Opinions of the General Office of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism on Strengthening the Protection of Minors in the Online Cultural Market

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS. PAGES WITHOUT IMAGES ARE WORKS IN PROGRESS.

English中文(简体)

Promulgation Date: 2021-11-29
Title: Opinions of the General Office of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism on Strengthening the Protection of Minors in the Online Cultural Market
Document Number:办市场发〔2021〕211号
Expiration date: 
Promulgating Entities:Office of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism
Source of text: http://zwgk.mct.gov.cn/zfxxgkml/scgl/202112/t20211201_929516.html

To all provincial, autonomous region, or directly governed municipality Departments (Bureaus) for culture and tourism and the Bureau for culture, sports, radio, television, and tourism of the Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps:

In recent years, online cultural markets such as for online performances, online music, online animation, online performances (programs), and online artworks have developed rapidly, creating positive social and economic benefits, enriching the cultural life of the masses, and boosting the development of the digital economy. At the same time, in the course of this development, negative phenomena and problems such as 'Elsagate' content [content using characters or surface imagery that appears suitable for minors, but containing images of torture, sexuality, etc.] and profiting from 'child internet celebrities' have existed on some online cultural platforms, have an incorrect impact on minor's values, and seriously harming their healthy growth. The following working opinions are formulated so as to implement the "Law of the People's Republic of China on the Protection of Minors", to thoroughly advance the comprehensive management of the cultural and entertainment fields, to strengthen the protection of minors online, and to ensure the legitimate rights and interests of minors in cyberspace.

I. Strengthen ideological and political guidance

1. Strengthen ideological and political education. Establish and complete mechanisms for training and cultivating practitioners in the online cultural market, coordinate online and offline educational resources, improve curriculum set up, optimize teaching content, strengthen the study of the history of the party, new China, reform and opening history, and socialist development;, and guide practitioners to conscientiously practice the Core Socialist Values, firmly establishing the concept of protection of minors, actively increasing the social benefits of online cultural products, and striving to chaperone the healthy growth of minors.

2. Strengthen the education on the concept of rule of law. Implement the requirement of the responsibility system that 'all those who enforce the law should carry out education on the law', carrying out publicity on the protection of minors in the course of management and law enforcement for the online cultural market industry, using cases to explain and interpret the law, and using management practice and law enforcement cases to strengthen educational and warning efficacy, to truly strengthen online cultural market entities' awareness of legal compliance and lawful business operations.

3. Strengthen education on internet literacy. Guide online cultural market entities in strengthening publicity and education for minors and parents on internet literacy, enhancing minors' awareness and ability to use the internet rationally, civilly, safely, and reasonably. Oversee the performance of obligations to prevent internet addiction in minors by the providers of online cultural products and services, guiding mutual cooperation between related enterprises and industry organizations, and employing rational and reasonable methods to prevent and intervene in minors' internet addiction.

II. Consolidate the responsibilities of market entities

4. Effectively strengthen user identification. Oversee and urge online cultural market entities in increasing capacity for identifying minor users that are not real name verified, using methods such as analyzing users' watched content and behavioral characteristic analysis to strengthen the identification, guidance, and management of minor users. Require that online cultural service providers must not register accounts for livestream publishing for minors under the age of 16, and that in registering of accounts for minors who are at least 16 years old, they shall verify their identity information in accordance with law and obtain their guardians' consent.

5. Strictly protect personal information. Guide online cultural market entities to establish and complete mechanisms for the protection of minors' personal information, and increase the levels of institutionalization, standardization, and legalization of information protections. The handling of minors' personal information shall abide by the principles of legality, propriety, necessity, and creditworthiness, effectively implementing the requirements of the PRC Law on the Protection of Minors and the PRC Personal Information Protection Law regarding the handling, correction, and deletion of minors' information. After receiving notification about experiencing cyberbullying from minors or their parents and other guardians, necessary measures shall be promptly employed to stop the cyberbullying and prevent the spread of information.

6. Resolutely block harmful content. Oversee online cultural market entities in strengthening the establishment of online content, exploring standards for review and assessment of content that is inappropriate for minors, continuously increasing the capacity to identify content models that violate laws and regulations, increasing the professionalism and efficacy of manual reviews, and promptly and forcefully blocking and clearing out harmful content such as that involving cults, sex, illegal proselytization, dangerous conduct, and negative values. Broadcast rooms are prohibited from inducing minors to obtain harmful content by displaying suggestive information such as vulgar pictures, "welfare", [internet jargon for suggestive but not usually pornographic images] and "materials", or displaying private contact methods such as phone numbers, WeChat ID, and QR codes.

7. It is strictly forbidden to use "child internet celebrities” for profit. Stricly manage and control minors' participation in online performances, and strictly and lawfully punish livestream or short video accounts that have minors appear on camera, either alone or with an adult, for longer than a set period of time that are found to be using the minor to accumulate fame or to seek benefits, and accounts that have minor models take indecent poses, make sexually suggestive actions, and so forth to draw traffic or promote products for benefits.

8. Effectively regulate "cash tips." Online cultural entities must not stir up income for online performances through means such as tip rankings and fake publicity, and must not use methods such as fake spending and tip seeding to induce spending by minors' accounts. Guide online cultural market entities to regulate minor's power to add money for tipping, promoting the establishment and optimization of mechanisms for identifying minors' use of adult accounts to add money for tipping, and expand the extent of the comprehensive analysis and collection of electronic evidence, to bring about quick handling and compensation.

9. Continue to optimize function settings. Guide online cultural market entities to establish “minor protection modes” in accordance with law, setting up protection mechanisms or minors using their services such as password locks, time locks, spending restrictions, behavior tracking, uninstallation and reinstallation inheritance (anti-bypass), and promptly preventing and blocking vulnerabilities such as pirating accounts, fraudulently using accounts, and account borrowing. Develop and use functions such as for 'independent authorization by guardians', to better support parents and platforms collaborative management and safeguarding of minors healthy use of the internet.

III. Increase the Force of Industry Regulation

10. Strive to standardize administrative approvals. Implement the requirements of the reform of “streamlining administration and improving services” and the newly revised Handbook for Approvals of Internet Cultural Business Units to further regulate approvals of business permits for online cultural units, and strengthen content reviews of imported online cultural products. Implement the Regulations on the Management of For-profit Performances and the Measures on the Management of Online Performance Management Establishments to regulate administrative approvals for online performance management establishments, further clarify the duties of online performance management establishments in areas such as management activities, arranging performance content, and drawing fans, and increase the operational capacity of managers and the quality of management services.

11. Research improvements in the regulatory systems. Strengthen investigative research into the online cultural market, giving play to the role of experts and scholars as 'external brainpower', paying close attention to the development and changes in the market and technology, promptly tracking and assessing the content of relevant products and services, monitoring industry movement and development trends, carrying out prospective research on the protection of minors in the online cultural market, and formulating factors, standards, and scales for identifying information that might impact minors' physical and psychological health to increase the effectiveness of identifying harmful content and improve relevant regulatory requirements.

12. Effectively clear channels for making reports. Give full play to the role of the National Reporting Platform for the Cultural Market, to strengthen the acceptance of reports in the cultural market. Guide online cultural market entities to strictly implement real-name verification, add "contains inappropriate content" feedback buttons for quick reporting, and further increase the traceability of content that violates laws and regulations. Encourage online cultural enterprises to set up external reward mechanisms for reporting, and open a special reporting portal related to the protection of minors.

13. Continue to strengthen inspections and law enforcement. Strengthen ex-ante and ongoing regulation of the online cultural market, strengthening guidance and oversight of online cultural enterprises' review of content, continuously carrying out online inspections and random spot checks. Strengthen law enforcement in the online cultural market, implementing the Notification of Efforts to Strengthen the Implementation of the PRC Law on the Protection of Minors in the Area of the Cultural Marketplace, to promptly investigate and handle cases, publicize example cases, and increase the transparency and credibility of law enforcement. Carry out unscheduled special actions on cleaning up and correcting negative information related to minors in the online cultural market, strengthening inspections, focusing regulation, and strictly investigating and addressing online cultural business units for which there are a larger number of reports,

14. Increase the degree of credit regulation. Continue to carry out the exposition and publicity on the "Provisions on the Credit Management in the Culture and Tourism Market". Designate eligible online cultural market entities and workers as untrustworthy entities in accordance with laws and regulations, and implement credit management. Make information on untrustworthiness a basis of consideration in administrative management and public services.

IV. Optimize the Establishment of Online Content

15. Enhance positive value guidance. Give play to the power of role models, strengthen publicity on positive examples, and on the foundation of resolutely addressing negative content such as showing off wealth and worshiping monkey, extravagant indulgence, spotlighting sorrow, and "distorted aesthetics", actively organize and plan a series of positive energy communication projects producing and promoting a wave exceptional products publicizing persons doing good and respecting models of heroes; and encourage platform enterprises to give more opportunities and traffic to online hosts and practitioners who actively promote positive energy, to guide minors to establish correct values.

16. Enrich the supply of high-quality content. Continue to expand the supply of exceptional content in the content pool for 'minor mode', building a content system that is age-appropriate and diverse, exploring cooperation with schools of higher learning, scientific research institutions, museums and cultural institutions, arts establishments, and so forth to create exceptional content suited to minors' age stage and satisfying minors' developmental needs, to enrich the spiritual life of minors. Take multiple measures to encourage and guide minor users' to consume online cultural content that has informational and exploratory value.

V. Guiding and Strengthening Industry Self-Discipline

17. Actively carry out ethics deliberations. Actively give play to the role of industry associations, drafting measures for the self-discipline management of workers in the online cultural market, strengthening the establishment of industry professional ethics committees by clarifying work procedures and actively carrying out ethics deliberations, and promptly conducting industry boycotts of industry enterprises and personnel that violate laws and ethics, or enable conduct that violates laws and ethics.

18. Regulate the management of online hosts. Guide relevant industry associations to establish cross-platform mechanisms for joint dispositions based on the Specifications for Warning Online hosts and Managing Comebacks, to employ warning measures against online hosts that publish audio or video content that seriously violates laws and regulations or goes against good public customs, and has a vile social impact, cutting off 'problem hosts' channels for broadcasting harmful information at the source.

Office of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism

November 29, 2021

 

About China Law Translate 1229 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

文化和旅游部办公厅关于加强网络文化市场未成年人保护工作的意见

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS. PAGES WITHOUT IMAGES ARE WORKS IN PROGRESS.

English中文(简体)

【颁布时间】2021-11-29
【标题】文化和旅游部办公厅关于加强网络文化市场未成年人保护工作的意见
【发文号】办市场发〔2021〕211号
【失效时间】
【颁布单位】文化和旅游部办公厅
【法规来源】http://zwgk.mct.gov.cn/zfxxgkml/scgl/202112/t20211201_929516.html

各省、自治区、直辖市文化和旅游厅(局),新疆生产建设兵团文化体育广电和旅游局:

近年来,网络表演、网络音乐、网络动漫、网络演出剧(节)目、网络艺术品等网络文化市场快速发展,创造了良好的社会效益和经济效益,丰富了群众文化生活,拉动了数字经济发展。 同时,在发展过程中,部分网络文化平台存在“儿童邪典”内容、利用“网红儿童”牟利等不良现象和问题,对未成年人价值观产生错误影响,严重妨害未成年人健康成长。 为贯彻落实《中华人民共和国未成年人保护法》,深入推进文娱领域综合治理,加强未成年人网络保护,保障未成年人在网络空间的合法权益,特制定如下工作意见。

一、强化思想政治引领

1.加强思想政治教育。 建立健全网络文化市场从业人员培训培养机制,统筹线上线下教育资源,改进课程设置、优化教学内容,强化党史、新中国史、改革开放史、社会主义发展史学习,引导从业人员自觉践行社会主义核心价值观,牢固树立未成年人保护理念,主动提升网络文化产品社会效益,着力护航未成年人健康成长。

2.加强法治观念教育。 落实“谁执法、谁普法”普法责任制要求,在网络文化市场行业管理、执法的过程中开展未成年人保护法治宣传,以案说法、以案释法,用管理实践、执法案例强化教育警示效果,切实增强网络文化市场主体遵规守法、合法经营的意识。

3.加强网络素养教育。 指导网络文化市场主体加强未成年人及家长网络素养宣传教育,增强未成年人科学、文明、安全、合理使用网络的意识和能力。 监督网络文化产品和服务提供者履行预防未成年人沉迷网络的义务,指导相关企业、行业组织互相配合,采取科学、合理的方式对未成年人沉迷网络进行预防和干预。

二、压实市场主体责任

4.切实强化用户识别。 督促网络文化市场主体提高识别未实名认证未成年人用户账号能力,通过用户观看内容分析、行为特征研判等方法,强化对未成年用户的识别、引导和管理。 要求网络文化服务提供者不得为未满十六周岁的未成年人提供网络直播发布者账号注册服务,对年满十六周岁的未成年人提供注册服务应当依法认证身份信息并征得监护人同意。

5.严格保护个人信息。 指导网络文化市场主体建立健全未成年人个人信息保护机制,提高信息保护制度化、规范化、法治化水平。 通过网络处理未成年人个人信息,应当遵循合法、正当、必要和诚信原则,有效落实《中华人民共和国未成年人保护法》《中华人民共和国个人信息保护法》关于处理、更正、删除未成年人信息的要求。 接到遭受网络欺凌的未成年人及其父母或者其他监护人的通知后,应当及时采取必要的措施制止网络欺凌行为,防止信息扩散。

6.坚决阻断有害内容。 督促网络文化市场主体加强网络内容建设,探索建立未成年人不适宜接触内容的审核判断标准,持续提升违法违规内容模型识别能力,提高人工审核专业性和有效性,及时有力屏蔽、清理涉邪典、色情、非法传教、危险行为、不良价值观等有害内容。 禁止直播间通过展示低俗图片、“福利”、“资料”等暗示性信息和电话号码、微信号、二维码等私密联系方式诱导未成年前往获取有害内容。

7.严禁借“网红儿童”牟利。 严管严控未成年人参与网络表演,对出现未成年人单独出镜或者由成年人携带出镜超过一定时长且经核定为借助未成年人积累人气、谋取利益的直播间或者短视频账号,或者利用儿童模特摆出不雅姿势、做性暗示动作等吸引流量、带货牟利的账号依法予以严肃处理。

8.有效规范“金钱打赏”。 网络文化市场主体不得以打赏排名、虚假宣传等方式炒作网络表演者收入,不得以虚假消费、带头打赏等方式诱导未成年人用户消费。 引导网络文化市场主体依法对未成年人充值打赏权限进行规范,推动建立并优化未成年人借助成年人账号充值打赏的识别认定机制,加大电子证据综合分析采集力度,实现快处快赔。

9.持续优化功能设置。 指导网络文化市场主体依法建立“未成年人保护模式”,针对未成年人使用其服务设置密码锁、时间锁、消费限制、行为追踪以及卸载重装继承(防绕开)等保护机制,及时防堵盗用、冒用、借用账号等漏洞。 开发利用“监护人独立授权”等功能,更好地支持家长和平台共同管理和保障未成年人健康上网。

三、加大行业监管力度

10.着力规范行政审批。 落实“放管服”改革要求,落实新修订的《经营性互联网文化单位审批业务手册》,进一步规范网络文化单位经营许可审批,加强进口互联网文化产品内容审查。 落实《营业性演出管理条例》《网络表演经纪机构管理办法》,规范演出经纪机构行政审批,进一步明确演出经纪机构在经纪行为、演出内容安排、粉丝引导等方面的工作职责,提高经纪人员业务能力和经纪服务质量。

11.研究完善监管制度。 加强网络文化市场调查研究,发挥专家学者“外脑”作用,密切关注市场和技术发展变化,及时跟踪研判相关产品和服务内容,监测行业动向和发展趋势,开展网络文化市场未成年人保护工作前瞻性研究,制定可能影响未成年人身心健康的信息的辨识要素、标准和尺度,提高有害内容识别有效性,完善相关监管要求。

12.切实畅通举报渠道。 充分发挥全国文化市场举报平台作用,加强网络文化市场举报受理。 指导网络文化市场主体严格落实实名认证,增加“包含不适内容”的快捷举报反馈按钮,进一步增强违法违规内容的可追责性。 鼓励网络文化企业设置外部举报奖励机制,开通未成年人保护相关的专项举报入口。

13.持续强化巡查执法。 强化网络文化市场事前事中监管,加强对网络文化企业内容审核的指导和监督,持续开展网络巡查和随机抽查。 强化网络文化市场执法,落实《关于在文化市场执法领域加强〈中华人民共和国未成年人保护法〉贯彻实施工作的通知》,及时查办案件,公开宣传典型案例,提高执法透明度和公信力。 不定期开展网络文化市场涉未成年人不良信息清理整治专项行动,对举报较多的网络文化经营单位,要加强检查、重点监管、从严查处。

14.加大信用监管力度。 持续开展《文化和旅游市场信用管理规定》内容解读和宣贯。 依法依规将符合条件的网络文化市场主体及从业人员认定为文化市场失信主体,并实施信用管理。 将失信信息作为相关行政管理、公共服务等的参考依据。

四、优化网络内容建设

15.增强正向价值引导。 发挥榜样力量,加强正面典型宣传,在坚决处置炫富拜金、奢靡享乐、卖惨“审丑”等不良内容的基础上,积极组织策划系列正能量传播项目,制作推广一批宣传功勋人物、尊崇英雄模范的优秀作品,鼓励平台企业对积极弘扬正能量的网络主播、从业人员给予更多机会和流量,引导未成年人树立正确价值观。

16.丰富优质内容供给。 持续加大“未成年人模式”下内容池的优质内容供给,搭建适龄化、多样化的内容体系,探索与高校、科研机构、文博机构、艺术机构等合作打造适合未成年人年龄阶段、满足未成年人成长需求的优质内容,充实未成年人的精神生活。 多措并举鼓励和引导未成年人用户消费有信息价值、探索价值的网络文化内容。

五、指导加强行业自律

17.积极开展道德评议。 积极发挥行业协会作用,制定网络文化市场从业人员自律管理办法,加强行业职业道德委员会建设,明确工作程序、积极开展道德评议,及时对违法失德人员及纵容违法失德行为的行业企业、从业人员进行行业联合抵制。

18.规范网络主播管理。 指导有关行业协会依据《网络主播警示和复出管理规范》建立跨平台联动处置机制,对发布含有严重违法违规、违背公序良俗且社会影响恶劣音视频内容的网络主播采取警示措施,从源头切断“问题主播”传播有害信息路径。

文化和旅游部办公厅

2021年11月29日

 

About China Law Translate 1179 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*