SPC Notice on Strengthening Online Litigation Work During the Period of Novel Coronavirus Pneumonia Epidemic Prevention and Control

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

Promulgation Date: 2020-2-14
Title: SPC Notice on Strengthening Online Litigation Work During the Period of Novel Coronavirus Pneumonia Epidemic Prevention and Control
Document Number:法〔2020〕49号
Expiration date: 
Promulgating Entities:Supreme People's Court
Source of text: https://www.chinacourt.org/law/detail/2020/02/id/150105.shtml

High people's courts of all provinces, autonomous regions and directly governed municipalities, the PLA military courts, High People's Court of Xinjiang Uyghur autonomous region branch of the production and construction Corps:

In order to implement the spirit of General Secretary Xi Jinping's important directives on efforts to prevent and control the novel coronavirus pneumonia epidemic, to resolutely implement the Party Central Commission's major decisions and deployments, to effectively prevent and control the epidemic, to truly safeguard the people's security in their lives and their physical health, to protect the lawful rights and interests, to provide forceful judicial safeguards for epidemic prevention and control by promoting online litigation, and to ensure that online litigation activities are regular and orderly, notice is given as follows on completing efforts related to online litigation in the people's courts during the period for epidemic prevention and control.

I. All levels of peoples' court should elevate political positions, fully recognize the importance and seriousness of epidemic prevention and control, truly increase the sense of responsibility and urgency, and, based on trial functions, strive to serve and ensure the big picture of epidemic prevention and control work. 要将深入推进在线诉讼作为坚决打赢防控疫情的人民战争、总体战、阻击战的重要举措,积极依托中国移动微法院、诉讼服务网、12368诉讼服务热线等在线诉讼平台,全面开展网上立案、调解、证据交换、庭审、宣判、送达等在线诉讼活动,有效满足疫情防控期间人民群众司法需求,确保人民法院审判工作平稳有序运行。

II. In promoting online litigation, all levels of people's court should both fully consider factors such as the case type, difficulty, and priority, and also truly protect parties' lawful procedural rights and interests, respecting the parties' right to select the model for case handling, and comprehensively informing them of their rights, obligations, and legal consequences in online litigation. Where parties consent to online handling of a case, they shall confirm and mark this on the information system, to ensure the legal validity of related procedural activities. Where parties do not consent to online handling of the case and lawfully apply for an extension of trial, the people's courts shall approve it, and must not compel the use of online litigation. Where cases meet the procedural law requirements for suspending trial, the people's courts may suspend proceedings.

III. All levels of people's court should actively guide all litigating entities to lawfully and orderly carry out online litigation activities, forcefully improving online case-handling process and litigation procedures, drafting and publishing operational guides for online litigation that have complete contents, clear directions, and are simple to use, but the content must not go beyond the provisions of existing laws and judicial interpretations. Courts implementing work on the pilot civil procedure reform of separating complicated and simple cases shall stricly follow the "Supreme People's Court Implement Measures for the Pilot Civil Procedure Reform of Separating Simple and Complicated Cases) (Fa (2020) No. 11, hereinafter (Pilot Implementation Measures) ) within the scope of their authorization from the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress,in promoting online litigation work. Each high people's court should draft written notices on rights and obligations in online litigation, online litigation procedures, operation guidelines for online litigation, and so forth for courts within their jurisdiction, and conduct comprehensive reviews to ensure that their contents comply with law, are accurate, and feasible.

IV. All levels of people's courts handling cases online should ensure the true identities of all litigation participants, completing online identification verification by using comparison with identification document photos, biometric recognition, linkage with real name verified cell phones, and other such methods; and provide each participant party with a litigation platform account so that "personal, case, and account numbers' are consistent.

V. Where parties and their agents ad litem submit applications to file a case through online methods, the people's courts shall conduct a review within 7 days of receiving the materials for initiating the litigation, and where the legally-prescribed requirements for initiating litigation are met, they shall register and file the case; where the submitted materials do not meet the requirements, the people's courts shall request they be supplemented through the online litigation platform, and give a one-time notification of the content to supplemented and the time limits, and where the period is exceeded, the materials are to be rejected; and where the materials do not meet requirements, but the plaintiffs resolutely continue to sue after an explanation from the people's courts, a ruling or decision to not accept or not file the case is to be made.

Where parties and their agents ad litem truly have difficulties submitting case filing materials online, they may select to submit materials at a nearby court. The relevant people's courts shall follow the work mechanisms and procedures for filing cross-region cases to promptly handle case filing formalities.

VI. All levels of people's court should increase the degree of conflict and dispute resolution during the period of epidemic prevention and control, relying on the online diversified conflict resolution platform to strengthen coordination and cooperation with relevant units such as the judicial administrative departments and lawyers associations, and further integrating all dispute resolution forces such as for people's mediation, administrative mediation, industry mediation, and lawyer mediation, to effectively promote online resolution of conflicts and disputes. Mechanisms connecting litigation and mediation should be actively improved, expanding the degree of judicial safeguards for diverse dispute resolution mechanisms online. Where parties submit applications for judicial confirmation of mediation agreements reached online, and the legal requirements are met, the people's courts shall promptly confirm it in accordance with law.

VII. Where parties and their agents ad litem use digitized methods to submit litigation materials and evidence, after they are approved by the people's court, hard copy originals need not be submitted. Where parties and their agents ad litem use methods such as mail to submit hard copy materials, the people's courts shall promptly scan them and record them in the case-handling system. Hard-copy original materials that are provided should be promptly filed. The people's courts shall actively guide parties and their agents ad litem to submit digitalized materials, and provide them with platform support and technical facilitation.

VIII. All levels of people's court should actively expand and orderly regulate online trials, comprehensively considering factors such as the technical capacity, case circumstances, and the parties' wishes, to determine whether to use online trial methods. Commercial civil matters and administrative cases may generally all use online methods to hold court proceedings, but where cases should not apply online hearings where there are circumstance such as the parties on both sides not consenting to online trial, not having the technical capacity for online trials, or where it is necessary to clarify indentities, compare original documents, or inspect phsyical items, Criminal cases may employ remote video methods to interrogate the defendants, announce verdicts, hear cases on commutation and parole, and so forth. In simple criminal cases applying the simplified procedures, expedited procedures, plea leniency cases, and criminal cases of obstructing epidemic prevention and control, remote video methods may be explored for holding court proceedings.

Online trial activities shall comply with laws and judicial interpretations on litigation, and fully ensure parties' procedural rights such as to apply for recusals, present evidence, debate evidence, make statements, and debate. Online trials shall be conducted through online video and must not employ written or voice methods.

People's courts carrying out online trials shall generally conduct them in the courtroom. Where due to the needs of epidemic prevention and control judges truly need to conduct online court proceedings from other locations, they shall report the court president for their approval and ensure the solemnity of the venue and normal trial etiquette. People's courts shall refer to the relevant provisions of the "P.R.C. People's Court Courtroom Rules" and strengthen procedural guidance for participants in online trials, clarify discipline for online trials, and ensure that the trial process is safe and civil, regular and orderly.

Where parties clearly consent to online trial but do not timely participate or leave in the middle of the trial of their own violation, they may be found to have 'refused to appear at court' or 'leaving court midway" except where it is a clear network error, equipment failure, electricity interruption, or force majeure, and adressed as provided for in procedural laws and judical interpretations.

People's courts shall actively us voice recognition technology to create a simultaneous digital court record, and to be verified online by adjudicators, judges' assistants, clerks, parties, and their agents ad litem, to ensure the validity of online trial activities. During the course of online trials, the "SPC's Several Provisions on A/V Recording of Trials" should be followed to make and store an A/V recording of the entire process.

IX. During the period of epidemic prevention and control, as needed for work and based on their technical capacity, each level of people's court may permit judges to remotely access digital case files, deliberate cases, write and submit judgement documents, and so forth, but shall strictly comply with provisions on the management of digital case files and confidentiality work.

X. Each local people's court should increase the extent of electronic service to increase the quality and efficiency of service. With the consent of the party being served, electronic means such as the China mobile micro courts, the China trial process information disclosure network, the national uniform service platform, fax, e-mail, and instant messenger accounts may be used to serve litigation documents and for parties to submit evidence.

Courts in the pilot on the civil procedure reform of separating simple from complicated cases shall follow articles 24-26 of the "Pilot Implementation Measures" to lawfully and orderly carry out efforts on electronic service. Courts that are not in the pilot may reference articles 24-26 of the "Pilot Implementation Measures" for the requirements for using electronic service and its validity standards, but must not employ electronic service for judgment documents, rulings, or mediation documents, to ensure that the people's courts' electronic service conforms to provisions of procedural laws and judicial interpretations.

XI. All levels of people court should vigorously advance the establishment of one-stop diversified dispute resolution mechanisms and one-stop litigation services centers, upgrade online litigation services platforms, and expand the functionality of online litigation services to provide full litigation services to the public online, such as for litigation inquiries, payment and return of fees, information inquiries, contacting judges, appeals petitions, reports, and complaints; to ensure that parties can obtain judicial information and handle litigation matters without leaving their homes, truly reducing the number of people going out and congregating, so as to serve the epidemic prevention and control efforts.

12. The Internet courts in Hangzhou, Beijing and Guangzhou should make full use of the advantages of first-mover advantage and intensify their exploration of the construction of case-handling platforms, online litigation processes, the application of emerging technologies, and online litigation rules, and so forth. From a foundation of ensuring that the full process of internet cases are tried online, accelerate increases to the level of smart features in trial enforcement work, strengthen the research and application in areas such as big data, cloud computing, artificial intelligence, and 5G technology, and explore samples of practice in forming smart courts, and summarize and put together advanced experiences that can be reproduced and spread. Based on their own functional position, actively explore the electronic litigation rules for the Internet era, promote and improve substantive rules for Internet judicial governance, give full play to the leading and exemplary role of Internet courts in conceptual, technological, and institutional innovation, and effectively promote legalizing governance of cyberspace.

XIII. All levels of people's courts should greatly emphasize efforts to advance online litigation during the period of epidemic prevention and control, truly optimizing the concept, deepening understanding, transforming thinking, and making online litigation the basic model for courts carrying out trial work in the special period, and ensuring that teams do not drift, that work is not interrupted, and that quality and efficiency do not drop; and to build a good foundation in practice for productive exploration into models of internet justice and to The presidents of all levels of people's court should be the primary responsible person for promoting online litigation and should clarify the thinking for the effort, clear up work mechanisms, increase the strength of organizational implementation, actively lead the way in methods for handling cases online, give play to leadership and regulatory roles, and promote online case handling becoming a normalized mechanism in the period of for prevention and control of the epidemic.

XIV. All levels of people's court should forcefully strengthen the construction of digitalization infrastructure, actively expanding the use of China Mobile Micro Court, accelerating the building of an online litigation platform using the China Mobile Micro Court as the main portal, promote connections between existing online litigation service platforms and the China Mobile Micro Court, and integrate and improve all types of information system to prevent duplicative construction and development in different areas. Efforts should be made to open up internal and external networks bringing about safe and effective exchange of judicial data. Based on the existing platform system, strengthen related work modules, expand and optimize all functions for online litigation, connect with the demands of practice, and optimize usage interfaces improve user experience and ensure that the online litigation services system is complete, effective, and convenient.

XV. High people's courts should actively complete overall guidance work such as promoting online litigation in the courts in the jurisdiction, drafting and issuing related procedural rules and document templates, increasing the extent of guidance for lower levels, and ensuring that online litigation activities are regular and uniform, lawful and orderly. Persist in promoting, summarizing and researching while constantly summarizing and refining measures and experiences of the courts in the jurisdiction that are conducive to promoting online litigation, earnestly collect the existing problems and difficulties, put forward specific solutions or suggestions, promptly form a work report and submit it to the office of the Supreme People's Court's Leading Group for Judicial Reform.

Supreme People's Court

February 14, 2020

 

About China Law Translate 1032 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

最高人民法院关于新冠肺炎疫情防控期间加强和规范在线诉讼工作的通知

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 899 total views,  2 views today

【颁布时间】2020-2-14
【标题】最高人民法院关于新冠肺炎疫情防控期间加强和规范在线诉讼工作的通知
【发文号】法〔2020〕49号
【失效时间】
【颁布单位】最高人民法院
【法规来源】https://www.chinacourt.org/law/detail/2020/02/id/150105.shtml

各省、自治区、直辖市高级人民法院,解放军军事法院,新疆维吾尔自治区高级人民法院生产建设兵团分院:

为深入贯彻习近平总书记关于新冠肺炎疫情防控工作的系列重要指示精神,坚决贯彻落实党中央决策部署,有效防控新冠肺炎疫情,切实保障人民群众生命安全和身体健康,维护当事人合法权益,通过推行在线诉讼为疫情防控提供有力司法保障,确保在线诉讼活动规范有序,现就做好疫情防控期间人民法院在线诉讼相关工作通知如下。

一、各级人民法院要提高政治站位,充分认识疫情防控的重要意义和严峻形势,切实增强责任感和紧迫感,立足审判职能,努力服务和保障疫情防控工作大局。 要将深入推进在线诉讼作为坚决打赢防控疫情的人民战争、总体战、阻击战的重要举措,积极依托中国移动微法院、诉讼服务网、12368诉讼服务热线等在线诉讼平台,全面开展网上立案、调解、证据交换、庭审、宣判、送达等在线诉讼活动,有效满足疫情防控期间人民群众司法需求,确保人民法院审判工作平稳有序运行。

二、各级人民法院推进在线诉讼,既要充分考虑案件类型、难易程度、轻重缓急等因素,又要切实维护当事人合法诉讼权益,尊重当事人对案件办理模式的选择权,全面告知在线诉讼的权利义务和法律后果。 当事人同意案件在线办理的,应当在信息系统确认、留痕,确保相关诉讼活动的法律效力。 当事人不同意案件在线办理,依法申请延期审理的,人民法院应当准许,不得强制适用在线诉讼。 案件符合诉讼法律关于中止审理有关规定的,人民法院可以中止诉讼。

三、各级人民法院要积极引导各方诉讼主体依法有序开展在线诉讼活动,大力完善在线办理流程和在线诉讼规程,制定发布内容全面、指引清晰、简便易行的在线诉讼操作指南,相关内容不得突破现行法律和司法解释规定。 开展民事诉讼程序繁简分流改革试点工作的法院,应当在全国人大常委会授权范围内,严格按照《最高人民法院关于民事诉讼程序繁简分流改革试点实施办法》(法〔2020〕11号,以下简称《试点实施办法》)推进在线诉讼工作。 各高级人民法院要对辖区内法院制定的在线诉讼权利义务告知书、在线诉讼规程、在线诉讼操作指南等进行全面审核,确保相关内容合法、准确、可操作。

四、各级人民法院在线办理案件,要确保各方诉讼参与人身份真实性,通过证件证照比对、生物特征识别、实名手机号码关联等方式在线完成身份认证,提供各方诉讼参与人诉讼平台专用账号,实现“人、案、账号”匹配一致。

五、当事人及其诉讼代理人通过在线方式提交立案申请的,人民法院应当在收到起诉材料后七日内进行审核,符合法律规定起诉条件的,应当登记立案;提交材料不符合要求的,人民法院应当通过在线诉讼平台及时要求补正,并一次性告知应当补正的内容和期限,逾期未补正的,起诉材料作退回处理;不符合起诉条件,经人民法院释明后,原告坚持继续起诉的,裁定或者决定不予受理、不予立案。

当事人及其诉讼代理人在线提交立案材料确有困难的,可以选择就近一家法院提交立案材料。 相关人民法院应当按照跨域立案的工作机制和程序,及时办理立案手续。

六、各级人民法院要加大疫情防控期间矛盾纠纷化解力度,依托在线矛盾纠纷多元化调解平台,加强与司法行政部门、律师协会等相关单位的协调配合,进一步整合汇聚人民调解、行政调解、行业调解、律师调解等各方纠纷解决力量,有效促进矛盾纠纷在线化解。 要积极完善诉调对接机制,加大对在线纠纷多元化解的司法保障力度。 当事人对在线达成的调解协议提出的司法确认申请,符合法律规定的,人民法院应当及时依法确认。

七、当事人及其诉讼代理人通过电子化方式提交诉讼材料和证据材料的,经人民法院审核通过后,可以不再提交纸质原件。 当事人及其诉讼代理人采取邮寄等方式提交纸质材料的,人民法院应当及时扫描录入案件办理系统。 对提交的纸质原件材料,要及时立卷归档。 人民法院应当积极引导当事人及其诉讼代理人提交电子化材料,为其提供平台支撑和技术便利。

八、各级人民法院要积极推广和有序规范在线庭审,综合考虑技术条件、案件情况和当事人意愿等因素,确定是否采取在线庭审方式。 民商事、行政案件一般均可以采取在线方式开庭,但案件存在双方当事人不同意在线庭审、不具备在线庭审技术条件、需现场查明身份、核对原件、查验实物等情形的,不适用在线庭审。 刑事案件可以采取远程视频方式讯问被告人、宣告判决、审理减刑、假释案件等。 对适用简易程序、速裁程序的简单刑事案件、认罪认罚从宽案件,以及妨害疫情防控的刑事案件,可以探索采取远程视频方式开庭。

在线庭审活动应当遵循诉讼法律及司法解释的相关规定,充分保障当事人申请回避、举证、质证、陈述、辩论等诉讼权利。 在线庭审应当以在线视频方式进行,不得采取书面或者语音方式。

人民法院开展在线庭审,一般应当在法庭内进行。 因疫情防控需要,法官确需在其他场所在线开庭的,应当报请本院院长同意,并保证开庭场所庄重严肃、庭审礼仪规范。 人民法院应当参照《中华人民共和国人民法院法庭规则》相关规定,加强对在线庭审参与人的诉讼指导,明确在线庭审纪律,确保庭审过程安全文明、规范有序。

当事人明确同意在线庭审,但不按时参加或者庭审中擅自退出的,除经查明确属网络故障、设备损坏、电力中断或者不可抗力等原因外,可以认定为“拒不到庭”和“中途退庭”,分别按照诉讼法律及相关司法解释的规定处理。

人民法院应当积极运用语音识别技术同步生成庭审电子笔录,由审判人员、法官助理、书记员、当事人及其他诉讼参与人等在线确认,确保在线庭审活动效力。 在线庭审过程,应当按照《最高人民法院关于人民法院庭审录音录像的若干规定》,全程录音录像并存储归档。

九、疫情防控期间,各级人民法院可以根据技术条件和工作需要,允许法官远程查阅电子卷宗、合议案件、撰写提交裁判文书等,但应当严格遵循电子卷宗管理和保密工作相关规定。

十、各级人民法院要加大电子送达适用力度,提升送达质量和效率。 经受送达人同意,可以通过中国移动微法院、中国审判流程信息公开网、全国统一送达平台、传真、电子邮件、即时通讯账号等电子方式送达诉讼文书和当事人提交的证据材料。

纳入民事诉讼程序繁简分流改革试点的法院,应当按照《试点实施办法》第二十四条至第二十六条的规定,依法有序开展电子送达工作。 未纳入试点的法院,对电子送达的适用条件和生效标准,可以参照适用《试点实施办法》第二十四条、第二十六条的规定,但不得采用电子方式送达判决书、裁定书、调解书,确保人民法院电子送达符合诉讼法律及司法解释的规定。

十一、各级人民法院要大力推进一站式多元解纷机制和一站式诉讼服务中心建设,升级在线诉讼服务平台,拓展在线诉讼服务功能,向当事人和社会公众在线提供诉讼咨询、交费退费、信息查询、联系法官、申诉信访、举报投诉等全方位诉讼服务,保障当事人足不出户即可获取司法信息、办理诉讼事项,切实减少人员出行和聚集,服务疫情防控工作。

十二、杭州、北京、广州互联网法院要充分利用先发优势,加大在办案平台建设、在线诉讼流程、新兴技术应用、在线诉讼规则等方面的探索力度。 要在保证互联网案件全流程在线审理的基础上,加速提升审判执行工作智能化水平,加强对大数据、云计算、人工智能、5G技术等方面的研究应用,探索形成智慧司法的实践样本,总结形成可复制、可推广的先进经验。 要立足自身职能定位,积极探索互联网时代电子诉讼规则,推动完善互联网司法治理实体规则,切实发挥互联网法院在理念创新、技术创新、制度创新等方面的引领示范作用,有效推动网络空间治理法治化。

十三、各级人民法院要高度重视疫情防控期间在线诉讼推进工作,切实优化理念、加深认识、转变思路,将在线诉讼作为特殊时期人民法院开展审判执行工作的基本模式,确保队伍不散、工作不断、质效不降,为进一步完善互联网司法模式做出有益探索,奠定良好实践基础。 各级人民法院院长要作为推进在线诉讼的第一责任人,明确工作思路,理顺工作机制,加大组织实施力度,积极带头以在线方式办理案件,发挥引领示范作用,推动在线办案成为疫情防控期间的常态化机制。

十四、各级人民法院要大力加强信息化基础设施建设,积极推广应用中国移动微法院,加快搭建以中国移动微法院为总入口的在线诉讼平台,推动现有诉讼服务平台对接中国移动微法院,整合完善各类信息系统,防止多头开发和重复建设。 要着力打通内外网,实现司法数据安全有效交互。 要基于现有的平台系统,增加相应工作模块,拓展优化在线诉讼各项功能,对接实践需求,优化使用界面,提升用户体验,确保在线诉讼服务系统集成、高效便捷。

十五、各高级人民法院要积极做好辖区法院推进在线诉讼的统筹指导工作,制定出台相关诉讼规程和文书样式,加大对下指导力度,确保在线诉讼活动规范统一,合法有序。 要坚持边推进、边总结、边研究,不断总结提炼辖区法院推进在线诉讼的有益举措和经验,认真搜集存在的问题困难,提出具体解决方案或建议,及时形成工作报告报送最高人民法院司法改革领导小组办公室。

最高人民法院

2020年2月14日

 

About China Law Translate 995 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*