SPC, SPP MPS procedural rules for Internet Crimes

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

Supreme People's Court Supreme People's Procuratorate Ministry of Public Security
Opinion on Several Issues Regarding the Application of Criminal Procedure in Handling Cases of Internet Crime

Public Announcement [2014] No. 10

High People's Courts, People's Procuratorates and Public Security Departments and Bureaus of all Provinces, Autonomous Regions, Directly Controlled Municipalities, and the High People's Court Production Corps Branch for the XinJiang Uighur Autonomous Region, and the Xinjiang Production Corps Procuratorate and Public Security Bureau:

The following opinions are hereby put forward on the basis of the "Criminal Law of the PRC", The Criminal Procedure Law of the PRC" , related judicial interpretations and regulations along with the experience aggregated in investigation, prosecution and adjudication, so as to resolve new problems and new circumstances encountered in recent years by the public security organs, procurators and courts in handling cases of internet crime and to strictly punish internet criminal activity in accordance with law:

I. Regarding the scope of internet crimes

1. Cases of internet crimes as used in this Opinion include:

(1) Criminal cases endangering the security of computer information systems;

(2) criminal cases of theft, fraud, extortion or other such crimes perpetrated through harm to the security of computer information systems;

(3) Criminal cases of publishing information on networks, or setting up a website or communications group, used primarily to perpetrate criminal activities, that target, organize, abet, or aid an unspecified mass of people to act.

(4) Other criminal cases where the principle criminal conduct occurred online.

II. Regarding Jurisdiction of Internet Crimes

2. Internet crimes are filed and investigated by the public security organ at the site of the crime. When necessary, the public security organ at the site of the suspects domicile may file and investigate.

The site of the crime in an internet case includes such locations as the site of the website server used in the commission of criminal acts, the place the network was entered, the location of the website establisher or manager, the location of the violated computer information system or its managers, the location of the computer information system used by the suspect or victim, the location of the victim at the time of injury, as well as the location of the property that was harmed.

Where cyber crime cases involve multiple sectors, the public security organ at the location or residence of a cybercrime suspect who assisted in the cybercrime can refile the case for investigation and prosecution.

3, In cases of internet crimes where there are multiple sites of the crime, the first public security organ to accept the case or the public security organ at the principle site of the crimes, files the case and investigates. Where there is controversy, the shared public security organ at a level above will designate a public security organ to file the case and investigating, according to the principles of benefiting clarification of the case facts and benefiting litigation.

4, In any of the following circumstances, the relevant public security organ may jointly investigate cases within the scope of their professional duties, and where it is necessary to request approval or arrest, transfer the case to be reviewed for prosecution or indictment, that people's procuratorate and people's court for the region in which that public security organ sits accepts it:

(1) one person commits several crimes;

(2) joint crimes;

(3) a suspect or defendant in a joint also commits other crimes;

(4) There is a connection between crimes committed by multiple suspects or defendants, and joint disposition of the cases is useful for clarifying the case facts.

5, Where online transactions, technical support, financial payments or settlements and other such relationships give form to a multi-level linked and/or cross-regional internet crimes cases, the shared public security organ at the level above may, on the basis of the principles of benefiting clarification of criminal facts and litigation, designate a related public security organ to file and investigate the cases together. When application for approval of arrest, transfer to be reviewed for prosecution and indictment are necessary, the people's procuratorate and people's court for the region where the public security is situated accept it.

6, Where there are special circumstances and case filing and investigation by the public security organ of another location would be more conducive to clarifying case facts and to ensuring fair handling of a cross-provincial (autonomous region or directly controlled municipality major internet crimes case, jurisdiction may be specified by the Ministry of public security in consultation with the Supreme People's Procuratorate and the Supreme People's Court.

7, Where people's procurators reviewing discover that the criminal suspect in an internet crime case transferred by the public security organs to be reviewed for prosecution has committed other crimes that are filed and investigated by another public security organ, they shall notify the public security organ that transferred the case to be reviewed for prosecution.

Where after accepting a case, people's courts discover that a defendant has other crimes that are filed and investigated by another public security organ, they may suggest that the people's procuratorate supplement the investigation. Where upon review the people's procuratorate feels it is necessary to supplement the investigation, it shall notify the public security organ which transferred the case to be review for prosecution.

