiality, but cannot alone guarantee it. Like members of governments’ other branches, judges are capable of abusing their power out of the desire for personal gain, bias or malice. Just as independence is essential to ensuring that judgments are the product only of judges’ application of laws and not of external influences, there must also be accountability to ensure that judges themselves do not stray from the law and act improperly. Judicial accountability, however, must differ from the accountability of executive or legislative actors, because of the unique role of the judiciary in applying and expressing the law. As judicial independence is essential to this role and also exceptionally fragile, oversight must be accomplished in as minimally invasive a means as possible.

One critical method of preventing abuse internal to the judiciary is through intensifying judicial education and ethical standards. As the government organ that lays down rules of behavior for others, the judiciary must be seen to hold itself to a standard at least as high. Increased training for judges also fosters a sense of professionalism and cultivates in judges an understanding of the gravity of their work and an internalization of the importance of impartiality. This helps ensure that rules such as those for recusal of judges with an interest in a case are conscientiously followed. Further, the public is more likely to place credibility in a judiciary that has confidence in its own abilities, and judges must be seen as having the courage to uphold the law and abide by their ethics even when it is challenging to do so.

Court and trial procedures are also essential forms of accountability. The use of collegial panels, for example, provides some protection against arbitrary rulings from an individual judge by requiring a majority to agree on the verdict. Similarly, appellate procedures allow for a separate, independent tribunal to review case records, which reduces the likelihood of abuse below, confirms accuracy, and also helps to standardize rulings across a larger jurisdiction. These benefits are lost, however, if the members of a collegial panel, or courts at different levels, are not themselves acting independently, such as where members of the collegial panel cannot freely deliberate, or where a trial court consults with the court above on matters of either fact or law while hearing a case.

For these procedural review mechanisms to effectively ensure that cases are decided only in accordance with the facts and the law, it is also essential that the parties issuing the judgment be the ones who tried the case and that the courtroom proceedings are the basis of trial. Where the ultimate decision is rendered by a court president or adjudication committee that did not participate in the full court proceedings, there can be no guarantee that a decision truly reflects the trial, and it will be difficult for any form of review to locate and correct an error. Similarly, if not all relevant evidence is presented and debated in court, becoming part of the record, or the judicial opinion does not clearly articulate its findings as based on that evidence, meaningful review becomes impossible. Emphasizing in-court review of evidence not only leaves a clear record for effective review, but also protects independence by preventing out of court influence on judges. Where, for example, a signed explanation of circumstances [情况说明] from investigators asserting that no coercion occurred in a criminal interrogation is allowed to substitute for investigators appearing in court to testify and be questioned, judicial independence is undermined as surely as if the prosecution or public security organs instructed the court how to rule.

Ensuring that decisions are based only on open, in-court proceedings and fully reflected in court records and judgments also facilitates public oversight of the judiciary. Rather than a useful check on judicial power, public opinion is more frequently mentioned as a source of pressure on judges to rule in a certain direction. Increased transparency, however, can actually work to alleviate this kind of pressure as well as to increase oversight. A complete trial record and well-reasoned opinion is an opportunity for judges to explain to the public why the facts of a case and the relevant law dictated their findings. While it is impossible to satisfy all the people all the time, this practice provides judges a degree of protection from accusations that their decision was made arbitrarily or for improper reasons, especially when coupled with an appellate system that can be relied upon to hear legitimate complaints on issues regarding the application of law or verification of facts. While increased transparency cannot be expected to relieve all pressure resulting from public scrutiny, experience shows that in the absence of transparency, there will always be doubt cast on judges’ motives.

We must be at our most cautious when considering liability and punishment for judicial conduct, because even the threat of such consequences might improperly influence judicial behavior. In the U.S. , for example, judges enjoy near total immunity from civil liability for judicial actions, even when their conduct was shown to be maliciously intended to harm a party. The theory is that judges must be able to hear all cases in their jurisdiction, including those that arouse strong feelings in the litigants or public, but should not have to fear that unsatisfied parties will hound them with constant litigation. The appellate review system is relied on to rectify harm from a wrongful judgment.

