Project Plan for Reform Pilots on Procuratorates Initiating Public Interest Litigation

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

Title: Project Plan for Reform Pilots on Procuratorates Initiating Public Interest Litigation

Promulgating Entities:Supreme People's Procuratorate

Reference number:

Promulgation Date: 2015-7-2

Expiration date:

Source of text: http://news.xinhuanet.com/legal/2015-07/02/c_1115792543.htm

 

Project Plan for Reform Pilots on Procuratorates Initiating Public Interest Litigation

Supreme People's Procuratorate

In order to implement the reform requirement of the Fourth Plenary Session of the 18th Party Central Committee on exploring the establishment of a system where procuratorial organs initiate public interest litigations, the following Plan is proposed on the reform pilot of procuratorial organs initiating public interest litigations:

I. Objectives and Principles

In accordance with the reforms and deployments of the Decision of the Central Committee on Several Major Issues Concerning Comprehensively Advancing Ruling the Country According to Law, actively explore the establishment of a system of procuratorial organs initiating public interest litigation, giving full play to procuratorial organs' function of legal supervision, so as to promote administration according to law and strict enforcement of the law, uphold the authority of the Constitution and laws, maintain social fairness and justice, and defend the public interest of the nation and society.

(1) Adhere to the correct direction of reform. Adhere to the organic unity of the party's leadership, the people as masters and governance in accordance with law, to development and improve the socialist procuratorial system with Chinese characteristics, unswervingly following the path of Socialism with Chinese characteristics.

(2) Have a basis in the function of legal supervision. Adhere to the position of prosecutorial functions; have a firm grasp of the requirements for initiating public interest litigation and its scope and procedures; strengthen the protection of the public interest, and also strictly regulate the exercise of prosecutorial power.

(3) Effectively protect public interest. Promptly initiate public interest civil and administrative litigation addressing violations of national and societal public interest directed at the ecological environment and resource protection, strengthening protections of the national and societal public interest.

(4) Orderly proceed in strict accordance with law. On the basis of the relevant provisions of laws such as the Civil Procedure Law, Administrative Litigation Law, and the Standing Committee of the N.P.C.'s Authorization Decision, ensure that the reform pilot is conducted within the framework of laws and the scope of the authorization, to safeguard the uniformity and the authority of the legal system.

II. Principal Content

(1) Initiating Civil Public Interest Litigations

1. Scope of the Pilot Plan. Procuratorates that, in the course of performing their duties, discover conducts harming societal public interest such as polluting the environment or violating the the lawful rights of many consumers in the areas of food or drug safety, may initiate civil public interest litigation in the people's courts where there is no competent entity or where the competent entity does not initiate litigation.

2. Litigation Participants. Procuratorates initiating civil public interest litigation have the status of public interest litigants. The defendants in civil public interest litigation are citizens, legal persons or other organizations that have carried out conduct harmful to the societal public interest. The defendant has no right to a counterclaim where the procuratorate initiates public interest civil litigation.

3. Pretrial Procedures. Before procuratorial organs file a civil public interest lawsuit, they shall, according to law, urge or support authorities specified by law or relevant organizations to file a civil public interest lawsuit. The institution prescribed by law or the relevant organization receiving an opinion of encouragement or support to bring suit shall handle it according to law within one month, and submit a written reply to the procuratorial organ in a timely manner.

4. Initiating Litigation. After completing the pre-litigation procedures, if the authorities prescribed by law and relevant organizations have not filed a civil public interest lawsuit, and society's public interest is still being violated, the procuratorial organ may file a civil public interest lawsuit. When initiating civil public interest litigations, the procuratorates shall have specific defendants, litigation demands, and preliminary evidence that societal public interest is being harmed, and shall make public interest litigation bills of complaint.

5. Litigation Demands. Procuratorates may submit litigation demands to the people's court such as requesting that the defendant stop violations, eliminate obstacles, remove harms, restore original conditions, make compensation for harms, or make formal apologies.

(2) Initiating Administrative Public Interest Litigation

1. Scope of the Pilot Plan. Where procuratorial organs discover, in the course of carrying out their duties, that administrative organs responsible for areas such as supervision and management of ecological, environmental and resource protection, state-owned assets protection, and state-owned land use rights and transfers have unlawfully exercised their authorities or failed to act, causing an infringement of the national and social public interest, and because citizens, legal persons or other organizations are not directly harmed they do not or cannot initiate litigation, the procuratorial organ may file an administrative public interest lawsuit in the people's court. During the pilots, the focus is on initiating public interest litigation cases in the areas f ecological environmental and resource protection

2. Litigation Participants. Procuratorates initiating public interest administrative litigation have the status of public interest litigants. The defendants in administrative public interest litigation are administrative departments; as well as organizations authorized by laws, regulations or rules; that exercise powers unlawfully, or fail to act, in areas such as ecological and environmental protection, protection of State assets, and transfer of state-owned land usage rights.

3. Pretrial Procedures. Before initiating public interest litigation, procuratorates shall first submit a procuratorate opinion to the relevant administrative department, urging it to correct unlawful administrative conduct or perform its duties in accordance with law. The administrative organ shall take care of it in accordance with law with one month of receiving the written procuratorate opinion, and promptly report back in writing to the procuratorate on the handling.

4. Initiating Litigation. After pre-trial procedures, if the administrative organs still refuse to correct illegal acts or to carry out legally prescribed duties, and the State's and the society's public interest is still being violated, the procuratorates may initiate administrative public interest litigations. When initiating administrative public interest litigations, the procuratorates shall have specific defendants, litigation demands, and preliminary evidence that the State's and the society's public interest is being harmed, and shall make public interest litigation bills of complaint.

5. Litigation Demands. Procuratorates may submit litigation demands to the people's court such as for annullment or partial annulment of unlawful administrative conduct, performance of administrative duties within a set time period, or confirming the illegality or invalidity of administrative conduct.

(3) Other Matters

1. During the pilot period, where local people's procuratorates decide to initiate public interest litigation in the people's courts, they shall first first report up through the levels to the Supreme People's Procuratorate for review and approval.

2. Procuratorates raising public interest litigation are exempted from paying litigation fees.

3. In initiating public interest litigation, where there are no relevant provisions in the Pilot Plan, apply provisions of the Civil Procedure Law, Administrative Procedure Law, and relevant judicial interpretations.

III. Implementation of the Plan

(1) Authorization by the legislature. Submit to the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress for authorization in June 2015, and conduct reform pilot starting in July 2015; the duration of pilot is two years.

(2) Actively carry out pilot. In July 2015, formulate and publish pilot Implementation Measureson the basis of the N.P.C. Standing Committee Authorization and the Reform Pilot Plan, and select the 13 provinces, autonomous regions, and directly-controlled municipalities of Beijing, Inner Mongolia, Jilin, Jiangsu, Anhui, Fujian, Shandong, Hubei, Guangdong, Guizhou, Yunnan, Shaanxin, and Gansu to launch the pilot

(3) Promote revision and improvement of relevant laws. Promptly summarize the experience and the results of the pilot, and actively promote the revision and improvement of relevant laws.

IV. Work Requirements

First, adhere to the overall plan. Strengthen top-level design, establishing basic systems and regulation for procuratorates initiating public interest litigation , overall planning and a specific timetables and road maps. In accordance with the capacity for reproduction and spreading, pilot regions are encouraged to bring a pioneering spirit into play, and promote systems innovation.

Second, proceed actively but prudently. When exploring the establishment of a system where procuratorates initiate public interest litigations, promote actively and strengthen the guidance and the supervision of the pilot programs, as well as remain prudent and careful and strictly follow procedures so as to ensure the unity of legal and social effects. Mature experience should gradually take form, and then again promote legislative improvements.

Third, strengthen coordination and cooperation. All pilot project units should strengthen reporting instructions, communication and coordination, actively striving to get the support of local party committees, people's congresses, governments and relevant departments, establishing mechanisms for coordination and cooperation with the people's courts, and jointly advancing the steady development of pilot project work.

Fourth, pay attention to publicity and guidance. Both promptly publicize positive experiences, good methods and achievements from the reform pilots, and also have a firm grasp on publicity tactics, strict publicity discipline and correct guidance of social expectations, so as to create a positive public opinion environment for the reform pilots.

About China Law Translate 725 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Press "Enter" to skip to content

检察机关提起公益诉讼改革试点方案

【法规标题】检察机关提起公益诉讼改革试点方案

【颁布单位】最高人民检察院

【发文字号】

【颁布时间】2015-7-2

【失效时间】

【法规来源】http://news.xinhuanet.com/legal/2015-07/02/c_1115792543.htm

 

检察机关提起公益诉讼改革试点方案

最高人民检察院

为贯彻落实党的十八届四中全会关于探索建立检察机关提起公益诉讼制度的改革要求,现就检察机关提起公益诉讼改革试点提出如下方案。 

一、目标和原则

按照《中共中央关于全面推进依法治国若干重大问题的决定》的改革部署,积极探索建立检察机关提起公益诉讼制度,充分发挥检察机关法律监督职能作用,促进依法行政、严格执法,维护宪法法律权威,维护社会公平正义,维护国家和社会公共利益。 

(一)坚持改革正确方向。  坚持党的领导、人民当家作主和依法治国的有机统一,发展完善中国特色社会主义检察制度,坚定不移走中国特色社会主义法治道路。 

(二)立足法律监督职能。  坚持检察机关职能定位,把握提起公益诉讼的条件、范围和程序,既强化对公共利益的保护,又严格规范行使检察权。 

(三)有效保护公共利益。  针对生态环境和资源保护等领域侵害国家和社会公共利益的情况,及时提起民事或行政公益诉讼,加强对国家和社会公共利益的保护。 

(四)严格依法有序推进。  根据民事诉讼法、行政诉讼法等法律的有关规定和全国人大常委会的授权决定,确保改革试点在法律框架和授权范围内开展,维护法制的统一和权威。 

二、主要内容

(一)提起民事公益诉讼

1. 试点案件范围。  检察机关在履行职责中发现污染环境、食品药品安全领域侵害众多消费者合法权益等损害社会公共利益的行为,在没有适格主体或者适格主体不提起诉讼的情况下,可以向人民法院提起民事公益诉讼。 

2. 诉讼参加人。  检察机关以公益诉讼人身份提起民事公益诉讼。  民事公益诉讼的被告是实施损害社会公共利益行为的公民、法人或者其他组织。  检察机关提起民事公益诉讼,被告没有反诉权。 

3. 诉前程序。  检察机关在提起民事公益诉讼之前,应当依法督促或者支持法律规定的机关或有关组织提起民事公益诉讼。  法律规定的机关或者有关组织应当在收到督促或者支持起诉意见书后一个月内依法办理,并将办理情况及时书面回复检察机关。 

4. 提起诉讼。  经过诉前程序,法律规定的机关和有关组织没有提起民事公益诉讼,社会公共利益仍处于受侵害状态的,检察机关可以提起民事公益诉讼。  检察机关提起民事公益诉讼,应当有明确的被告、具体的诉讼请求、社会公共利益受到损害的初步证据,并应当制作公益诉讼起诉书。 

5. 诉讼请求。  检察机关可以向人民法院提出要求被告停止侵害、排除妨碍、消除危险、恢复原状、赔偿损失、赔礼道歉等诉讼请求。 

(二)提起行政公益诉讼

1. 试点案件范围。  检察机关在履行职责中发现生态环境和资源保护、国有资产保护、国有土地使用权出让等领域负有监督管理职责的行政机关违法行使职权或者不作为,造成国家和社会公共利益受到侵害,公民、法人和其他社会组织由于没有直接利害关系,没有也无法提起诉讼的,可以向人民法院提起行政公益诉讼。  试点期间,重点是对生态环境和资源保护领域的案件提起行政公益诉讼。 

2. 诉讼参加人。  检察机关以公益诉讼人身份提起行政公益诉讼。  行政公益诉讼的被告是生态环境和资源保护、国有资产保护、国有土地使用权出让等领域违法行使职权或者不作为的行政机关,以及法律、法规、规章授权的组织。 

3. 诉前程序。  在提起行政公益诉讼之前,检察机关应当先行向相关行政机关提出检察建议,督促其纠正违法行政行为或者依法履行职责。  行政机关应当在收到检察建议书后一个月内依法办理,并将办理情况及时书面回复检察机关。 

4. 提起诉讼。  经过诉前程序,行政机关拒不纠正违法行为或者不履行法定职责,国家和社会公共利益仍处于受侵害状态的,检察机关可以提起行政公益诉讼。  检察机关提起行政公益诉讼,应当有明确的被告、具体的诉讼请求、国家和社会公共利益受到侵害的初步证据,并应当制作公益诉讼起诉书。 

5. 诉讼请求。  检察机关可以向人民法院提出撤销或者部分撤销违法行政行为、在一定期限内履行法定职责、确认行政行为违法或者无效等诉讼请求。 

(三)其他事项

1. 试点期间,地方人民检察院拟决定向人民法院提起公益诉讼的,应当先行层报最高人民检察院审查批准。 

2. 提起公益诉讼,检察机关免缴诉讼费。 

3. 提起公益诉讼,试点方案没有规定的,适用民事诉讼法、行政诉讼法及相关司法解释的规定。 

三、方案实施

(一)立法机关授权。  提请全国人大常委会2015年6月授权,自2015年7月起开展改革试点,试点期限为两年。 

(二)积极开展试点。  2015年7月,根据全国人大常委会的授权和改革试点方案,制定出台试点实施办法,并选择北京、内蒙古、吉林、江苏、安徽、福建、山东、湖北、广东、贵州、云南、陕西、甘肃13个省、自治区、直辖市开展试点。 

(三)推动相关法律修改完善。  及时总结试点经验和成效,积极推动相关法律的修改完善。 

四、工作要求

一要坚持统筹谋划。  加强顶层设计,确立检察机关提起公益诉讼的基本制度和规范,统筹规划具体时间表和路线图。  按照可复制、可推广的要求,鼓励试点地区发挥首创精神,推动制度创新。 

二要积极稳妥推进。  探索建立检察机关提起公益诉讼制度,既要积极推动,加强对试点工作的指导和督促;又要稳妥慎重,严格程序,努力确保法律效果和社会效果的统一。  要逐步形成成熟的经验,再推动立法完善。 

三要加强协调配合。  各试点单位要加强请示报告和沟通协调,积极争取地方党委、人大、政府和有关部门的支持,建立与人民法院的协调配合机制,共同推进改革试点工作稳步开展。 

四要注重宣传引导。  既要及时宣传改革试点的好经验、好做法和取得的成效;又要把握宣传策略,严格宣传纪律,正确引导社会预期,为改革试点营造良好的舆论环境。 

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Print this entry

CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Translate