Upon notification by the people's procuratorate, the relevant public security organs may, based on the specific circumstances of the case, investigate all other crimes committed by the suspect together.

8, So as to ensure the prompt resolution of trial, and avoid extended detention, people's procuratorates discovering they have no jurisdiction over internet crimes cases submitted by the public security organs for approval of arrest or transferred to be reviewed for prosecution, and first-instance people's courts discovering they have no jurisdiction over internet crimes case they have already accepted, may report the situation to the shared procuratorate or court at the level above in accordance with law, for a designation of jurisdiction.

9, In joint internet crimes where some suspects are at large but it does not influence ascertaining the facts of the case as to suspects or defendants already brought into the case, they suspects or defendants already brought into the case may lawfully be tried first. After the joints suspects or defendants on the run are brought into the case, the original public security organ, people's procuratorate and people's court may have jurisdiction of all related cases.

III. Regarding the initial investigation of internet crimes

10、Where during the review of an accepted case or discovered leads, it is found that the facts of the case or leads are unclear and that investigation is necessary before it can be confirmed whether or not it reaches the standard for prosecution, the upon permission of the responsible party at the case handling department, a preliminary investigation may be conducted.

In the course of the preliminary investigation, measures which do not limit the target of investigation's personal or property rights, such as questioning, queries, inspections, appraisals and collection of evidence, may be employed, but compulsory measures must not be taken against the target of the preliminary investigation, nor should their assets be sealed, seized or frozen.

IV. Regarding cross-region evidence gathering in internet crime cases

11, Where public security organs cross jurisdictions to investigate and collect evidence, they may send a case-handling cooperation letter, relevant legal documents and corroboration to the local public security organ by fax or transmit them through the public security organs' information systems. Upon review and confirmation, the cooperating local public security organ may investigate and collect evidence on their behalf after affixing the local seal to the received legal documents.

12, Questioning (interrogation) of witnesses, victims or criminal suspects related to the case, who are in other places, may be done remotely by the case- handling public security organ using online video or other such methods to conduct the questioning (interrogation) and make a record.

Where questioning (interrogation) is remote, the cooperating local police department shall first confirm the identity of the person to be questioned (interrogated). The case-handling public security organ shall transfer the record of the questioning to the cooperating local public security organ. After the person who was questioned (interrogated) has verified the record of the questioning (interrogation), signed each page and affixed a fingerprint, the cooperating public security organ's personnel will sign or affix a seal, and provide the original document to the case-handling public security organ. After the questioners (interrogators) receive the record, they shall clearly write 'received on (day,month,year)" in the upper right hand side and sign or affix their seal.

Where questioning (interrogation) is done remotely, audio or visual recordings shall be made of the entire questioning (interrogation) process, and transfer it with the case.

Where witnesses, victims or suspects related to the case personally write their testimony or confession, proceed with reference to the second clause of this article.

V. Regarding the Collection and Review of Digital Data

13, Collection or gathering of electronic data shall be conducted by two or more investigators possessing specialized knowledge. The equipment and processes for gathering evidence shall meet the relevant technological standards and ensure that the integrity and objectivity of the electronic data gathered or collected.

14, Where in gathering or collecting electronic data, the original storage media can be obtained, it shall be sealed and a record made, and the record of sealing the original storage medium will be signed or have a seal attached by the investigating personnel and the person in possession of the original storage medium. Where the person in possession is unable or refuses to sign, theis shall be noted in the record and a witness will sign or affix their seal. Where there is capacity, investigators shall make audio or video recordings of the related activities.

15, In any of the following situations where it is not possible to obtain the original storage media, electronic data may be collected, but the reason for not collecting the original storage medium, its location and other circumstances shall be noted in the record . The investigating personnel, the person in possession of the electronic data or the person who provided it will sign their names or affix their seals; where the person in possession or providing the electronic data is unable or refuses to sign, this shall be noted in the record and a witness will sign or affix their seal. Where there is capacity, investigators shall make audio or video recordings of the relevant activities.