This does not mean that judges can act with impunity. Judges may still face criminal liability if they break the law. So, one American state court judge recently found to have accepted bribes to sentence juveniles to a private detention center, which profited from the ‘business’, was sentenced to 28 years in prison, although he was largely protected from lawsuits by the juveniles involved.[3] Even where there is no crime, judges may be accountable to a judicial standards commission for misconduct ranging from inappropriately accepting lawyers’ gifts to failing to maintain a courteous manner in court. Such commissions exist in all US states, are usually composed of a combination of judges, lawyers and ordinary citizens and can issue punishments from private reprimands to removal. Judicial commissions however, will not investigate the appropriateness of any judgment or get involved in a pending matter- as this is a purely judicial question to be addressed in appeals.

These interactions between transparency, independence and accountability might best be shown in action by considering a recent American case from the state of Montana. The case was the criminal trial of a high-school teacher found guilty of raping an underage student who later committed suicide.[4] The public was outraged by the light sentence, which required the teacher to spend only 31 days of his 15 year sentence in prison, suspending the rest of the sentence. Even more inflammatory were comments made by the sole judge at trial, suggesting that the victim looked “older than her chronological age’ and was ‘as much in control of the situation as the defendant.’

As media coverage of the case intensified, advocacy groups for crime victims, women and children organized hundreds of people to protest outside the court house, waving signs calling for a review of the judge’s other cases, and circulating a petition for the judge’s dismissal online. These protests, although clearly intended to influence judicial conduct, are lawful, and it is expected that judges and courts are sufficiently professional and secure in their positions to resist such overt pressure and rule appropriately. One non-governmental organization filed a complaint against the judge with the state Judicial Standards Commission alleging violations of judicial ethics stemming from his comments about the victim and from the light sentence. This began an initial internal investigation by the commission, which requested a statement from the judge, and is currently ongoing.

During the protests, the judge felt the need to respond and made a televised apology for his trial comments, although he stood by his initial sentence. While local judicial ethics do put some limits on judges’ freedom to speak on pending cases to avoid the impression of bias, judges are permitted to respond to criticism and can more readily address closed cases. At around the same time, the judge issued a formal addendum to his decision going into much greater detail on the basis for the sentence. This further insight into the judicial reasoning did not satisfy the protesters, however, perhaps because the information was not provided earlier and now rang false coming in response to the protests. (That is to say that the public may have recognized that the judge was no longer acting independently and impartially by responding directly to their protests, causing a further loss of credibility!)

Amidst this public debate and ongoing ethics probe, it came to light that there may also have been an error of law, as the sentence was so light it may have violated the state’s minimum sentencing standards. The judge, perhaps eager to rectify the situation and escape the spotlight, scheduled a hearing to reconsider the sentence. Allowing judges to reopen unpopular decisions and change verdicts is precisely the sort of problem judicial independence and accountability aim to prevent, so it is no surprise that Montana law forbids it, and the judge was stopped from holding a new hearing. Although the prohibition against double jeopardy means that American prosecutors can never appeal a not guilty verdict, the need for review of as many cases as possible allows for prosecutors to sometimes appeal a mistake in sentencing. In Montana, the only permissible way to review such a problem is appeal is directly to the state’s Supreme Court. An appeal of this legal question is still pending, and the case’s seventy-two year old judge of 30 years has now resigned.

There is much to praise and much to criticize in this sample case, but overall it appears that institutionalized mechanisms for judicial independence and accountability worked together to ensure that concerns were heard while being kept from improperly influencing the resolution of the case’s legal issues. The public vented its dissatisfaction through peaceful protest and the filing of a complaint through designated procedures, confident that they would have an answer. Even though the judge seemed ultimately to succumb to external pressure, meaning perhaps that his professional training and job security were insufficient to prepare him for a modern media onslaught, other mechanisms were in place to rein him in. Fair consideration of his competence and ethics is made possible by the diverse membership of the judicial standards committee, ensuring that no single department controls the disciplinary process. The judge himself may be sanctioned for inappropriate conduct and comments, but not for a ‘wrong’ judgment, as his opinion and discretion are part of the judicial process. The remaining legal issues are to be resolved only through open appeal to the Supreme Court, where a panel of judges will hear the case, checking each other through deliberation.

