Procuratorate to Move Against Environment and Food Safety Crimes

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

http://www.legaldaily.com.cn/index_article/content/2014-02/27/content_5316004.htm

Legal Daily Online, Beijing Feb. 27; Reporter Jiang Hao. The Supreme People's Procuratorate said today, the nation's procuratorates have always placed combating crimes that affect the people's livelihood in a prominent position, and, considering the example of crimes endangering food and drug safety and crimes damaging environmental resources, in 2013, arrest was approved in 9,277 cases (13,495 people) for these types of offenses, respective increases of 23% and 12%.

From March to December 2013, the SPP launched a special supervisory action on case filing in crimes that affect the public livelihood, in total overseeing the transfer 4,290 cases (involving 5,409 people) of crimes endangering the people's livelihood from the administrative law enforcement organs, and overseeing the transfer of 3,148 cases (involving 3,984 people) opened by the public security organ to the procuratorate's corruption and bribery or abuse of office and rights violations departments, with leads on 132 cases (156 people) of abuse of office. Food and drug safety crimes and environmental resource crimes were the two most commonly seen categories of crimes, standing at about half the total number of crimes.

cow gas maskAccording to reports, the Supreme People's Procuratorate used methods such as supervising major cases, sending staff for on-site supervision, strengthening guidance in individual cases, holding promotional meetings and sharing practices from experience to implement the special supervisory action on case filing for people's livelihoods. Many provincial Procuratorates also jointly formed steering groups on supervision of case-handling, together with the public security department, government legislative affairs office and related administrative law enforcement departments, to ensure the effectiveness of the special supervision action.

The deputy director of the Supreme People's Procuratorate's Division for the Prevention of Crimes of Abuse of Office, Chen Zhengyun, said that corruption in the food safety area primarily involves the crimes of neglecting duties, abusing the authority of office, and violations for personal gain. We need to integrate the specific practices for prevention of crimes abusing public power in the food safety area, making supervisory personnel aware of the harm that food safety crimes cause to the nation and people as well as individuals, and establishing an understanding of a ethical bottom line that cannot be crossed and legal lines that cannot not be execeeded.

This year the special supervisory action on strict inviestigation of food safety and environment cimes, is under the Supreme Procuratorate's "umbrella" for protecting the people's livelihood. ===by reporter Jiang Hao

" Several days of haze has cleared and we finally welcome our long lost friend the blue sky. It's nice to have this kind of weather for our press conference." said SPP spokesperson, Zhang Bencai, on February 27 in his opening remarks at the Supreme People's Procuratorate's press conference on the 2013 national procuratorate organs special supervisory action on crimes endangering the people's livelihood; bringing on calls of support from those in attendance.

Zhang Bencai said that crimes endangering the people's livelihood, especially crimes destroying environmental resources and crimes in the food and drug safety area, seriously harm the public's security in their life and property, influence social harmony and stability , and that the people give strong feedback in this area.

"Legal Daily" reporters learned that the issue of some administrative law enforcement organs not opening cases or not transferring cases to the procuratorate, so that administrative punishments are used instead of criminal penalties, has become quite prominent today, with the areas of food and drug safety and environment resource crimes being representative. To resolve this issue, the SPP launched a nine month special supervisory action on case filing in 2013, holding up 432 major cases on people's livelihood, of which the majority involved food and drug safety or environmental resources crimes, to maximize the deterrent effect. The launch of the special action had a definite degree of impact in containing some areas occurrences of crimes affecting the people's livelihoods.

In 2014, building on the foundation of the solid accomplishments of the 2013 special supervisory action, the SPP has decided to further emphasize the concentration of crimes in the serious areas of food and drug safety and harm to environmental resources, allotting 8 months to a special supervisory activity.

"Case filing supervision is an important and routine part of procuratorates work in conducting supervision of litigation, but a special supervisory action is a concentration of oversight directed primarily at a short period of time where there is a serious situation like a certain type of crime occurring frequently or a certain type of case is having an issue such as not being strictly enforced." Wan Chun, the head of the Supreme People's Procuratorate Supervision Division, said that procuratorate organs have the right to submit procuratorate opinions on cases transferred by administrative administrative law enforcement organs that involve crimes, but the administrative law enforcement organs are the first responders in cases including food and drug safety or environmental law enforcement, and when they review cases only transfer those where they believe a crime is involved to the public security organs. In recent years, the procuratorate organs have launched a special supervisory action almost every year, with the point being to use the special supervisory action to increase the extent to which cases are transferred and filed, and to serve as an opening to promote the completion and perfection of balancing mechanisms between the administrative law enforcement and criminal justice.