(1) it is inconvenient to archive the original storage medium;

(2) Data Extracted from computer memory storage, network transmission data, or other such electronic data that is not stored in a storage medium;

(3) the original storage media is located outside the country;

(4) other situations where there is no way to obtain the original storage medium.

16, A record shall be made of the gathering or collection of electronic data, recording the cause of action, the object of the case, its content, and the time, place, means, and process by which the electronic data was collected, and a list of the electronic data, its character, category, document format, integrity check value, and other such information, as well as a list of the persons gathering the evidence or their seals. Where collection of electronic data was done remotely, the reason shall be explained, and where there is capacity, related activities should be recorded as audio or video. An explanation of the process and means shall be made where electronic data which has been deleted, concealed or encrypted is acquired through restoration, unlocking or other such methods.

17, Original storage media or electronic data gathered or collected shall be transferred sealed along with the case, and a reproduction of the electronic data made and sent along as well.

For documents, images, webpages and other electronic data that can be directly displayed, a printout need not be transferred along with the case, but an explanation of the display methods and tools shall be attached. Where people's courts and people's procuratorates are unable to directly display electronic electronic data, because of equipment limitations or other such reasons, the public security organ shall transferred print-outs together with the case.

For electronic data that cannot be directly displayed such as programs, tools or computer viruses used for intruding on or unlawfully controlling computer information systems, an explanation of the nature, function and other circumstances of the electronic data shall be attached.

The public security organs shall issue an explanation of issues such as the volume of data statistics and the equivalence of data.

18, Where the specialization of electronic data makes it difficult to identify, forensic evaluation establishments will issue an appraisal opinion, or an establishment designated by the public security organ will issue an inspection report.

VI. Regarding other problems in internet crimes cases

19, Where materials gathered through use of technical measures are used as evidence, the legal documents authorizing the use of technical measures and all evidentiary materials gatherd shall be sent along with the case. Where use of relevant evidence might endanger relevant persons physical safety or cause other serious consequences, protective measures such as not disclosing persons' identities or using technological methods shall be employed, when necessary, adjudicaotrs may review and affirm evidence outside of court.

20, In cases of targeting, organizing, inciting or aiding an mass of unspecified people in the commission of an internet crime, where due to actual objective limitations, it is not possible to collect all relevant testimony, the relevant facts of the crime may be verified on a consideration of all the evidence in the case, based on electronic data, documents or other evidence recording the number of victims, the number of computer information systems infringed upon, the monetary amounts involved in the case and other such facts, and on the foundation of careful review of explanations and defense opinions submitted by the defendant and his defender.

The Supreme People's Court, Supreme People's Procuratorate, Ministry of Public Security
May 4, 2014

 

About China Law Translate 817 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

SPC, SPP MPS procedural rules for Internet Crimes

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

最高人民法院 最高人民检察院 公安部
关于办理网络犯罪案件适用刑事诉讼程序若干问题的意见

公通字〔2014〕10号

各省、自治区、直辖市高级人民法院,人民检察院,公安厅、局,新疆维吾尔自治区高级人民法院生产兵团分院,新疆生产建设兵团人民检察院、公安局:

为解决近年来公安机关、人民检察院、人民法院在办理网络犯罪案件中遇到的新情况、新问题,依法惩治网络犯罪活动,根据《中华人民共和国刑法》、《中华人民共和国刑事诉讼法》及有关司法解释的规定,结合侦查、起诉、审判实践,现就办理网络犯罪案件适用刑事诉讼程序问题提出以下意见:

一、关于网络犯罪案件的范围

1、本意见所称网络犯罪案件包括:

(1)危害计算机信息系统安全犯罪案件;

(2)通过危害计算机信息系统安全实施的盗窃、诈骗、敲诈勒索等犯罪案件;

(3)在网络上发布信息或者设立主要用于实施犯罪活动的网站、通讯群组,针对或者组织、教唆、帮助不特定多数人实施的犯罪案件;

(4)主要犯罪行为在网络上实施的其他案件。

二、关于网络犯罪案件的管辖

2、网络犯罪案件由犯罪地公安机关立案侦查。 必要时,可以由犯罪嫌疑人居住地公安机关立案侦查。

网络犯罪案件的犯罪地包括用于实施犯罪行为的网站服务器所在地,网络接入地,网站建立者、管理者所在地,被侵害的计算机信息系统或其管理者所在地,犯罪嫌疑人、被害人使用的计算机信息系统所在地,被害人被侵害时所在地,以及被害人财产遭受损失地等。

涉及多个环节的网络犯罪案件,犯罪嫌疑人为网络犯罪提供帮助的,其犯罪地或者居住地公安机关可以立案侦查。

3、有多个犯罪地的网络犯罪案件,由最初受理的公安机关或者主要犯罪地公安机关立案侦查。 有争议的,按照有利于查清犯罪事实、有利于诉讼的原则,由共同上级公安机关指定有关公安机关立案侦查。 需要提请批准逮捕、移送审查起诉、提起公诉的,由该公安机关所在地的人民检察院、人民法院受理。

4、具有下列情形之一的,有关公安机关可以在其职责范围内并案侦查,需要提请批准逮捕、移送审查起诉、提起公诉的,由该公安机关所在地的人民检察院、人民法院受理:

(1)一人犯数罪的;

(2)共同犯罪的;

(3)共同犯罪的犯罪嫌疑人、被告人还实施其他犯罪的;

(4)多个犯罪嫌疑人、被告人实施的犯罪存在关联,并案处理有利于查明案件事实的。

5、对因网络交易、技术支持、资金支付结算等关系形成多层级链条、跨区域的网络犯罪案件,共同上级公安机关可以按照有利于查清犯罪事实、有利于诉讼的原则,指定有关公安机关一并立案侦查,需要提请批准逮捕、移送审查起诉、提起公诉的,由该公安机关所在地的人民检察院、人民法院受理。

6、具有特殊情况,由异地公安机关立案侦查更有利于查清犯罪事实、保证案件公正处理的跨省(自治区、直辖市)重大网络犯罪案件,可以由公安部商最高人民检察院和最高人民法院指定管辖。

7、人民检察院对于公安机关移送审查起诉的网络犯罪案件,发现犯罪嫌疑人还有犯罪被其他公安机关立案侦查的,应当通知移送审查起诉的公安机关。

人民法院受理案件后,发现被告人还有犯罪被其他公安机关立案侦查的,可以建议人民检察院补充侦查。 人民检察院经审查,认为需要补充侦查的,应当通知移送审查起诉的公安机关。

经人民检察院通知,有关公安机关根据案件具体情况,可以对犯罪嫌疑人所犯其他犯罪并案侦查。

8、为保证及时结案,避免超期羁押,人民检察院对于公安机关提请批准逮捕、移送审查起诉的网络犯罪案件,第一审人民法院对于已经受理的网络犯罪案件,经审查发现没有管辖权的,可以依法报请共同上级人民检察院、人民法院指定管辖。

9、部分犯罪嫌疑人在逃,但不影响对已到案共同犯罪嫌疑人、被告人的犯罪事实认定的网络犯罪案件,可以依法先行追究已到案共同犯罪嫌疑人、被告人的刑事责任。 在逃的共同犯罪嫌疑人、被告人归案后,可以由原公安机关、人民检察院、人民法院管辖其所涉及的案件。

三、关于网络犯罪案件的初查

10、对接受的案件或者发现的犯罪线索,在审查中发现案件事实或者线索不明,需要经过调查才能够确认是否达到犯罪追诉标准的,经办案部门负责人批准,可以进行初查。

初查过程中,可以采取询问、查询、勘验、检查、鉴定、调取证据材料等不限制初查对象人身、财产权利的措施,但不得对初查对象采取强制措施和查封、扣押、冻结财产。

四、关于网络犯罪案件的跨地域取证

11、公安机关跨地域调查取证的,可以将办案协作函和相关法律文书及凭证电传或者通过公安机关信息化系统传输至协作地公安机关。 协作地公安机关经审查确认,在传来的法律文书上加盖本地公安机关印章后,可以代为调查取证。

12、询(讯)问异地证人、被害人以及与案件有关联的犯罪嫌疑人的,可以由办案地公安机关通过远程网络视频等方式进行询(讯)问并制作笔录。

远程询(讯)问的,应当由协作地公安机关事先核实被询(讯)问人的身份。 办案地公安机关应当将询(讯)问笔录传输至协作地公安机关。 询(讯)问笔录经被询(讯)问人确认并逐页签名、捺指印后,由协作地公安机关协作人员签名或者盖章,并将原件提供给办案地公安机关。 询(讯)问人员收到笔录后,应当在首页右上方写明“于某年某月某日收到”,并签名或者盖章。

远程询(讯)问的,应当对询(讯)问过程进行录音录像,并随案移送。

异地证人、被害人以及与案件有关联的犯罪嫌疑人亲笔书写证词、供词的,参照本条第二款规定执行。

五、关于电子数据的取证与审查

13、收集、提取电子数据,应当由二名以上具备相关专业知识的侦查人员进行。 取证设备和过程应当符合相关技术标准,并保证所收集、提取的电子数据的完整性、客观性。

14、收集、提取电子数据,能够获取原始存储介质的,应当封存原始存储介质,并制作笔录,记录原始存储介质的封存状态,由侦查人员、原始存储介质持有人签名或者盖章;持有人无法签名或者拒绝签名的,应当在笔录中注明,由见证人签名或者盖章。 有条件的,侦查人员应当对相关活动进行录像。

15、具有下列情形之一,无法获取原始存储介质的,可以提取电子数据,但应当在笔录中注明不能获取原始存储介质的原因、原始存储介质的存放地点等情况,并由侦查人员、电子数据持有人、提供人签名或者盖章;持有人、提供人无法签名或者拒绝签名的,应当在笔录中注明,由见证人签名或者盖章;有条件的,侦查人员应当对相关活动进行录像:

(1)原始存储介质不便封存的;

(2)提取计算机内存存储的数据、网络传输的数据等不是存储在存储介质上的电子数据的;

(3)原始存储介质位于境外的;

(4)其他无法获取原始存储介质的情形。

16、收集、提取电子数据应当制作笔录,记录案由、对象、内容,收集、提取电子数据的时间、地点、方法、过程,电子数据的清单、规格、类别、文件格式、完整性校验值等,并由收集、提取电子数据的侦查人员签名或者盖章。 远程提取电子数据的,应当说明原因,有条件的,应当对相关活动进行录像。 通过数据恢复、破解等方式获取被删除、隐藏或者加密的电子数据的,应当对恢复、破解过程和方法作出说明。

17、收集、提取的原始存储介质或者电子数据,应当以封存状态随案移送,并制作电子数据的复制件一并移送。

对文档、图片、网页等可以直接展示的电子数据,可以不随案移送电子数据打印件,但应当附有展示方法说明和展示工具;人民法院、人民检察院因设备等条件限制无法直接展示电子数据的,公安机关应当随案移送打印件。

对侵入、非法控制计算机信息系统的程序、工具以及计算机病毒等无法直接展示的电子数据,应当附有电子数据属性、功能等情况的说明。

对数据统计数量、数据同一性等问题,公安机关应当出具说明。

18、对电子数据涉及的专门性问题难以确定的,由司法鉴定机构出具鉴定意见,或者由公安部指定的机构出具检验报告。

六、关于网络犯罪案件的其他问题

19、采取技术侦查措施收集的材料作为证据使用的,应当随案移送批准采取技术侦查措施的法律文书和所收集的证据材料。 使用有关证据材料可能危及有关人员的人身安全,或者可能产生其他严重后果的,应当采取不暴露有关人员身份、技术方法等保护措施,必要时,可以由审判人员在庭外进行核实。

20、对针对或者组织、教唆、帮助不特定多数人实施的网络犯罪案件,确因客观条件限制无法逐一收集相关言词证据的,可以根据记录被害人数、被侵害的计算机信息系统数量、涉案资金数额等犯罪事实的电子数据、书证等证据材料,在慎重审查被告人及其辩护人所提辩解、辩护意见的基础上,综合全案证据材料,对相关犯罪事实作出认定。

最高人民法院最高人民检察院 公安部
2014年5月4日

 

About China Law Translate 1032 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。