MOJ Opinion on Deepening Transparency in Prison Work

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 411 total views,  1 views today

All provincial, autonomous region, or directly governed municipality Justice Departments (Bureaus), the Justice Bureau for the Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps, and prison administration bureau:

The following Opinion on further deepening openness in prison affairs is hereby issued on the basis of the "People's Republic of China Prisons Law" and other relevant laws and regulations taken together with the actual experiences in prison work, so as to deeply put into place and carry out the spirit of the 18th Party Congress's third and fourth plenary sessions, to put into place and carry out the Party Center's requests and deployment for deepening reform of the justice system, to further increase the level of transparency in prison law enforcement, promote fairness and justice in law enforcement, and increase the credibility of law enforcement.

I. Further raising awareness of the principal significance of deepening openness in prison affairs

1. openness in prison affairs is an important constituent part of enforcing criminal punishments, it is a concrete manifestation of prisons performing their duties in accordance with law and accepting oversight. Since October 2001, when the Ministry of Justice decided to pursue openness in prison affairs for the national prison system, all areas' disclosure of the bais, process and conclusions of prison law enforcement, and conscientious acceptance of social supervision, have cause the masses to truly get a feeling for the strictly regulated, fair and civilized, image of law enforcement. In recent years, a few ares have have also developed pilot projects on deepening openness in prison affairs, increasing the actual efficacy of openness in prison affairs by further deepening the content of disclosure, innovating methods of disclosure, expanding channels for disclosure, and comprehensively creating a sunshine law enforcement system; receiving widespread interest and approval from all aspects of society. At the same time, it should also be observed that the overall level of openness in prison affairs can be improved upon, especially in that areas such as the content, means and working mechanisms for disclosure are not in line with the social and economic development and the masses' new expectations. The 18th Party Congress and its third and fourth plenary sessions raised clear requirements for improving judicial openness and promoting openness in prison affairs; making openness in prison affairs a major task of deepening reform of the justice system. The results and experience of efforts on openness in prison affairs also demonstrate that truly deepening openness in prison affairs is an important measure for carrying out the spirit of the 18th party congress and its third and fourth plenary sessions and deepening reform of the justice system; it is urgent requirement of governing prisons in accordance with law and promoting the establishment of a peaceful China under the rule of law; and it is an effective path for ensuring that prisons perform their duties in accordance with law, standardizing law enforcement activity, and raising the professional character and level of law enforcement of prisons' people's police. All levels of prison organ should further recognize the importance of openness in prison affairs, strengthening their sense of responsibility and urgency, pioneering and innovating in the spirit of reform and opening one's minds, adopting effective measures and truly deepening all aspects of work on openness in prison affairs.

II. Guiding thought and principles for further deepening openness in prison affairs

The guiding thoughts for further deepening openness in prison affairs are: Earnestly carry out and implement the spirit of the 18th Party Congress and it's third and fourth plenary sessions, implement the , to put into place and carry out the Party Center's requests and deployment for deepening reform of the justice system, follow the principle of disclosure as the norm and non-disclosure as an exception, strengthen proactive disclosure, actively accept social supervision; and further deepen the content of disclosure focussing on the interests of the public, convicts and their families, and key areas or hot topics, of the prison law enforcement field; innovate new means and methods for disclosure, establish and improve working systems, use modern information procedures to ensure that all aspects of disclosure are realized; truly promote disclosure of law enforcement content, methods, systems and services; promoting fairness through openness.

Further deepening of openness in prison affairs shall abide by the following principles:

(1) The principle of disclosure in accordance with law. The content and procedures of relevant laws, regulations and rules should be strictly followed in disclosing relevant law enforcement information to the public, convicts and their close relatives. Information involving state secrets, work secrets, and personal information must not be disclosed, as well as law enforcement information that might obstruct normal law enforcement activities or impact social stability.

(2) The principle of timeliness and accuracy. Information and affairs that shall be lawfully disclosed, should all be promptly disclosed with the legally prescribed period by convenient and speedy means, ensuring that the content is objective, true, and accurate.

