Considering the Foreign NGO Law from the Perspective of National Security

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

This is an unauthorized translation of an article that can be found at the link below.
Source:http://news.ifeng.com/a/20150511/43732232_0.shtml/

Jia Xijin: Considering the Foreign NGO Management Law From the Perspective of National Security

China has been actively advancing its legislation on managing foreign organizations, and NGOCN interviewed Jia Xiqin, deputy director of Tsinghua University's NGO Research Center.

NGOCN: Professor Jia, the NGO management legislation has gotten a lot of attention. Could you give us a bit of background of the Law on the Foreign NGO Management Law (second reading draft)?

Jia: The government has sought to include foreign organizations within the scope of government management for a long time. Other than 1989's Provisional Regulations on the Administration of Foreign Chambers of Commerce and 2004's Regulations on the Administration of Foundations which regulated the establishment of Chinese representative offices for oversea foundations, foreign NGOs have not been brought within the Chinese legal system. In 2009, Yunnan Province introduced the "Provisional Regulations on Regulating the Activities of Foreign NGOs" and this was a nationally authorized pilot legislation.

Attention is paid to foreign NGOs within the context of state security. The "Color Revolutions" at the start of this century caused foreign NGOs to come into the state's field of vision, and have colored this concept. In 2010, India revised its "Foreign Contribution Regulation Act" with more stringent regulations on foreign funding of non-profit organizations, and in 2012, Russia increased legal restrictions on entities that receive foreign funding and participate in domestic political activities as “foreign agents”; this all led the Chinese government to take this seriously. In 2009, the State Administration of Foreign Exchange published the "Notice on Issues Related to the Administration of Foreign Currency Contributions to Mainland Entities", which was a move to financially limit the activities of foreign non-profit organizations. Two days after the second draft of the Foreign NGO Management Law was made public, the second draft of the National Security Law was released for public comment; and the timing can't be called a coincidence. In fact, the legislative background of the “Foreign NGO Management Law” occurs within the background of national security, and is one more link in this government's' series of measures including the establishment of a National Security Committee’s and strengthening of national security legislation. The legislative intent and approach determine the basic conceptual understanding and rule-making on foreign NGOs.

However there is a problem here, which is that when the legislation used a broad scope in identifying organizations, it covers every aspect of social life and public affairs. Yet the regulatory principles have very narrow viewpoint that is extremely focused on national security principles. As a result, this national security perspective covers all foreign social organizations. In the UK, the US and other developed nations, public association is an essential component of a social life and public affairs. This is therefore tantamount to hoisting up state security to become a major dimension of international relations. The ubiquitous impact of global economic integration, social interaction, cultural exchanges, and expansion of the internet in this age cannot be denied. There are two reasons for establishing the legislation from the national security perspective: first, it is considered preferable to impose excessive restrictions on a large number of positive organizations rather than risk the possibility of missing a rare potential threat to national security, and thus the scope of coverage has to be expanded to give law enforcement power to address the possibility. Second, there’s insufficient awareness of NGOs in China, entry points for foreign NGOs are also points for national security concern, and although one can only think of a few organizations, there is an understanding of what is meant by "foreign NGOs" The majority of people have never encountered foreign NGOs, yet they already have formed an idea of what they are. It is their knee-jerk response to correlate foreign NGOs with "hostile forces abroad", "political change" and "state security". This is the background in which the current version of the draft has taken shape.

NGOCN: Now, the draft is more than 60 articles, which do you think have the most impact on foreign NGOs?

Jia: A fundamental problem in the legislation, is that is actually both a law on organizations with a law on conduct added in, and moreover that conduct is not limited to the conduct of a formal organization, but also includes temporary group activities. It can be seen as including any non-profit organization and any conduct in its coverage. The coverage of this legislation is extremely broad, and with this kind of definition and considering all the social organizations providing public services in areas such as education, medicine, sport, public services, environment, in England, the US and other countries where NGOs are more developed, it includes communities groups, the Red Cross, almost all the Ivy League schools, health and cultural institutions, business associations, and so on, and essentially covering all of a nation's social organizations. So the scope of covered organizations is extremely broad.

At the same time, the definition for "activities" is also very broad. As such, any kind of conduct in coming to China, and all contact involving China by these foreign NGOS, and actually majority of entities and all activities for contact between foreign society and China are all brought within its coverage. That is to say, that we are actually using a kind of national security perspective to view all of international relations. China has all types and kinds of connections internationally, and while national security is of course one dimension, it is a very limited dimension and is a bottom line safeguard. Social governance is needed in national security, and in economic development, including public affairs between governments and greater amounts of conduct, it should be a field of public governance, but this kind of broad delineation putting all international conduct under a controlled state, using a national security perspective to position the entire nation and public life involving foreign nations, this sort of coverage is all encompassing (of foreigners).

Of course it can be expected that actual enforcement of the law would not be widely implemented, it would not be possible to do so, even if the police had 10 times the man power it wouldn't be enough. But if the the definition was rigidly applied, it's scope is really this broad. Selective enforcement is the biggest problem.

Another related issue is the concept of "foreign NGO", which is also very controversial. Because there is no definition in the Chinese legal system for the concept of "NGO"; but only legal definitions for associations, private non-enterprise units, and foundations, the Foreign NGO Management Law doesn't link in well , so this will require an independent system of interpretations. So the power to interpret the law becomes a critical power, as currently the definitions of "non-governmnetal, non-profit social organizations" is extremely broad.

There are several conclusions to be made about this legislation overall: 1) the scope of the the law's coverage appears limitless, 2) Interpretive power is immense And these result in consequence 3) the discretion given to law enforcement agencies to selectively enforce the law. This kind of legislative intent is like that of the "dual management system" provided for domestic social organizations, it leaves a large number of organizations and behaviors in the open and at risk; there's no knowing when the law will be enforced, and when it is applied, it's broad definitions can be applied to any circumstances.

Of course, national security considerations might require this kind of independence and discretion, but this runs contrary to a rule of law mentality. I think these are the basic problems, the rest is in the details.

NGOCN: This will cause selective enforcement?

Jia: It has to. If it isn't selectively enforced, the entire justice system would be paralyzed from the first day of enforcement.

NGOCN: What effects would this draft have on domestic public interest organizations if implemented?

Jia: If this legislation's broad definitions were followed to impact all foreign social forces, it will not only affect Chinese NGOs, but also the entire Chinese society, and even impact the economy and ecology. Of course this assumes that the law would be strictly and widely enforced, but it won't really have this large an impact, because it can't really be widely enforced. If we consider a strict enforcement, with large numbers of foreign organizations and activities being obstructed or withdrawing from China, it would be a blow to China's social and public affairs, and even bring an economic impact. A society's openness, society and economy are extremely linked; for example, if scientific , educational, cultural and health exchanges stagnate, that is also the stagnation of a society's vitality, and is connected to economic benefit; social organizations are the locus of contributions to vitality and the economy. If social vitality severely recedes, it will definitely effect the economy in turn. For example, if the number of scientific, educational, cultural and health activities decreases dramatically; like international exchanges for Chinese universities, medicine, and public affairs; and each spontaneous activity requires permits, you can imagine the social and economic impact.

If this draft law is adopted and strictly and widely enforced, the impact will not only be felt by the public sector, but in the broader economy and society spheres as well. Of course it is almost certain that this law cannot be strictly and widely enforced, but the general direction of the law could very well harm and reduce openness.

NGOCN: According to your predictions, what effects will the draft have? Can it be adjusted?

Jia: Because it's not a few articles of the draft that have a problem, but that that the legislative intent that is a problem, the it isn't as simple as adjusting the law. The actual effects might be: 1) some organizations receiving extra scrutiny will have face a question of survival and 2) large numbers of international public interest exchange activities in areas such as science, education, culture and health, will face more complicated regulations and greater costs in time and money. and 3) is that there will be a stronger legal basis for future government law enforcement. Domestic organizations will have to consider the withdrawal of foreign resources.

As to amending the provisions of the draft, there's an issue worth pointing out: there needs to be an appeal process established for rejections and non-approvals. Also, foreign organizations are different from local grassroots organizations, and have stricter demands for the law, legal rights should be further improved at least in terms of procedure.

NGOCN: Won't this increase the threshold for foreign organizations to enter into China? For example, it will be very expensive for foreign social organizations coming into China for exchange purposes. .

Jia: I think INGOs will take the strategic steps to strategically re-position themselves, but because the legal definition is too broad, some organizations might not even realize that they are also being covered by the law. For example, when a Harvard professor comes to China for academic exchange purposes or recruitment activities, they need to find a Chinese partner, find a professional supervisory unit, obtaining approval of public security departments, and so on. All these activities will be affected. They may not currently be aware of these issues, but schools really are non-governmental, non-profit organizations, and are covered by the draft. What about doctors coming to China for volunteer purposes? Cultural and art exchanges? Many new procedures have been added for cultural activities. I think that currently only NGOs operating in China, such as foundations and social groups, are aware of their status, but as to whether other organizations such as hospitals, schools, culture and artistic groups, have acknowledged this problem, we will have to wait and see actual practice.

NGOCN: if the draft it to take effect, will there still be room for adjustments?

Jia: Actually, I think that if you want to consider regulation of foreign forces from a national security perspective, a conduct-based law is more appropriate. If it's a law on organizations, we can consider amending it to a narrower understanding of its definitions, but this kind of amendment is still difficult to operate because a large number of foreign NGOs are registered as local companies, or do not register at all, so how should the definitions be draw in this situation? Also, where should the line between activities of individuals and foreign organizations be drawn? A Harvard professor coming to China for exchange could be considered as personal action, but when 10 Harvard professors come over is it organizational or individual action? For countries like the United States with a tradition of autonomy, it's hard to find someone who isn't affiliated with an NGO.

So, right now the definitions are too vague, it's just not possible to use legal principles to consider this draft, there is only the though the thinking of enforcement, and there's no consensus on who these laws would be applied to.

One path would be to only look at branch NGOs established in mainland China, this would shrink the focus tremendously, and it will would give clear definitions and boundaries, only regulating foreign NGOs establishing a branch in the mainland.

NGOCNIt seems that the current problems can't be solved by amending the draft. .

Jia: No, it can't be solved with amendments, although there are some revisions that could be made to some articles. It is a problem of legislative intent, if our legislative intent did not emphasize national security so strongly, it would address foreign NGOs together with domestic and wouldn't need to emphasize whether they were a foreign organization or not; for activities in China the same conduct would receive the same regulation, for example, currently social organizations, private non-enterprises, and foundations all have corresponding law, and there is absolutely no reason to distinguish between foreign and mainland organizations, treating them the same without distinction works fine. This isn't a technical legal issue , but a question of intent. The legislative intent includes identifying, monitoring and limiting foreign funding; this is a question of perception and understanding.

 

Tip Us!

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for the translation. I am writing to point out a minor typo/mistake under article 7: the original text reads “国务院有关部门和县级以上地方人民政府有关部门在职责范围内负责境外非政府组织管理工作。” your translation reads “The relevant departments of the State Council and local people’s governments at the county level or above are responsible for management of foreign NGOs within the scope of their duties.” It should be “the relevant departments of the state council and local people’s governments higher than the county level” not “at the county level or above.”

    • Hi Chad,
      I think you may have meant to put this comment on the FNGO law translation?
      It is our understanding that the use of 以上 includes the level actually mentioned. In this case that would include the county level governments.
      Consider for example Article 155 of the 民法通则 :第一百五十五条 民法所称的“以上”、“以下”、“以内”、“届满”,包括本数;所称的“不满”、“以外”,不包括本数

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

用国家安全视角看境外NGO管理法

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

来源:http://news.ifeng.com/a/20150511/43732232_0.shtml/

贾西津:用国家安全视角看境外NGO管理法

中国积极推进对境外组织的管理立法,NGOCN专访清华大学NGO研究所副所长贾西津(以下简称“贾”)。

NGOCN:贾老师,最近境外组织的立法引起热议,可否介绍一下《境外非政府组织管理法(草案二次审议稿)》的背景?

贾:将境外非政府组织纳入政府管理范畴的意图其实有很长时间了。 目前中国除了1989年的《外国商会管理暂行规定》以及2004年《基金会管理条例》中对境外基金会在华设立代表机构的规定外,境外非政府组织是未被现行法律体系纳入的。 云南省2009年出台《规范境外非政府组织活动暂行规定》,就是受国家授权做立法试点。

对境外非政府组织的关注是在国家安全的背景中进行的,本世纪初的“颜色革命”,是“境外非政府组织”进入国家视野的来由,也给这个概念划上了基本调。 2010年印度修订《外国捐赠管理法》对非营利组织接受境外资金的更严格规制,2012年俄罗斯对接受国外资金参与境内政治活动的机构以“外国代理人”身份加以法律限制,都引起中国政府的重视。 国家外汇管理局2009年下发《关于境内机构捐赠外汇管理有关问题的通知》,是从资金角度限制境外非营利活动的举措。 最近《境外非政府组织管理法》二审稿公开,只两天间隔《国家安全法》草案二审稿公开征求意见,这不能说只是个时间上的巧合。 事实上,《境外非政府组织管理法》立法背景是在国家安全的大背景之下发生的,是本届政府专门设立国安委,加强国家安全立法的一系列举措中的一个环节。 这个立法意图和切入视角决定了本部法律对境外非政府组织的概念解读和法则设置。

但是这里面存在一个问题,就是立法在界定组织的时候是一个宽范畴,涵盖了社会生活和公共事业的方方面面,而规制原则却是一个窄视野,也就是非常聚焦的国家安全原则,其结果就会出现用国家安全的视角来涵盖所有的境外社会组织。 而对于英美等诸多发达国家,结社的生活就是社会生活和公共事业的主体部分,这无异于将国家安全的维度提升成了整个国际关系的主要维度。 在全球性经济交融、社会交往、文化交流、开放互联的时代,它的影响不能不说是全方位的。 这种基于国家安全的立法背景,其原因可以从两个方面理解:一是宁可对积极作用的大量组织造成过度限制,也不能漏掉哪怕有万分之一可能的危险因素,为给可能的执法赋予职权,因此需要扩大涵盖范围;二是NGO在中国本来认知不足,接触境外NGO的切入点又是一个国家安全的事件点,虽然脑中能想到的就是几家组织,但认知中这就是“境外NGO”的概念了。 万分之九千九百九十九可能没有看到过,但观念已经形成了,境外NGO和“境外敌对势力”“政治演变”“国家安全”等观念建立了条件反射关系,在这种背景之下,这个立法草案成了目前的版本。

NGOCN:那这个草案也有六十多条内容,有哪些你觉得对境外NGO影响比较大呢?

贾:这里面的一个基本问题是在立法定位上,实际上是组织法加行为法,而且行为还不仅仅是正式组织的行为,包括临时活动也涵盖在内,可以看作是任何非营利的组织和任何行为都涵盖在内。 这个涵盖面非常之宽泛,按照这种定义,像英美这种NGO比较发达的国家,基本可以涵盖教育、医疗、体育、公共服务、环境等等所有提供公共服务的社会组织,包括小至一个社区社团,大到红十字会、几乎所有“常青藤”学校、医疗、文化机构、商协会等等,基本把一个国家的社会主体都涵盖在内了,所以组织涵盖范围非常广。

同时活动界定也很宽泛。 在这种情况下,这些境外机构的任何来访行为,所有跟中国接触的行为,实际上把中国和境外社会接触里的一大部分主体和活动全都涵盖进去了。 也就是说,我们其实是用一种国家安全的视角来看待整个国际关系。 中国跟国际上是有各种各样的关联,国家安全当然是一个维度,但这是一个很局限的维度,它是一个底线保障,在国家安全之上,是需要社会治理的,经济发展的,包括政府之间的公共事务的,更大量的行为,它应该是一个公共治理性的领域,而这种宽泛界定把所有的国际接触纳入一种管制状态,用国家安全视野来定位整个中国以及与国外的公共生活,这个涵盖面基本是(对外)无所不包了。

当然,可以预期,实际执法的时候,是不可能真的普遍执法的,否则这个法就没法执了,公安部门再十倍的人力财力也不够。 但如果严格按照法案的界定,它的范畴就是这么宽泛。 立法又选择执法,这就是最大的问题。

另外一个相关的问题是,“境外非政府组织”的概念也很受争议。 因为中国现行法律定义里面没有“非政府组织”这个概念,只有社团、民办非企业单位、基金会这几个法律概念,所以“境外非政府组织”在法律上是没有对接的,只能是新设立一个独立的解释体系。 那么释法权就变成了一种重大权力,目前定义的“非政府、非营利性质的社会组织”,范围非常宽。

综其看,会出现以下几种结果:一是法律涵盖的范围无边无际。 二是解释有很大释法权。 导致第三个后果就是给执法者极大的自由裁量权和主观选择空间。 这种法律的立法意图类似当年对国内社会组织的“双重管理体制”,让大量的组织和行为都处于违法风险,执法者执法的时候,可以适用于任意主体。

虽然国家安全考量可能需要这种自主裁量空间,但这个与法治的思维和方向是背道而驰的。 我觉得上面是基本的问题,其他的问题是细节。

NGOCN:这样会出现选择性执法么?

贾:必然的,如果不选择性执法,第一天相关执法部门就瘫痪了。

NGOCN:如果按照这个草案来执行,对国内公益行业有什么影响呢?

贾:如果按照这么宽泛的界定境外的所有社会力量的话,不仅是对中国NGO有影响,是对整个中国的社会,甚至连带经济生态是有影响的。 当然前提是按照法案严格普遍执法,实际上不会发生这么大影响,因为不太可能普遍执法。 如果按照严格执行来考量,境外社会领域的大量组织和活动被阻障或退出中国,对中国的社会以及公共事业会构成冲击,连带会产生经济效应。 一个社会的开放性,社会与经济是非常关联的,比如说科教文卫,这种交流活动停滞的话,也就是是社会的活力停滞,连带的是经济效益,社会阻止同时是活力和经济贡献所在。 如果社会活力严重萎缩的话,一定会传导到经济上。 比如科教文卫活动就会大量减少,像中国大学、医疗、公共事业等国际交流,每一个临时起意的事要获得许可,那么可以想象社会和经济领域是一种怎样的状况。

如果这个草案被严格普遍地执行,这个效应会大到不只公益,而且社会和经济生活的各领域,当然事实上几乎可以肯定它是不可能严格普遍执法的,但总体方向仍然很可能对开放性造成损减。

NGOCN:按照你的预计,它实际上会产生什么影响,可以调整么?

贾:因为这个草案不是某些条文有问题,而是立法意图上的问题,所以不是简单的法条调整的事。 实际可能产生的效应:一是对部分被特别关注的组织,会构成生存上的冲击;二是对大量社会科教文卫等领域的国际公益交往活动,会构成更复杂的规制和时间与资金成本。 三是政府未来执法的时候,有比较强的法律依据。 对于中国本土的组织而言,要考量境外相关资源的撤出。

条文修订的话,有一个问题值得提出,就是对拒绝、不予许可的情况,要设置申诉程序。 涉外与草根组织还不同,对法治的要求更严格,法律权利至少在程序上应规定更完善。

NGOCN:这样会不会提高了境外组织进入中国的门槛呢?比如科教文卫类的境外组织进来来中国交流,可能将会产生不少成本

贾:我觉得INGO会对自己做出一种重新的战略定位,但由于这个定义太宽泛,可能连一些组织本身都没有预期自己会被涵盖在内。 比如哈佛教授来中国做一个学术交流活动、招生活动,他们要经过一个什么程序,要找中国合作方,找到业务主管单位、获得公安部门许可等等。 这些对于它的活动都会受到影响。 目前他们未必意识到这个问题,但学校确实是一个非政府非营利组织,是被涵盖在内的。 还有医生来做志愿者呢?艺术交流呢,大量的文化活动,也增添了很多程序。 我觉得现在可能只有在中国工作的INGO,比如基金会、社团等才意识到自己身份,但如医院、学校、文化艺术团体以及各类服务机构,是不是认知到这个问题,还要慢慢实践中看。

NGOCN:如果真要出台,还有调整空间么?

贾:其实我觉得对境外力量基于国家安全角度考量的规制,更合适做一种行为法。 如果作为组织法,可以考虑修正为狭义的边界规定,但这种修订也比较难操作,因为大量境外非政府组织在当地是注册为公司的,或者不登记的,这个边界怎么界定?另外,境外组织的行为如何界定是个人还是组织的呢?一个哈佛教授来中国交流如果是个人行为,如果十个哈佛教授来中国算组织还是个人呢?如果像美国这种有自治传统的国家,不属于NGO的人员太难找了。

所以目前这种界定是非常模糊的,如果用法律的原则来看,根本就没有办法成立,因为没办法用法的原则看到这个对象,只能是存在执法者心里,想看到谁就是谁,其实是没有共识的。

一种途径应该是只看在中国境内设立分支的INGO,这个相对就会缩小很多,是一个可界定和边界的形式,只规制境外NGO在华设立分支机构的组织。

NGOCN现在看起来不是修订条文能解决的问题

贾:对,这不是修订条文能解决的,虽然条文可以加以修改。 它是一个立法意图上面的问题,如果我们立法意图不是那么强调国家安全单一视角的话,是应该把境外非政府组织一视同仁本土化的,就是不需要强调这是不是一个境外的组织,只要在中国活动,相应的行为就应受到相应行为法规制,比如目前社团、民非、基金会,都有相应的法律,其实完全没有必要区分境内境外,一视同仁就好了。 但这个不是法律技术问题,而是立法意图的问题,立法意图含有识别、监控和限制境外的资金、力量和行为,这是个认知问题、观念问题。

 

About China Law Translate 851 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for the translation. I am writing to point out a minor typo/mistake under article 7: the original text reads “国务院有关部门和县级以上地方人民政府有关部门在职责范围内负责境外非政府组织管理工作。” your translation reads “The relevant departments of the State Council and local people’s governments at the county level or above are responsible for management of foreign NGOs within the scope of their duties.” It should be “the relevant departments of the state council and local people’s governments higher than the county level” not “at the county level or above.”

    • Hi Chad,
      I think you may have meant to put this comment on the FNGO law translation?
      It is our understanding that the use of 以上 includes the level actually mentioned. In this case that would include the county level governments.
      Consider for example Article 155 of the 民法通则 :第一百五十五条 民法所称的“以上”、“以下”、“以内”、“届满”,包括本数;所称的“不满”、“以外”,不包括本数

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*