"The 2014 special supervisory action specially requires procuratorates at all levels to strengthen screening of industries, regions and groups prone to occurrences of these two types of crimes." Wan Chun said that at the same time, procuratorates at all levels need to expand their case sources and strengthen coordination and cooperation between administrative law enforcement organs and public security organs. In regions with a high incidence or water supply pollution, polluting enterprises, or the manufacture and sale of counterfeit goods, small workshops will carry out net style screening, and increase the focus and effectiveness of efforts to stop these. "The public is also welcome to provide leads through the '12309' online reporting platform."

As to whether relevant administrators turn a deaf ear to leads reported by the public, don't look into them, or situations of them not punishing the conduct after review, Cheng Zhengyun, the deputy chief of the SPP office on crimes abusing public office, said that the basic cause of this kind of phenomena is the nonfeasance, haphazard performance or abuse for personal gain and dereliction of duty by a few staff members.

" The key focus of this special supervisory action will the public security organs failing to open a case when they should, administrative law enforcement organs failing to transfer a case when they should, and the use of administrative punishments when criminal penalties should be used." Chen Zhengyun said that the procuratorate organs will conduct key, focussed supervision of administrative punishments and administrative enforcement cases to discover the abuses of public office behind them and look into criminal cases that on the surface are crimes of polluting the environment or endangering the people's livelihood, but actually involve state personnel giving protection or involved in crimes of abuse of office.

Chen Zhengyun said that in some criminal cases in the food safety area, it is possible that because of factors such as the amount in question being too low, or the harm being too minor, a case will not be opened, not prosecuted, revoked or punishment will be excused, and that prosecutors should give warnings and have discussions as 'immunization', preventing small mistakes becoming major mistakes, small cases becoming major cases. For assessment and review of major administrative enforcement acts and bases for enforcement, move the opportunities for prevention forward and effectively prevent the dereliction of duty in areas including the food safety management.

"Through concentrating a brief period on launching a special supervisory action on case filing, creating renown in combating food and drug safety crimes and deterring criminals' arrogance, advancing strict and just law enforcement, and promoting the establishment of mechanisms for long-term cohesion between the administrative law enforcement and criminal justice." Finally, Zhang Becai said that we must make the public feel the resolution of justice sector organs in fighting crime, strengthening faith in the construction of a peaceful and beautiful China. --Beijing, February 27

 

About China Law Translate 831 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Press "Enter" to skip to content

Procuratorate to Move Against Environment and Food Safety Crimes

http://www.legaldaily.com.cn/index_article/content/2014-02/27/content_5316004.htm

法制网北京2月27日讯 记者蒋皓 最高人民检察院今天通报称,全国检察机关始终将打击危害民生刑事犯罪摆到突出位置,以危害食品药品安全犯罪和破坏环境资源犯罪为例,2013年,共批捕上述两类犯罪9277件13495人,同比分别增长23%和12%。

2013年4月到12月,最高检部署开展危害民生专项立案监督活动,共监督行政执法机关移送各类危害民生犯罪案件4290件5409人,监督公安机关立案3148件3984人共向反贪污贿赂和渎职侵权检察部门移送相关职务犯罪线索132件156人。 从犯罪类别看,数量最多的是食品药品和环境资源两个领域,占到总数的半数以上。

cow gas mask据介绍,最高检通过挂牌督办重大案件、派员实地督导、加强个案指导、召开推进会、转发经验做法等方式推动民生专项立案监督活动的落实。 不少省级检察院也会同公安厅、政府法制办和相关行政执法部门组成督导组进行督办,保证了专项监督活动的成效。

最高检职务犯罪预防厅副厅长陈正云表示,食品安全领域腐败涉及到的职务犯罪主要包括玩忽职守、滥用职权、徇私舞弊。 要结合具体办案抓好预防食品安全领域的职务犯罪,让监管人员认识到食品安全犯罪对国家、人民及本人的危害性,树立道德底线不能破和法治红线不能逾的意识。

今年将专项监督食品环境犯罪最高检严查民生案“保护伞” □本报记者 蒋皓

“多日的雾霾已散尽,我们终于迎来了久违的蓝天。 很高兴在这样的天气召开新闻发布会。 ”2月27日,在最高人民检察院召开的2013年全国检察机关危害民生刑事犯罪专项立案监督新闻发布会上,最高检新闻发言人张本才这样一句开场白引起在场所有人的共鸣。

张本才表示,危害民生犯罪,特别是环境资源、食品药品安全领域的犯罪,严重危害广大人民群众生命财产安全、影响社会和谐稳定,人民群众对此反映强烈。

《法制日报》记者了解到,目前在以破坏环境资源和危害食品药品安全为代表的民生领域犯罪中,一些行政执法机关有案不移、有案不立、以罚代刑等问题仍然比较突出。 为解决这一问题,最高检2013年部署开展为期9个月的专项立案监督活动,挂牌督办432件重大民生案件,其中多数案件与危害食品药品安全犯罪、破坏环境资源犯罪相关,起到极大震慑作用。 专项活动的开展,一定程度上遏制了一些地方危害民生刑事犯罪多发的势头。

2014年,最高检决定在巩固2013年专项活动成果基础上,进一步突出聚焦破坏环境资源和危害食品药品安全两类严重犯罪,部署开展为期8个月的专项立案监督活动。

“立案监督是检察机关对诉讼活动进行监督的一项重要日常工作,但专项行动主要是针对某一段时间、某一类犯罪存在高发或者在某一类案件的查处中存在着不严格执法问题相对严重的情况,集中精力开展监督。 ”最高检侦察监督厅厅长万春表示,检察机关有对行政执法机关移送涉嫌犯罪案件提出检察意见的权力,但包括食品药品领域的执法和环保领域的执法都由行政执法机关作为“第一手”,他们查处案件时认为涉嫌犯罪的才向公安机关进行移送。 近年来,检察机关几乎每年都开展专项监督立案活动,重点就是想通过开展专项监督加大对移送、立案的监督力度,作为突破口来推动行政执法与刑事司法衔接机制的健全和完善。

“2014年的专项监督活动特别要求各级检察院,加强排查本辖区内容易发生这两类犯罪案件的易发、多发领域、行业、部位、人群。 ”万春说,同时检察机关要广辟案源,加强与公安机关和行政执法机关的协调配合,对于辖区内污染水源、排污企业、制售假冒伪劣产品的高发区域、小作坊进行拉网式排查,增强打击的针对性和实效性,“也欢迎广大群众通过12309网上举报平台提供案件线索”。

对于有关监管人员对群众举报线索充耳不闻、视而不见以及查处后不处罚的情况,最高检职务犯罪预防厅副厅长陈正云表示,这种现象的根本原因在于一些工作人员存在不作为、乱作为或者徇私舞弊、失职渎职现象。

“这次专项活动要将公安机关应当立案而不立案、行政执法机关应当移送案件却不移送、以行政处罚代替追究刑事责任的情况作为监督重点。 ”陈正云表示,检察机关要通过对行政处罚、行政执法案件进行有重点、有针对性地监督发现背后一些职务犯罪,查处表面是污染环境、危害民生的刑事案件,实际上却是“保护伞”或者涉嫌职务犯罪的国家工作人员。

陈正云表示,对于一些食品安全领域涉嫌犯罪的案件,有可能因为数额不够、后果不够严重因素不立案、不起诉、撤案、免予刑罚处罚的,检察机关要进行告诫、谈话,打“预防针”,防止由小错变大错、小案变大案。 对重大行政执法行为和重大行政执法依据可能产生腐败风险的评估审查,使预防关口更加前移,有效避免包括食品安全生产监管领域有关渎职犯罪的产生。

“通过集中一段时间开展专项立案监督活动,形成打击破坏环境资源、危害食品药品安全犯罪的声威,震慑犯罪分子的嚣张气焰,促进严格公正执法,推进行政执法与刑事司法衔接长效机制建设。 ”张本才最后说,要使人民群众感受到司法机关打击犯罪的决心,增强建设平安中国、美丽中国的信心。 本报北京2月27日讯

 

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Print this entry

CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Translate