(3) The principle of strengthening oversight. Strengthen internal oversight, lawfully accepting supervision of the procuratorates, conscientiously accepting supervision from people's congresses and political consultative conferences as well as social supervision; ensuring the sustainable and healthy development of openness in prison affairs.

III. Further deepening openness in prison affairs

4. Prison organs shall further deepen disclosure of content on prison affairs based on the different requirements of groups such as the public, the close family of convicts, and convicts.

5.Prisons must disclose the following information to the general public:

(1) Prisons' nature, tasks, duties and scope of authority.

(2) The rights, duties and discipline requirements of prison police.

(3) channels and methods for reporting and filing complaints against prison organs and prisons police in enforcing the law or management work.

(4) the statutory requirements and procedures for the imprisonment and release of criminals;

(5) the basic rights and obligations of criminals.

(6) The means and ways for convicts to make appeals, accusations and inform against others.

(7) Requirements, procedures and consequences of convicts receiving commutation or parole, and written recommendations from prisons to people's courts requesting a convict be given commutation or parole.

(8) the statutory requirements, procedures and outcomes for criminals to provisionally serve sentences outside of prison, and the document containing the decision about provisional service of sentences outside of prison.

(9) the handling procedures and outcomes where criminals commit a further offence within the prison;

(10) behavioral rules for the conduct of prisoners while serving a sentence;

(11) the requirements and procedures for evaluating whether criminals have exhibited signs of reform;

(12) the requirements and procedures for assigning grades to prisoners;

(13) Requirements and procedures for convicts receiving awards such as commendations, merits or material awards.

(14) Requirements and procedures for convicts receiving sanctions such as warnings, demerits or confinement.

(15) Requirements and procedures for meritorious service and major meritorious service by convicts.

(16) the requirements and procedures for communications and visits for criminals;

(17) the requirements and procedures for criminals leaving the prison to visit relatives or having special permission to leave the prison;

(18) Conditions relating to ideologic, cultural and occupational technology education.

(19) Conditions relating to convict work programs, on-job-training, work times, labor protections and compensation.

(20) Conditions relating to convict meals, quality standards for clothing and bedding, food safety, and disease prevention and control.

(21) circumstances of the handling and investigation of major incidents in prison law enforcement and management;

(22) rules, laws and regulations for prison work;

(23) content required to be made public according to laws, regulations, rules and other normative documents;

6.In addition to the content disclosed to the public, prisons shall also lawfully disclose personal information on prisoners' sentence to his close relatives. Content to be disclosed includes:

(1) The name, address and contact information for the prison.

(2) methods for managing objections to recommendations by prisons for commutation, parole or provisional service of sentence outside the prison.

(3) the outcomes of a prison's grade assignments, evaluations, and reward/penalties for a criminal as well as methods for handling protests at the result.

(4) the results of a criminal's meritorious service or major meritorious services, as well as methods for handling complaints at the outcome;

(5) Outcomes of prisoners communications and meetings , trips outside prison to visit family or specially permitted trips outside prison

(6) The outcomes of convicts participation in cultural or professional technical education, social self-education tests and evaluations.

(7) Conditions such as convicts engaging in work programs, compensation for jobs and labor, work skills and performance, and evaluation of work performance.

(8) Conditions regarding the convict's food and sundries expenses and payments from their personal money account.

(9) The convict's state of health and physical examination outcome, as well as diagnosis and treatment of illnesses.

(10) Other information that prisons feel must be disclosed to convicts close families.

7. For disclosures to convicts, in addition to the content disclosed to the public and to convicts' families, during the process of prison punishments and management, prisons and sub-wards shall also fully disclose to convicts the legal basis, procedures, and outcomes as well as the process for handling dissatisfaction with the outcome or objections; however information involving state secrets, work secrets and convicts' personal information must not be disclosed.

8. Information disclosed to the public in accordance with law should be disclosed in a manner that facilitates the public's learning of it. Information involving the conditions of a convicts' serving his sentence may lawfully be given to convicts or their close relatives, and may also be disclosed on the basis of an application of the convict or his close relatives in accordance with law. All areas shall summarize actual conditions to establish and complete procedures for disclosure in response to applications, clarifying specific requirements for all stages such as the acceptance, review, disposition and response to applications for disclosure, to ensure that applications for disclosure by convicts and their close relatives are properly handled.

