Notice on Preventing Minor's Addiction to Online Games

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

To the relevant provincial, autonomous region, or directly governed municipality's bureaus for press and publications, all online gaming companies, and relevant industry organizations:

In recent years, while online video games have satisfied the public's demand for leisure and entertainment and enriched the people's spiritual and cultural lives, a number of of issues worthy of the utmost attention have also emerged, especially phenomenon such as minors addiction to online games, excessive spending, and so forth; causing a negative impact to minors' physical and psychological health and normal study and lifestyles; and there has been a strong societal response. Regulating online gaming services, guiding online gaming companies to truly make social benefits the top priority, effectively curbing minor's addiction to online games and excessive spending, and protecting minors' physical and mental health, is an effective measure for implementing the spirit of General Secretary Xi Jinping's important instructions on work for youths and for promoting the prosperous, healthy, and orderly development of online gaming. Notice on the relevant work items is hereby given as follows:

I. Implement a real-name registration system for online gaming user accounts. All online gaming users must use valid identification information before they can register gaming accounts. From the date on which this notice takes effect, online gaming companies should establish and implement real-name user registration systems, and must not provide gaming services in any form to new users that have not completed real-name registration. Within 2 months of this notice taking effect, online gaming companies must require that users who already have accounts complete real-name registration, and stop providing gaming services to users that do not complete real-name registration. Real-name registration information that users provide must be appropriately stored and protected by online gaming companies in strict accordance with laws and regulations, and must not be used for other purposes.

Online gaming companies may set up visitor trial modes for their games that at not to exceed 1 hour. In visitor trial modes, users do not need to register their real-names, but cannot add funds or make purchases. Online gaming companies must not provide visitor trial mode more than once within 15 days to users using the same hardware equipment.

II. Strictly control the time and duration of minors' use of online games. Online gaming companies must not provide gaming service to minors in any form between 10:00 P.M. and 8:00 A.M. The amount of time that online gaming companies provide minors with gaming services must not exceed a total of 3 hours per day on legal holidays and 1.5 hours per day on other days.

III. Regulate the provision of payment services to minors. Online gaming companies must employ effective measures to limit minors use of payment services not suited to their capacity for civil acts [legal competence]. Online gaming companies must not provide game payment services to minors who are not yet 8 years old. For all gaming payment services provided by a single online gaming company, the amount added at one time by users between 8 and 16 years old must not exceed 50 RMB [~$7.00 U.S.] and the cumulative amount added each month must not exceed 200 RMB [~$28.50], for users between 16 and 18 years old, the amount added at one time must not exceed 100 RMB [~$14.25] and the cumulative amount added each month must not exceed 400 RMB [~$57.00].

IV. Strengthen industry regulation. All requirements provided for in this Notice above, are mandatory conditions for online game publishing businesses going online. Each region's departments for the administration of publications should truly implement regulatory duties in their region, strictly following the requirements of this Notice to complete efforts on the oversight and management of online gaming companies and their online gaming services in that region. Each region's departments for the administration of publications shall order online gaming companies that fail to carry out the requirements of this Notice to make corrections within a set period of time; and where the circumstances are serious, give punishments in accordance with laws and regulations, up to revocation of relevant permits. Each region's departments for the administration of publications is to coordinate relevant law enforcement bodies to complete regulatory law enforcement efforts.

V. Explore implementing a system of prompts for age-appropriateness. Online gaming companies should make a comprehensive measurement of multiple factors such as the psychological tolerance for game content and functions, the intensity of confrontation, the extent to which confusion might be induced, the extent to which it might lead to dangerous imitation, and the extent of payments and purchases; and explore making notices regarding online games suitability for users of different age ranges, and indicating these in conspicuous positions such as user download, registration, and sign-in pages. Relevant industry organizations should explore implementing specific standards and norms for age-appropriateness prompts, urging online gaming companies to truly implement systems for age-appropriateness prompts. Online gaming companies should pay attention to analyzing the reasons minors become addicted, and promptly make changes to game content, function, or rules that cause addiction.

VI. Actively guide parents, schools, and social forces from all quarters to forcefully perform responsibilities for guardianship and care of minors, strengthening guidance on minors' healthy and reasonable use of online games, helping minors establish correct understandings of online game purchasing and behavioral habits.

VII. 'Minors' as used in this Notice refers to citizens not yet 18 years of age, and 'online gaming companies' includes platforms providing online gaming services.

 

About China Law Translate 855 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

关于防止未成年人沉迷网络游戏的通知

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 1,043 total views,  8 views today

各省、自治区、直辖市新闻出版局,各网络游戏企业,有关行业组织:

近年来,网络游戏行业在满足群众休闲娱乐需要、丰富人民精神文化生活的同时,也出现一些值得高度关注的问题,特别是未成年人沉迷网络游戏、过度消费等现象,对未成年人身心健康和正常学习生活造成不良影响,社会反映强烈。 规范网络游戏服务,引导网络游戏企业切实把社会效益放在首位,有效遏制未成年人沉迷网络游戏、过度消费等行为,保护未成年人身心健康成长,是贯彻落实习近平总书记关于青少年工作重要指示精神、促进网络游戏繁荣健康有序发展的有效举措。 现就有关工作事项通知如下。

一、实行网络游戏用户账号实名注册制度。 所有网络游戏用户均须使用有效身份信息方可进行游戏账号注册。 自本通知施行之日起,网络游戏企业应建立并实施用户实名注册系统,不得以任何形式为未实名注册的新增用户提供游戏服务。 自本通知施行之日起2个月内,网络游戏企业须要求已有用户全部完成实名注册,对未完成实名注册的用户停止提供游戏服务。 对用户提供的实名注册信息,网络游戏企业必须严格按照有关法律法规妥善保存、保护,不得用作其他用途。

网络游戏企业可以对其游戏服务设置不超过1小时的游客体验模式。 在游客体验模式下,用户无须实名注册,不能充值和付费消费。 对使用同一硬件设备的用户,网络游戏企业在15天内不得重复提供游客体验模式。

二、严格控制未成年人使用网络游戏时段、时长。 每日22时至次日8时,网络游戏企业不得以任何形式为未成年人提供游戏服务。 网络游戏企业向未成年人提供游戏服务的时长,法定节假日每日累计不得超过3小时,其他时间每日累计不得超过1.5小时。

三、规范向未成年人提供付费服务。 网络游戏企业须采取有效措施,限制未成年人使用与其民事行为能力不符的付费服务。 网络游戏企业不得为未满8周岁的用户提供游戏付费服务。 同一网络游戏企业所提供的游戏付费服务,8周岁以上未满16周岁的用户,单次充值金额不得超过50元人民币,每月充值金额累计不得超过200元人民币;16周岁以上未满18周岁的用户,单次充值金额不得超过100元人民币,每月充值金额累计不得超过400元人民币。

四、切实加强行业监管。 本通知前述各项要求,均为网络游戏上网出版运营的必要条件。 各地出版管理部门要切实履行属地监管职责,严格按照本通知要求做好属地网络游戏企业及其网络游戏服务的监督管理工作。 对未落实本通知要求的网络游戏企业,各地出版管理部门应责令限期改正;情节严重的,依法依规予以处理,直至吊销相关许可。 各地出版管理部门协调有关执法机构做好监管执法工作。

五、探索实施适龄提示制度。 网络游戏企业应从游戏内容和功能的心理接受程度、对抗激烈程度、可能引起认知混淆程度、可能导致危险模仿程度、付费消费程度等多维度综合衡量,探索对上网出版运营的网络游戏作出适合不同年龄段用户的提示,并在用户下载、注册、登录页面等位置显著标明。 有关行业组织要探索实施适龄提示具体标准规范,督促网络游戏企业落实适龄提示制度。 网络游戏企业应注意分析未成年人沉迷的成因,并及时对造成沉迷的游戏内容、功能或者规则进行修改。

六、积极引导家长、学校等社会各界力量履行未成年人监护守护责任,加强对未成年人健康合理使用网络游戏的教导,帮助未成年人树立正确的网络游戏消费观念和行为习惯。

七、本通知所称未成年人是指未满18周岁的公民,所称网络游戏企业含提供网络游戏服务的平台。

 

About China Law Translate 995 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*