Press "Enter" to skip to content

Notice on Strengthening the Management of "Personal Media"

Promulgation Date: 2023-7-5
Title: Notice on Strengthening the Management of "Personal Media" 
Document Number:
Expiration date: 
Promulgating Entities: Office of the Cyber ​​Security and Informatization Commission of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China
Source of text: http://www.cac.gov.cn/2023-07/10/c_1690638496047430.htm

To all provincial, autonomous region, or directly governed municipality Party Committee Internet information offices, and the Party Committee internet information office of the Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps:

Notice of the following work requirements is hereby given as follows in order the strengthen the management of “personal media”, solidify website platforms' primary responsibility for the governance of information content, complete and normalize institutional management mechanisms, and promote the formation of a positive online public opinion ecology:

1. Strictly prevent impersonation and counterfeiting. Website platforms shall strengthen the review of information in account registrations, changes to account information, and dynamic checking, to effectively prevent impersonation in ‘personal media’. Where account information contains the names or symbols of Party, government, or military organs, news media, or administrative divisions, they must be manually verified, and where impersonation or counterfeiting is discovered, services must not be provided.

2. Strengthen the display of qualifications authentication. Website platforms shall conduct strict verifications of “personal media” that produces information content in fields such as finance, education, health and medicine, or the justice sector, and shall display authentication materials such as their service qualifications, professional credentials, and background expertise on the account home page, and add labels indicating the fields to which they belong. Website platforms shall suspend the provision of publishing services in the corresponding fields for “personal media” that have not authenticated their credentials or that have expired authentications.

3. Standardize the indication of information sources. When “personal media” publish information related to domestic or foreign current events, public policies, societal incidents, etc., website platforms shall require them to correctly label the source of the information and display it in a conspicuous location when publishing. Where pictures or video that they took themselves is used, they must be individually labeled with information such as the time and location where they were taken. Where pictures or video generated through technology are used, they shall be clearly labeled as being produced by technology. Where past news incidents are cited, the time and place of those incidents must be clearly explained.

4. Strengthen the management of the veracity of information. Website platforms shall require “personal media” to be responsible for the veracity of the information that they publish or republish. When “personal media” publish information, website platforms shall display the name of the “personal media” account on the page where the information is published, and must not attributed to anonymous users instead. The information published by “personal media” must not be sheer fabrication, taken out of context, or distort facts; and methods such as patchwork editing and synthesized forgeries must not be used to impact the information’s veracity.

5. Attach labels for false or contested content. Website platforms shall require that “personal media” publishing fictional or speculative [embellished] stories, label the content as false or speculative in a conspicuous fashion. Website platforms are encouraged to tag contested information as such and limit the traffic of the related information.

6. Improve functions for tagging rumors. Website platforms shall promptly tag rumors in fields such as public policy, the public and people’s livelihood, and major breaking incidents, pin information refuting the rumor on search pages for the specific rumor, and use methods such as algorithmic recommendations to increase the reach of and efficacy of the refutation information.

7. Regulate account operations behavior. Website platforms shall strictly enforce the account registration provision of “one account per person, two for enterprises”, strictly prohibiting individuals and enterprises from manipulating the “personal media” accounts to matrix [concerted cross-platform] publish and disseminate illegal and negative information. “Personal media” shall be required to carry out account registration and operation activities in accordance with laws and regulations, they must not consolidate negative information [负面- not the legal term “不良信息“], rekindle old incidents, stir up hot societal incidents, or market disasters and accidents; they must not induce users to follow other accounts to avoid losing contact, follow in advance, by creating suspense, or other such methods; encouraging and leading ‘personal media’ to create high-quality information content. Website platforms shall strengthen the verification of “personal media” account information to prevent accounts that have been closed down in accordance with laws and agreements from reregistering.

8. Clarify the requirements for turning on authority for earning. Where “personal media” apply for earnings authority, they must have no record of violating rules in the last three months. Where the account entity changes, website platforms shall suspend, or not grant, earnings authority for 3 months from the date of the change. Methods of earning include but are not limited to, advertising revenue shares, content shares, e-commerce product promotions, livestream tipping, tipping for articles or short videos, payments for information, and cooperation with brands.

9. Limit benefits from violations. Where website platforms employ measures to silence “personal media” that violates rules, they shall concurrently suspend earnings authority for a period of 2-3 times the length of the silencing. Website platforms shall cancel, or deny, earnings authority for “personal media” that build up vulgar personalities or online celebrities that go against good public customs, or that conduct malicious marketing by having multiple accounts act in concert to stir up hot societal incidents, etc. Website platforms shall periodically report to the internet information departments about restrictions on ‘personal media’ earnings authority for breaking rules.