IV. Further innovate means and methods for openness in prison affairs.

9.Continue adhering to and improving aid from news media, simultaneously using traditional methods of disclosure such as internal prison publicity, launching inquiries into prison affairs, printing "Handbooks on Openness in Prison Affairs"; and also use contemporary information technology to innovate new methods for disclosure, expand channels for disclosure and make it so that the families of convicts and public can more conveniently and quickly get information disclosures.

10. Disclosure to convicts may be through openness in prison affairs bulletin boards, a prison newspaper, internal prison broadcasts, closed circuit television, electronic display screens, convict education networks and other such methods; to promptly disclose information on relevant to convicts' studies, lives, and work; and may also use openness in prison affairs information and inquiry terminals established within the prison to bring about automated inquiries into convicts' scoring and asessment, graded treatment, administrative awards and punishments, modification in enforcement of criminal punishments, and other important information on serving a sentence.

11. Disclosure to convicts' families may be through setting up electronic display screens in meeting areas and openness in prison affairs information and inquiry terminals, to provide inquiry services; they may also establish openness in prison affairs hotlines to promptly resolve questions that convicts' families have about prison law enforcement management; and may also use cellphone text-messaging, WeChat and other contemporary information measures to promptly release information relevant to the reformation of the prisoner serving a sentence.

12. Disclosure to the public may be through new media such a website portals, government affairs microblogs, and public WeChat platforms to increase the impact of openness in prison affairs and its ability to influence public opinion; it may also be through means such as convening law enforcement briefing meetings, actively explaining circumstances of prison law enforcement management and protections of lawful rights and interests to social figures and law enforcement supervisory personnel, and hearing their comments and suggestions.

V. Further improve systems for work on openness in prison affairs.

13. Implement a system for informing convicts of their rights and obligations. After a convict enters prison, the prison shall use methods such as prison admission orientation classes, giving out prisoner guidebooks or written notices of rights and obligations to inform convicts of the rights they enjoy and the obligations they shall fulfill.

14. Strengthen the system for announcements. Announcements shall be strictly made about convicts' evaluation and classification, graded treatment, administrative awards and punishments, meritorious and major meritorious service, requests for commutation or parole, and handling of temporary service of sentence outside of prison. Where there are objections to the announcement, a review shall be promptly conducted and notification given about the results.

15. Complete the system of law enforcement people's supervisors. Announcements shall be strictly made about convicts' evaluation and classification, graded treatment, administrative awards and punishments, meritorious and major meritorious service, requests for commutation or parole, and handling of temporary service of sentence outside of prison. Where there are objections to the announcement, a review shall be promptly conducted and notification given about the results.

16. Establish and improve work systems for website portals and law enforcement case handling platforms. The prison management bureaus and justice departments (bureaus) of all provinces (regions, municipalities), shall set up a website portal, and all information that is to be disclosed to the public shall all be disclosed and released on the website portal, gradually developing online consultation and automated inquiry functions, making the website portal an important medium for creating deeper openness in prison affairs. The establishment of platforms for handling convict's commutation or parole and temporary service of sentences outside of prison should be further strengthened, gradually realizing online input, handling, disclosure, supervision and evaluation of penal enforcement.

VI. Further strengthen organizational leadership

17. The prison management bureaus and justice departments (bureaus) of all provinces (regions, municipalities), should actively report to the party and government, striving for the party committees and governments concern and emphasis on efforts to deepen openness in prison affairs. Actively communicate with relevant departments to gain their support and cooperation. The requirements of this "Opinion" should be followed, combined with the actual local conditions, to earnestly research the formulation of a specifc implementation plan, actively and prudently promoting the orderly development of efforts to deepen openness in prison affairs.

18. The prison management bureaus and prisons of all provinces (regions, municipalities), should seperately establish a working committees on openness in prison affairs, with principle leaders presiding and departments with relevant functions participating, clarifying the departments that will take the lead and specifically take responsibility for organizing and coordinating all aspects of deepening openness in prison affairs. The working procedures for openness in prison affairs and departmental responsibilities should be clarified, to establish and complete mechanisms for evaluating openness in prison affairs work, and periodically organizing speical oversight and leadership inspections, making the actual efficacy of work on openness in prison affairs a major standard in appraising the work performance of management and individuals at all levels. Activities for creation of civilized windows for openness in prison affairs should be initiated, promptly including work experiences that can be reproduced and expanded upon. Newspapers, television, broadcast radio, the internet and other news media should be fully utilized, to broadly promote the effect and experience of openness in prison affairs efforts, and create a posive social environment and public opinion atmosphere.

Ministry of Justice

April 1, 2015

About China Law Translate 1003 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

司法部关于进一步深化狱务公开的意见

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 170 total views,  4 views today

各省、自治区、直辖市司法厅(局),新疆生产建设兵团司法局、监狱管理局:

为深入贯彻落实党的十八大和十八届三中、四中全会精神,贯彻落实中央关于深化司法体制改革的要求部署,进一步增强监狱执法透明度,促进执法公平公正,提升执法公信力,根据《中华人民共和国监狱法》等有关法律法规,结合监狱工作实际,现就进一步深化狱务公开提出如下意见:

  一、进一步提高对深化狱务公开重要意义的认识

1.狱务公开是刑罚执行工作的重要组成部分,是监狱依法履行职责、接受监督的具体体现。 自2001年10月司法部决定在全国监狱系统推行狱务公开以来,各地公开监狱执法的依据、过程和结果,自觉接受社会监督,使人民群众切实感受到了监狱严格规范公正文明的执法形象。 近年来,一些地方还开展了深化狱务公开试点工作,通过进一步深化公开的内容,创新公开的方式,拓宽公开的渠道,全面打造阳光执法体系,增强了狱务公开的实际效果,受到社会各界的广泛关注和好评。 同时,也要看到当前狱务公开整体工作水平还有待进一步提高,特别是在公开的内容、方式方法、制度机制等方面与经济社会发展和人民群众的新要求新期待还存在一定差距。 十八大和十八届三中、四中全会对完善司法公开、推进狱务公开提出明确要求,将推进狱务公开列入深化司法体制改革的重要任务。 狱务公开工作取得的成效和经验也表明,切实做好深化狱务公开工作,是监狱系统贯彻落实党的十八大和十八届三中、四中全会精神、深化司法体制改革的重要举措;是实现依法治监、推动法治中国建设、平安中国建设的迫切需要;是提升执法公信力,预防司法腐败,促进社会公平正义的必然要求;是确保监狱依法履行职责,规范执法行为,提高监狱人民警察业务素质和执法水平的有效途径。 各级监狱机关要进一步认识深化狱务公开工作的重要性,切实增强责任感和紧迫感,以改革的精神,解放思想,开拓创新,采取有效措施,切实做好深化狱务公开的各项工作。

  二、 进一步深化狱务公开的指导思想及原则

2.进一步深化狱务公开的指导思想是:认真贯彻落实党的十八大和十八届三中、四中全会精神,贯彻落实中央关于深化司法体制改革的要求部署,按照公开为常态,不公开为例外原则,增强主动公开、主动接受监督意识,围绕罪犯及其近亲属、社会公众关注度较高的、监狱执法领域的重点和热点问题,进一步深化公开内容,创新公开方式方法,建立完善工作制度,依托现代信息手段确保各项公开措施得到落实,切实推动执法的内容、方式、制度、服务公开,以公开促公正。

3.进一步深化狱务公开应当遵循以下原则:

(1)依法公开原则。 要严格依照有关法律法规和规章规定的内容和程序,向社会公众、罪犯及其近亲属公开相关执法信息。 不得公开涉及国家秘密、工作秘密和个人隐私的信息,以及可能妨害正常执法活动或者影响社会稳定的执法信息。