There is no single path to a successful balance between independence and accountability, but it is clear that independence is necessary to realize judicial impartiality and fairness. The challenge is guaranteeing independence while also allowing for accountability.

 

[1] This brief essay draws heavily on a much longer work by Professor Paul Gewirtz, also of the Yale China Law Center, which explores many of these themes in greater detail. That work can be found online in both English and Chinese at the CLC website:

Gewirtz, Paul, “Independence and Accountability of Courts,” 3 Public Law Review 24 (2003) (Chinese)(English).

The author would additionally like to thank Prof. Jerome A. Cohen, Heather Yu, and Elizabeth Lynch for their invaluable comments and counsel.

[2] Jeremy L. Daum is a Sr. Research Fellow and Beijing office director of the Yale Law School China Law Center.

[3] See http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/11/us-crime-kidsforcash-idUSTRE77A6KG20110811 and http://blogs.findlaw.com/injured/2010/01/kids-for-cash-judges-get-judicial-immunity.html

[4] The sexual relations were ‘consensual’ but Montana law does not recognize consent of a child under 16 years old.

http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/28/justice/montana-teacher-rape-sentence/

About Jeremy Daum 93 Articles
Jeremy Daum is Alex Daum's dad, Elizabeth Jenkins' Partner, China Law Translate's contributing founder, and a Senior. Fellow at Yale Law School's Paul Tsai China Center. He translates, writes, edits, does web-design, graphic design, billing, tech support, and social media outreach for China Law Translate.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

司法独立、公开与责任

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

司法独立、公开与责任[1]

唐哲 (Jeremy Daum)[2] February 3, 2014

译者:白燕飞

2013年,周强出任最高人民法院院长,致力于增强公众对法院的信心和提高法院的信息公开程度。司法独立、司法公开和司法责任,已经成为当下中国司法改革的关键词。为了贯彻习近平主席“让人民群众在每一个司法案件中都感受到公平正义”的指示,最高法院颁布了一系列司法意见和解释,要求公开更多的法院信息,实现司法判决文书上网,以及预防冤假错案的发生。十八届三中全会关于推进法治的章节,以及中央政法委关于防止司法不公的重要意见,也都强调了司法独立、公开 与责任 对于确保法院判决中立性和准确性的重大意义。

在任何国家,同时推进上述三项原则的建设,即司法独立、公众对法院的监督和对司法人员的问责,会碰到不可避免的内在冲突。甚至可以说,这三项原则之间有着不可调和的矛盾,笔者将在下文进一步阐述。但事实上,三项原则追求的终极目标是一致的:司法活动依法开展,杜绝不当的影响或控制。为此,有必要理清三者之间复杂的关系,了解三者的互动如何促进司法公平公正,这是确保法院充分履行社会和法律职能的第一步。第二步才是设计和执行恰当平衡的程序和机制,为司法正义保驾护航。

有效运转的法院会通过发挥基本职能来彰显法律精神的,这些基本职能包括解决争端、阐述法律准则、保护合法权益以及遏止公民与政府的违法行为。个人和组织要成为守法良民,首先要理解法律的要求和自身行为可能带来的法律后果。如果法院裁定争端根据的是主观的或不为人知的因素,或者解释和适用法律时存在不一致的现象,那么法院的做法不仅有任意性、有失公正,还会损害法律作为社会准则的价值。如果刑法的实施反复无常,就不能遏制犯罪。同样的,缺乏法律执行的一贯性,权利就得不到保障,契约就得不到遵守。

司法必须是独立的,这样法官在工作中才会无所畏惧、不偏不倚,不受制于任何个人、组织或政府。法官不应该受到诸如威胁、诱惑之类的不当影响,否则他们就不能忠实的适用法律和审议证据。这正是“法治”的核心意义,也就是,由法院诠释的法律是社会的底线,法律不屈从于任何利益。用中国的表述方式来说,法治就是要确保“任何组织和个人不得有超越宪法法律的特权”。为了使法官免受外部压力,很多国际标准和国家的法律、宪法都规定了法官任命、薪酬、晋升、惩戒和革职的条件,从而防止上述事宜左右法官的工作。但必须明确,保障司法独立不是为了保护法官个人的利益,而是在法院的权限之内保护案件当事人的利益,是为了捍卫司法公正。

司法必须是独立的,这样法官在工作中才会无所畏惧、不偏不倚,不受制于任何个人、组织或政府。法官不应该受到诸如威胁、诱惑之类的不当影响,否则他们就不能忠实的适用法律和审议证据。这正是“法治”的核心意义,也就是,由法院诠释的法律是社会的底线,法律不屈从于任何利益。用中国的表述方式来说,法治就是要确保“任何组织和个人不得有超越宪法法律的特权”。为了使法官免受外部压力,很多国际标准和国家的法律、宪法都规定了法官任命、薪酬、晋升、惩戒和革职的条件,从而防止上述事宜左右法官的工作。但必须明确,保障司法独立不是为了保护法官个人的利益,而是在法院的权限之内保护案件当事人的利益,是为了捍卫司法公正。

预防司法内部滥用权力的一个关键措施,是加强司法教育和提高职业道德标准。作为社会行为准则的设立者,司法部门最起码不能违反这些准则。加强法官教育还能培养法官的专业自我概念,促使法官深刻理解自身工作的严肃性和司法公正的重要性。这样,法官就会自觉遵守各项规则,比如自行回避跟法官个人有利害关系的案件。此外,司法部门对自身能力有信心,公众才会对司法有信心。因此,即使在充满挑战的情况下,法官也要勇敢的捍卫法律的权威和信守职业道德。

法院和审判的程序也是非常重要的问责形式。比如说,合议庭的存在,能在一定程度上防范个别法官任意司法的问题,因为合议庭的规则是少数服从多数。同样的,上诉程序能够减少初审法官滥用权力的可能性,能够提高判案的准确性,还能统一判决标准,因为上诉法庭是不同于初审法庭的独立法庭。但这些程序的好处不是自动就能兑现的。比如说,如果合议庭的成员不能自由审议案件,或者听审法院在结案之前就向上级法院请示与案件事实和法律都无关的事情,那么,合议庭的成员和法院仍然无法独立审判。

复议和上诉的机制是为了确保法官判案时“以事实为依据,以法律为准绳”,但其有效运作需要一个重要前提,就是“审者判,判者审”,以及审判案件应当以庭审为中心。换言之,如果最终裁决是由未全程听审的法院院长或审判委员会做出的,就无法保证裁决是建立在庭审的基础上,任何形式的复核也无法发现和纠正错误。同样的,如果没有对所有相关证据进行“当庭”审理并记录在案,或者司法裁决文书没有清楚阐述法官对证据的推理过程,那么,复核机制就失去了意义。对证据进行“当庭”审理是非常重要的,这能为事后的复核或审查提供清楚的记录,还能防止不当的庭外影响,从而保护了法官的独立性。又比如,关于刑事案件侦讯期间警方是否对嫌疑人采用了非法取证手段手段,应该由警方调查人员亲自出庭作证并接受法官的质问,而不能允许警方仅仅出具一份附带签名的、声称没有非法取证的“情况说明书”。“情况说明书”式的做法伤害了司法独立,其后果跟检方或警方指示法院如何判案是一样的。

法院的裁决应该建立在公开的庭审的基础上,而且裁决过程要记录在案,裁决文书要说明理由,这些做法也有利于公众对司法进行监督。但也有的人认为,公众监督不能很好地起到制约司法权力的作用,相反,舆论经常给法官带来很大的压力,迫使法官作出某种判决。但笔者认为,提高透明度不仅有助于公众监督,还能减少舆论带来的这种压力。庭审过程要有书面记录,裁决文书要进行充分说理,这恰好让法官有机会向公众解释他是如何根据案件的事实和法律的适用得出最终结论的。当然,不可能在所有情况下公众都完全满意,但提高透明度还是能在某种程度上保护法官免受“任意司法”或“无理司法”的指责。何况当事人还有上诉这一道救济程序,可以就法律适用或事实确认等事宜向上级法院提起申诉。提高透明度不能消除公众监督带来的所有压力,但经验表明,如果司法不公开,公众更有可能质疑法官判案的动机。

如果因为司法行为不当而要追究法官的责任甚至惩罚法官的时候,我们必须非常谨慎,因为连这种后果的存在可能给法官的工作带来不良影响。比如在美国,法官几乎不用为自己的司法行为承担任何民事责任,哪怕法官的做法是要恶意的伤害其中一方当事人。美国的理论是,法官必须能够审理管辖范围内的所有案件,包括那些引起当事人或公众强烈反响的案件,但法官无需畏惧不服一方反复诉讼给自己带来的纠缠。上诉机制已经足以纠正错误裁判带来的伤害。

但这并不意味着法官在审判过程中可以为所欲为。如果违法了法律,法官仍然可能要承担刑事责任。不久前,美国一位州级法院的法官就被判入狱28年,因为他接受了某盈利性质的拘留中心的贿赂,从而判处一些未成年罪犯到该中心服刑。但该法官仍然无需面对受影响的未成年罪犯提起的诉讼⑶。[3] 即使没有触犯刑法,法官也可能因为行为不当而受到司法标准委员会的追究。所谓“行为不当”,有多种表现形式,包括不恰当的接受律师的礼物,以及未能在法庭上保持谦恭的态度,等等。美国几乎所有的州都有这种司法标准委员会,其成员通常包括法官、律师和普通公民,对法官的惩罚权限从私下谴责到革职,皆有可能。但司法标准委员会不会调查法官裁决本身的恰当性,也不会介入尚未审结的案件,因为这些纯属上诉要处理的司法问题。

为了形象的说明司法独立、公开与责任之间的关系,笔者联想到了最近发生在美国蒙大拿州的一个刑事案子。被告是一名高中教师,他因强奸一名未成年学生而获罪,且该学生后来自杀了。[4] 法官判处被告入狱15年,但他实际上只需服刑31天,其余刑期被当成缓刑对待。公众为此非常愤怒。更火上浇油的是该案的独审法官在听审时的一些言论,他表示受害人“看起来比户籍年龄要大”,而且受害人“跟被告一样具有掌控当时情形的能力”。

媒体对该案件的报道日趋热烈。一些致力于保护犯罪受害人、妇女和儿童的团体组织数百人在法院门外进行抗议。抗议人群喊口号、张打横幅,要求审查主审法官的其它案件裁决要求审查该案法官的其它案件裁决。还有人在网上组织请愿,要求开除这名法官。这些抗议活动,显然是想影响司法行为,但却是合法的。美国人的理念是,法官具有很高的职业素养和保障,能够排除公众压力带来的影响并作出恰当的裁决。某非政府组织也向州司法标准委员会投诉,认为主审法官关于受害人的言论和对被告的宽大量刑都违反了职业道德。委员会于是开展了初步的内部调查,并要求主审法官递交一份书面声明。该调查仍在进行当中。

在抗议活动期间,法官本人觉得有必要做出回应。他为此上电视就自己在听审期间的言论道歉,仍然坚持当初的量刑是恰当的。有关尚未审结的案子,蒙大拿州司法伦理对法官的言论自由有所限制,目的是避免法官给公众留下个人偏见的印象;但针对批评意见,法官还是有权做出回应的。而且对一经审结的案件,法官的言论尺度可以进一步放宽。与此同时,这名法官还出具了一份裁判文书的附件,详细解释了他量刑的依据。此举让公众得以更好了解法官的推理过程。但抗议者仍然不满意,也许是因为法官没有在判决书提供这些信息,而是在公众抗议后才出来解释,这让公众觉得他很虚伪。(也就是说,抗议者也意识到他们对法官的抗议直接导致了法官的解释和道歉,及破坏了司法独立,所以法官更不值得人们信任。)

在公众已经很关注这起案件和司法标准委员会还在进行道德调查的情况下,本案中的一个适用法律问题也被发现。量刑如此之轻,也许违反了蒙大拿州的最低量刑标准。法官本人或许也很想力挽狂澜、摆脱非议的漩涡,甚至公布要重新开庭以便修改量刑决定。但司法独立和责任的目的,正是要避免法官迫于公众压力而重新审理案子,更遑论修改量刑决定了。蒙大拿州的法律明文禁止法官重审此案。“一罪不二审”,是美国法律的普遍原则。也就是说,对于裁决已经宣告被告无罪的案子,检察官不能以“有罪与否”为名提起上诉。但是为了在更多的案子发挥上诉制的指导、纠正作用在,检察官还可以凭“量刑有误”为由,提出上诉。在蒙大拿州,检察官需要直接向州最高法院上诉。目前,该案已经进入上诉程序,结果尚需时日。但该案72岁的初审法官已经辞职了,结束了自己30年的法官生涯。

在蒙大拿州这个案列中,有许多可圈可点又可悲可叹的地方。但总的看来,该州有关司法独立与责任 的机制还是有效的,既给当事人和公众提供了表达关切的渠道,又保证了相关舆论的压力不会给案件法律问题的裁决带来不当影响。公众通过和平抗议和正规渠道投诉的方式表达了不满。这表明公众是有信心的,相信自己的意见能得到答复。该案法官似乎最终在外部压力前屈服了,这也许意味着他的职业素养和保障仍然有所欠缺,使得他在现代媒体狂轰乱炸般的攻势面前招架不住。但美国司法体系仍然存在其他机制,避免了法官不正确的“让步”举措。法官遇到公愤时写了一个针对量刑问题的判决书附件意味着他明知道公开案例信息会作为一张抵御舆论的盾牌, 可惜的是他没有把信心放在判决书的原文。 对此案法官职业能力与道德的评价是由司法标准委员会来完成的。委员会的成员来自不同背景,这样,对法官的惩戒和处分就不是掌握在某一个部门的手里。法官可能会因为行为与言论不当而受到惩罚,但不会因为他对案件的“错误”判决而受到惩罚,因为判决意见和自由裁量权属于司法工作的范畴,要通过司法措施解决。其余的法律问题都将通过上诉程序由州最高法院合议庭来裁定。合议庭的成员共同审理案件,这其中同样存在着相互制衡。

如何成功的平衡司法独立和问责之间的关系?标准答案是不存在的。但显然,没有司法独立就不会有司法的中立与公平。最大的挑战,就在于既要保证司法的独立,又要允许问责的存在。

 

[1] 本文参考了Paul Gewirtz教授关于此议题的一篇重要论文。Paul Gewirtz教授是耶鲁中国法律中心(CLC)主任。CLC网站提供他这篇论文的中英文版本:

Gewirtz, Paul, “Independence and Accountability of Courts,” 3 Public Law Review 24 (2003) (Chinese)(English).

笔者还要感谢Jerome A. Cohen教授、Heather Han,Elizabeth Lynch和陈玉洁提供的宝贵意见和指导。

[2] Jeremy L. Daum是耶鲁法学院中国法律中心的资深研究员和北京办公室主任。

[3] http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/11/us-crime-kidsforcash-idUSTRE77A6KG20110811 以及 http://blogs.findlaw.com/injured/2010/01/kids-for-cash-judges-get-judicial-immunity.html

[4] 两人的性行为是“得到双方同意的”。但蒙大拿州法律认为16岁以下未成年人的“同意”没有法律效力。

http://www.cnn.com/2013/08/28/justice/montana-teacher-rape-sentence/

About Jeremy Daum 90 Articles
Jeremy Daum is Alex Daum's dad, Elizabeth Jenkins' Partner, China Law Translate's contributing founder, and a Senior. Fellow at Yale Law School's Paul Tsai China Center. He translates, writes, edits, does web-design, graphic design, billing, tech support, and social media outreach for China Law Translate.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*