10. Improve measures for managing the number of followers. Where the number of “personal media's” followers increases due to violations, website platforms shall promptly verify and remove them. During a period in which they are silenced, “personal media” must not gain new followers, their old articles must not be presented in key areas such as website platform recommendations or lists. “Personal media” that frequently stirs up hot societal incidents to gain followers are to be permanently prohibited from adding new followers, and where the circumstances are serious, are to have all followers canceled. Website platforms must not provide services transferring follower numbers.

11. Increase the extent of management of MCN organizations to which “personal media” belong. Website platforms shall complete management systems for MCN organizations, carrying out centralized and uniform management of MCN organizations and the accounts they have signed. The name of MCN organizations to which accounts belong is to be displayed in a conspicuous manner on “personal media” home pages. Website platforms shell employ measures such as suspending earnings authority, restricting the provision of services, and 入驻清退 , to address MCN organizations that use signed accounts to act in concert generate hype or have multiple violations,

12. Strictly address violations. Website platforms shall promptly discover and strictly address violations by “personal media”. “Personal media” that create and publish rumors, stir up hot societal topics or matrix [linked cross-platform] publish and transmit illegal or negative information, creating a vile impact are all to be closed, included in the platform database of blacklisted accounts, and reported to the internet information departments. Measures such as canceling interactive functions, clearing out followers, canceling earnings authority, silencing, and closing down shall be employed against “personal media” that transmit rumors. Measures such as canceling interactive functions, silencing, and closing down shall be employed against “personal media” that publish information in fields such as finance, education, health and medicine, or the justice sector without having had qualifications authenticated.

13. Strengthen exposure of dispositions and example cases. Website platforms shall strengthen the dispositions and exposure of “personal media” that violate rules, setting up a special column for warnings and education, periodically publishing example cases of “personal media” violations, and alerting “personal media” to do a good job in self-management.

All local internet information departments should truly fulfill responsibility for managing their area, strengthen industry guidance and routine regulation, carry out oversight inspections of website platform types, such as for information, social media, livestreaming, short videos, Q+A, and communities, and oversee website platforms’ implementation in strict accordance with requirements, to truly strengthen the management of “personal media”.

Secretariat of the Cyberspace Administration of China

2023/7/5

 

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Print this entry

CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

5 Comments

  1. Esnomeo Esnomeo 2023/07/21

    Interestingly, clicking through the link to the original document results in error .404 and redirects to the CAC homepage.

    Has someone in CAC had second thoughts about this Notice?

    Thanks!

    • China Law Translate China Law Translate Post author | 2023/07/21

      No, I just left off the last few letters in the link. Should work now.

      • China Law Translate China Law Translate Post author | 2023/07/21

        You know you can also switch the language to Chinese on our site, right?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate

Press "Enter" to skip to content

关于加强“自媒体”管理的通知

【颁布时间】2023-7-5
【标题】关于加强“自媒体”管理的通知
【发文号】
【失效时间】
【颁布单位】中共中央网络安全和信息化委员会办公室
【法规来源】http://www.cac.gov.cn/2023-07/10/c_1690638496047430.htm

各省、自治区、直辖市党委网信办,新疆生产建设兵团党委网信办:

为加强“自媒体”管理,压实网站平台信息内容管理主体责任,健全常态化管理制度机制,推动形成良好网络舆论生态,现就有关工作要求通知如下:

1.严防假冒仿冒行为。  网站平台应当强化注册、拟变更账号信息、动态核验环节账号信息审核,有效防止“自媒体”假冒仿冒行为。  对账号信息中含有党政军机关、新闻媒体、行政区划名称或标识的,必须人工审核,发现假冒仿冒的,不得提供相关服务。 

2.强化资质认证展示。  对从事金融、教育、医疗卫生、司法等领域信息内容生产的“自媒体”,网站平台应当进行严格核验,并在账号主页展示其服务资质、职业资格、专业背景等认证材料名称,加注所属领域标签。  对未认证资质或资质认证已过期的“自媒体”,网站平台应当暂停提供相应领域信息发布服务。 

3.规范信息来源标注。  “自媒体”在发布涉及国内外时事、公共政策、社会事件等相关信息时,网站平台应当要求其准确标注信息来源,发布时在显著位置展示。  使用自行拍摄的图片、视频的,需逐一标注拍摄时间、地点等相关信息。  使用技术生成的图片、视频的,需明确标注系技术生成。  引用旧闻旧事的,必须明确说明当时事件发生的时间、地点。 