(2)及时准确原则。 凡是依法应当公开的执法事项和信息,都应当在法定期限内采用方便、快捷的方式及时公开,在内容上确保客观、真实、准确。

(3)强化监督原则。 加强内部监督,依法接受检察机关监督,自觉接受人大、政协及社会公众监督,确保狱务公开工作持续健康开展。

  三、进一步深化狱务公开内容

4. 监狱机关应当根据社会公众、罪犯近亲属及罪犯等公开对象的不同需求,进一步深化狱务公开的内容。

5.对社会公众,监狱应当依法公开下列信息:

(1)监狱的性质、任务和职责权限。

(2)监狱人民警察的权利、义务和纪律要求。

(3)对监狱机关和监狱人民警察执法、管理工作进行举报投诉的方式和途径。

(4)罪犯收监、释放的法定条件和程序。

(5)罪犯的基本权利和义务。

(6)罪犯申诉、控告、检举的方式和途径。

(7)罪犯减刑、假释的法定条件、程序和结果,监狱向人民法院提请罪犯减刑、假释的建议书。

(8)罪犯暂予监外执行的法定条件、程序和结果,罪犯暂予监外执行决定书。

(9)罪犯狱内又犯罪的处理程序和结果。

(10)罪犯服刑期间应当遵守的行为规范。

(11)对罪犯服刑改造表现进行考评的条件和程序。

(12)罪犯分级处遇的条件和程序。

(13)罪犯获得表扬、记功或物质奖励等奖励的条件和程序。

(14)罪犯受到警告、记过或者禁闭等处罚的条件和程序。

(15)罪犯立功和重大立功的条件和程序。

(16)罪犯通讯、会见的条件和程序。

(17)罪犯离监探亲、特许离监的条件和程序。

(18)罪犯思想、文化、职业技术教育有关情况。

(19)罪犯劳动项目、岗位技能培训、劳动时间、劳动保护和劳动报酬有关情况。

(20)罪犯伙食、被服实物量标准,食品安全、疾病预防控制有关情况。

(21)监狱执法管理重大事件的处置及调查情况。

(22)监狱工作相关法律法规和规章。

(23)法律、法规、规章和其他规范性文件规定的应当向社会公开的内容。

6.除向社会公众公开的内容外,监狱还应当依法向罪犯近亲属公开有关罪犯的个人服刑信息。 公开的内容包括:

(1)监狱的名称、地址及联系方式。

(2)对监狱提请罪犯减刑、假释、暂予监外执行建议有异议的处理方式。

(3)监狱对罪犯实行分级处遇、考评、奖惩的结果,以及对结果有异议的处理方式。

(4)罪犯立功或重大立功的结果,以及对结果有异议的处理方式。

(5)监狱批准罪犯通讯会见、离监探亲、特许离监的结果。

(6)罪犯参加文化、职业技术教育、社会自学考试、考核的结果。

(7)罪犯从事的劳动项目、岗位和劳动报酬以及劳动技能、劳动绩效和劳动素养的评估等情况。

(8)罪犯食品、日用品消费及个人钱款帐户收支等情况。

(9)罪犯身体健康状况、体检结果以及疾病诊治等情况。

(10)监狱认为需要向罪犯近亲属公开的其他信息。

7.对罪犯公开,除向社会公众和罪犯近亲属公开的内容外,监狱还应当以监区或分监区为单位,向罪犯全面公开监狱执行刑罚和管理过程中的法律依据、程序、结果,以及对结果不服或者有异议的处理方式,但对涉及国家秘密、工作秘密和罪犯个人隐私的信息不得公开。

8.对依法向社会公开的信息,应当以便于公众知晓的方式予以公开。 对涉及罪犯个人服刑情况的相关信息,可以依法向罪犯及其近亲属告知,也可以根据罪犯及其近亲属的申请依法予以公开。 各地应当结合实际,建立健全依申请公开的工作规程,明确办理依申请公开的受理、审查、处理、答复等各个环节的具体要求,确保罪犯及其近亲属提出的申请及时得到妥善处理。

  四、进一步创新狱务公开方式方法

9.要在继续坚持和完善借助新闻媒体、运用狱内宣传手段、开展狱务咨询、印发《狱务公开手册》等传统公开方式的同时,积极利用现代信息技术创新公开的方式方法,拓宽公开的渠道,使罪犯近亲属和社会公众能够更加方便、快捷地获得公开信息。

10. 对罪犯公开,可以通过狱务公开专栏、监狱报刊、狱内广播、闭路电视、电子显示屏、罪犯教育网等方式,在罪犯学习、生活、劳动区域及时公布狱务公开的相关信息;还可以通过在狱内设置狱务公开信息查询终端,实现罪犯对计分考评、分级处遇、行政奖惩、刑罚变更执行等重要服刑信息的自助查询。

11.对罪犯近亲属公开,可以通过在会见场所设置电子显示屏、狱务公开信息查询终端,为其提供信息查询服务;也可以通过设立狱务公开服务热线,及时解答罪犯近亲属对监狱执法管理工作提出的疑问;还可以通过运用手机短信、微信等现代信息手段,向罪犯近亲属及时发布罪犯个人服刑改造的相关信息。

12.对社会公众公开,可以通过门户网站、政务微博、微信公众平台等新兴媒体,增强狱务公开的影响力和舆论引导力;还可以通过召开执法情况通报会等方式,主动向社会人士、执法监督员介绍监狱执法管理及保障罪犯合法权益的情况,听取意见和建议。

  五、进一步完善狱务公开工作制度

13.落实罪犯权利义务告知制度。 罪犯入监后,监狱应当及时通过入监教育、发放罪犯服刑指导或罪犯权利义务告知书等方式,告知罪犯所享有的权利和应履行的义务。

14.强化公示制度。 要严格依法对罪犯计分考评、分级处遇、行政奖惩、立功、重大立功表现、提请减刑、假释和办理暂予监外执行等信息进行公示。 对公示内容提出异议的,应当及时进行复核并告知结果。

15.健全完善执法监督员制度。 省级监狱管理机关和监狱可以在机关、团体、企事业单位及社会人士中聘任执法监督员,明确执法监督员工作职责,定期邀请执法监督员检查、监督监狱执法情况,列席在社会上有重大影响或社会关注度较高的减刑、假释、暂予监外执行案件评审会议或者参与旁听罪犯减刑、假释案件的开庭审理。 执法监督员有权向监狱反映执法工作中存在的问题,监狱应当将相关办理情况及时反馈。

16.建立完善门户网站和执法办案平台工作制度。 各省(区、市)监狱管理局应当设立门户网站,凡属向社会公开的信息都应当在门户网站上公开发布,逐步开发网上咨询和自助查询功能,将门户网站打造成深化狱务公开的重要载体。 要进一步加强罪犯减刑、假释、暂予监外执行办案平台建设,逐步实现刑罚执行工作网上录入、网上办理、网上公开、网上监督和网上考核。

  六、进一步加强组织领导

17.各省(区、市)司法厅(局)、监狱管理局要积极向党委、政府汇报,争取党委、政府对深化狱务公开工作的关心和重视。 要积极与有关部门沟通,争取支持与配合。 要按照《意见》要求,结合本地区实际,认真研究制定具体实施方案,积极稳妥推进深化狱务公开工作有序开展。

18.各省(区、市)监狱管理局、监狱要分别成立深化狱务公开工作委员会,由主要领导任主任,相关职能部门参加,并明确牵头部门,具体负责组织协调深化狱务公开的各项工作。 要明确狱务公开工作的工作程序和相关部门职责,建立健全狱务公开工作的考评机制,定期组织专项督导检查,把狱务公开工作实际效果作为评价各级领导班子和个人工作绩效的重要标准。 要开展狱务公开文明窗口创建活动,及时归纳总结可复制、可推广的工作经验。 要充分利用报刊、电视、广播、网络等新闻媒体,广泛宣传狱务公开工作成效和经验,创造良好的社会环境和舆论氛围。

司法部

2015年4月1日

About China Law Translate 977 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*