4.加强信息真实性管理。  网站平台应当要求“自媒体”对其发布转载的信息真实性负责。  “自媒体”发布信息时,网站平台应当在信息发布页面展示“自媒体”账号名称,不得以匿名用户等代替。  “自媒体”发布信息不得无中生有,不得断章取义、歪曲事实,不得以拼凑剪辑、合成伪造等方式,影响信息真实性。 

5.加注虚构内容或争议信息标签。  “自媒体”发布含有虚构情节、剧情演绎的内容,网站平台应当要求其以显著方式标记虚构或演绎标签。  鼓励网站平台对存在争议的信息标记争议标签,并对相关信息限流。 

6.完善谣言标签功能。  涉公共政策、社会民生、重大突发事件等领域谣言,网站平台应当及时标记谣言标签,在特定谣言搜索呈现页面置顶辟谣信息,运用算法推荐方式提高辟谣信息触达率,提升辟谣效果。 

7.规范账号运营行为。  网站平台应当严格执行“一人一号、一企两号”账号注册数量规定,严禁个人或企业操纵“自媒体”账号矩阵发布传播违法和不良信息。  应当要求“自媒体”依法依规开展账号运营活动,不得集纳负面信息、翻炒旧闻旧事、蹭炒社会热点事件、消费灾难事故,不得以防止失联、提前关注、故留悬念等方式,诱导用户关注其他账号,鼓励引导“自媒体”生产高质量信息内容。  网站平台应当加强“自媒体”账号信息核验,防止被依法依约关闭的账号重新注册。 

8.明确营利权限开通条件。  “自媒体”申请开通营利权限的,需3个月内无违规记录。  账号主体变更的,自变更之日起3个月内,网站平台应当暂停或不得赋予其营利权限。  营利方式包括但不限于广告分成、内容分成、电商带货、直播打赏、文章或短视频赞赏、知识付费、品牌合作等。 

9.限制违规行为获利。  网站平台对违规“自媒体”采取禁言措施的,应当同步暂停其营利权限,时长为禁言期限的2至3倍。  对打造低俗人设、违背公序良俗网红形象,多账号联动蹭炒社会热点事件进行恶意营销等的“自媒体”,网站平台应当取消或不得赋予其营利权限。  网站平台应当定期向网信部门报备限制违规“自媒体”营利权限的有关情况。 

10.完善粉丝数量管理措施。  “自媒体”因违规行为增加的粉丝数量,网站平台应当及时核实并予以清除。  禁言期间“自媒体”不得新增粉丝,历史发文不得在网站平台推荐、榜单等重点环节呈现。  对频繁蹭炒社会热点事件博取关注的“自媒体”,永久禁止新增粉丝,情节严重的,清空全量粉丝。  网站平台不得提供粉丝数量转移服务。 

11.加大对“自媒体”所属MCN机构管理力度。  网站平台应当健全MCN机构管理制度,对MCN机构及其签约账号实行集中统一管理。  在“自媒体”账号主页,以显著方式展示该账号所属MCN机构名称。  对于利用签约账号联动炒作、多次出现违规行为的MCN机构,网站平台应当采取暂停营利权限、限制提供服务、入驻清退等处置措施。 

12.严格违规行为处置。  网站平台应当及时发现并严格处置“自媒体”违规行为。  对制作发布谣言,蹭炒社会热点事件或矩阵式发布传播违法和不良信息造成恶劣影响的“自媒体”,一律予以关闭,纳入平台黑名单账号数据库并上报网信部门。  对转发谣言的“自媒体”,应当采取取消互动功能、清理粉丝、取消营利权限、禁言、关闭等处置措施。  对未通过资质认证从事金融、教育、医疗卫生、司法等领域信息发布的“自媒体”,应当采取取消互动功能、禁言、关闭等处置措施。 

13.强化典型案例处置曝光。  网站平台应当加强违规“自媒体”处置和曝光力度,开设警示教育专栏,定期发布违规“自媒体”典型案例,警示“自媒体”做好自我管理。 

各地网信部门要切实履行属地管理责任,强化业务指导和日常监管,开展对资讯、社交、直播、短视频、知识问答、论坛社区等类型网站平台的督导检查,督促网站平台严格对照工作要求抓好贯彻落实,切实加强“自媒体”管理。 

中央网信办秘书局

2023年7月5日

 

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Print this entry

CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

5 Comments

  1. Esnomeo Esnomeo 2023/07/21

    Interestingly, clicking through the link to the original document results in error .404 and redirects to the CAC homepage.

    Has someone in CAC had second thoughts about this Notice?

    Thanks!

    • China Law Translate China Law Translate Post author | 2023/07/21

      No, I just left off the last few letters in the link. Should work now.

      • China Law Translate China Law Translate Post author | 2023/07/21

        You know you can also switch the language to Chinese on our site, right?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate