Judge Tang Xinghua's Article on Dealing with Rumors During the Epidemic Period

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 603 total views,  2 views today

Source:https://www.thepaper.cn/newsDetail_forward_5672644
【Date of Issue】January 28, 2020

I. The concept of rumors, and how rumors are produced.

"Rumors" is everyday language, but in law, rumors are addressed as 'false information'. In terms of Covid-19, fabricating and disseminating false information, and organizing or causing others to disseminate false information in a manner that disrupts social order, is strictly prohibited by law.

The production of false information has deep social roots, and relevant organs and individuals carrying out frontline social governance should fully recognize this, as it a prerequisite for their better performing law enforcement responsibilities. I feel that the creation of rumors primarily results from the following:

1. False information arises from the limitations of individuals' cognitive ability.

It's entirely possible that different individuals could generate different degrees of false information about the same matter based on their different levels of comprehension, and we should understand the law as having a posture of appropriate tolerance towards individuals.

Take for example the case of the Wuhan public security organs punishing 8 people for publishing that there were "7 confirmed cases of SARS from the Huanan Fruit and Seafood Market." If we understand the law as applied mechanically, we can conclude that since Covid-19 is not SARS, it is certainly false to say that SARS has emerged in Wuhan, and this information has caused social disorder, so the legal requirements for acts of fabricating and transmitting false information are met, and there is a legitimate basis for admonishment or administrative and criminal penalties.

However, the facts show that although Covid-19 is not SARS, the content published by those releasing the information was not entirely made up. If at the time the public had heard and believed this 'rumor' and out of panic over SARS had begun to take measures such as wearing masks, strictly disinfecting, and avoiding wildlife markets, this might be good news for our better preventing and controlling Covid-19 today.

So, when dealing with false information, law enforcement organs should fully consider the degree of subjective malice that the person publishing or spreading the information had, as well as their ability to understand the matter. So long as the information is essentially true, the publisher or spreader had no malice, and the conduct did not objectively cause serious harm, we should maintain a tolerant attitude towards such 'false information'.

Trying to use the law to fight all information that does not completely fit the truth is not only legally unnecessary but also institutionally impossible. It could even end up having a negative impact on legal justice as over-censorship can be used as an example to undermine government credibility, as an ugly incident to undermine the Party's popular base, or as an excuse for attacks by hostile forces at home and abroad.

2. The source of false information is the lack of timely and transparent public disclosures.

Disclosures stop rumors. Based on their anxiety over their own safety, the public will panic to some degree in the face of public health emergencies, which is human nature and should be understood. If relevant information is promptly and fully disclosed at such times, the public's misgivings will be naturally reduced. However, if information disclosures are not timely or not transparent, then the public will readily believe and transmit various rumors based on their social circled and personal experience.

So, in terms of resolving the problem of rumors, using the law to address them cures a symptom, but information disclosures cure the cause. If we do a good job of information disclosures, the public will compare the disclosures with the rumors they've learned of on their own, and over time, when the public discovers that the information disclosed by the government is always accurate, the rumors will naturally lose their hold. On the other hand, if rumors are confirmed by actual conditions again and again, the public will naturally choose to believe rumors in emergencies. In this regard, officials at all levels cannot regard the information disclosure work as their special "fiefdom", but should also consider the issue from the perspective of the big picture of the Party and state's overall work.

We should take lessons from this struggle. When encountering a public health emergency, we should trust the majority of the public. It would be better the problem be seen as more serious, better the warnings were more stern, and better the situation be viewed as more severe, so as to stimulate the public to pay attention to the public health crisis and allow us to rely closely on the people to win this special battle.

4. False information arises in the special personal-media environment.

The media environment we face today is very different from that at the time of 'SARS'. During SARS, the idea of personal media didn't exist yet, and there were only the official media channels. At that time, forums, blogs, mobile phone text messaging and other non-traditional means of transmission existed, but their impact was extremely limited and was not sufficient to be a primary channel for information delivery.

Today, the situation has changed significantly. With the development of commercial media and the appearance of Weibo, WeChat, and the whole group of social media, people's information sources have become exceedingly diverse, and individual voices can be limitlessly spread through the internet. Individuals who are present in epidemic areas can more intuitively and directly communicate with the public through voice and video, breaking through the official media's domination of information transmission. Clearly, in this sea of information, any attempts at a cover-up are futile and traditional measures for information management and control are also difficult to implement effectively.

On the one hand, this is a sign of Chinese society's increasing maturity, freedom, and openness. On the other hand, this type of freedom also provides ground in which the transmission of false information may grow. This is our first time encountering this kind of major public health incident in the personal media environment, and this complicated situation is also a topic we must address in the course of governance today.

II. What information should be strictly combated?

The law doesn't need to fight against all untrue information, but in this special time of the decisive battle against Covid-19, there are some rumors that must be strictly combated.

By look at the cases investigated by each region's public security organs, we can see that the following types of information need to be strictly combated and may be given administrative punishments, or where the consequences are serious, they may be given criminal punishments as the crime of provocation and causing disturbances [picking quarrels] in accordance with article 5 of the "The Supreme People's Court and Supreme People's Procuratorate Interpretation on Several Issues Regarding the Applicable Law in Cases of Using Information Networks to Commit Defamation and Other Such Crimes".

1. Rumors involving the epidemic that cause social disorder.

For example, fabricating information that a certain area with no epidemic outbreak has had cases appear, causing social disorder. However, when law enforcement organs investigate this kind of case, they should fully review the subjective malice in the case and the objective impact that the actions caused. If there was not substantial subjective malice, the rumor was only transmitted within a small range of people, and the social disorder caused was relatively limited, then considering that such rumors can objectively have a positive impact by raising awareness of self-protection among certain groups, and that it is relatively easy to clarify these facts, the emphasis should be on criticism and education of those fabricating and disseminating the rumors, with administrative punishment as a supplement, and criminal punishment considered only in extreme cases.

2. Rumors slandering the nation's epidemic control as inadequate etc., that cause social disorder.

China is a socialist country and China's capacity for national mobilization is widely recognized and praised in the international community. Citizens with expert knowledge may submit their suggestions on how the nation can better carry out epidemic and control work thought proper channels, and their opinions can even include positive criticism. However, the unscrupulous fabrication of information such as that the country is inadequately controlling the epidemic, sent while knowing it is false and with an extreme amount of subjective malice and which is objectively easily able to cause social disorder, should be strictly dealt with in accordance with law, and pursued criminally when necessary.

3. Rumors making up that medical establishments have lost control of the epidemic, that treatment is ineffective, and so forth, that cause social disorder.

The public is greatly concerned about the treatment of the disease, the shortage of protections faced by medical frontline medical personnel, and the capacity of medical institutions to treat Covid-19. These feelings are understandable and legitimate demands can be expressed through legitimate channels. Scholarly criticism by relevant experts, academics or professionals on the above issues, is also within the scope of freedom of speech and should be protected by law.

However, given that epidemic prevention and control has already escalated to become a national action, the information on handling the epidemic and disease treatment should absolutely follow that from authoritative state channels. It is extremely easy for any fabrication or transmission of untrue information like that discussed above to cause massive public panic, and where there is deep subjective malice and huge social harm, it should be combatted in accordance with law.

4. Other rumors that easily cause disruptions in social order.

As social life is complex and new types of rumors continuously surface, the review of conduct in different circumstances should be through a comprehensive assessment of subjective malice and objective impact.

As rumors such as "rubbing balm under your nose can prevent Covid-19", "Gargle salt water to prevent pneumonia", or "drinking and smoking can prevent pneumonia" have a relatively low level of social harm and can't cause social disorder, legal penalties aren't appropriate, and they should be addressed with correct guidance and teaching science.

But other acts of wanton fabrication, such as exaggerating the number of disease fatalities or the fatality rate, and making up negative 'personal accounts' by doctors, should be strictly addressed by law as there is no positive intent at all and it could easily cause serious social panic.

III. Conclusion

The struggle against rumors is essentially a problem of how to win over the public. Today's China is based on openness and freedom, we do not carry out control of all untrue information. Clarifying some common-sense misconceptions depends on the efforts of the state on the one hand, but also on the people themselves.

But the virus today is a major test for the nation. At this moment, the fabrication and transmission of false information without good intentions should be decisively and forcefully combated, and this is the duty of the state's political-legal organs. On this issue, all people from all walks of society should have a clear understanding and must not be complacent.

Source: The People's Courts' News Media Headquarters

Author: TANG Xinghua | Editor: ZHAO Huifeng.

About China Law Translate 977 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

唐兴华法官关于怎么应对疫情时期中的谣言问题的文章

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 605 total views,  4 views today

【来源】https://www.thepaper.cn/newsDetail_forward_5672644
【发布日期】2020年1月28日

一、谣言的概念以及谣言是如何产生的?

“谣言”是生活用语,法律上对谣言表述为“虚假信息”。 在有关新型肺炎的问题上,编造、散布,或组织、指使他人散布虚假信息造成社会秩序混乱的,属法律严格禁止的对象。

虚假信息的产生有其深刻的社会根源,在一线实施社会治理的有关机关和个人,对此应有深刻的认识,这是更好履行执法责任的前提。 笔者认为,谣言之所以产生,主要基于以下几个方面的原因:

1、虚假信息起源于个体认知能力的局限。

不同个体基于认知水平的差异,对同一事物,完全可能产生不同程度的虚假信息,我们应该理解法律对个体的适度宽容态度。

比如,在武汉市公安机关处罚的8名发布“华南水果海鲜市场确诊7例SARS”的案件中,如果机械地理解适用法律,我们的确可以认定,鉴于新型肺炎不是SARS,说武汉出现了SARS,属于编造不实信息,且该信息造成了社会秩序的混乱,符合法律规定的编造并传播虚假信息的行为,给予其训诫或行政处罚甚至刑事处罚,都有其正当性。

但是,事实证明,尽管新型肺炎并不是SARS,但是信息发布者发布的内容,并非完全捏造。 如果社会公众当时听信了这个“谣言”,并且基于对SARS的恐慌而采取了佩戴口罩、严格消毒、避免再去野生动物市场等措施,这对我们今天更好地防控新型肺炎,可能是一件幸事。

所以,执法机关面对虚假信息,应充分考虑信息发布者、传播者在主观上的恶性程度,及其对事物的认知能力。 只要信息基本属实,发布者、传播者主观上并无恶意,行为客观上并未造成严重的危害,我们对这样的“虚假信息”理应保持宽容态度。

试图对一切不完全符合事实的信息都进行法律打击,既无法律上的必要,更无制度上的可能,甚至会让我们对谣言的打击走向法律正义价值的反面,成为削弱政府公信力的反面教材,成为削弱党的群众基础的恶性事件,成为境内外敌对势力攻击我们的无端借口。

2、虚假信息起源于信息公开的不及时、不透明。

谣言止于公开。 群众基于对自身安全的焦虑,在面对突发公共卫生事件时,存在一定程度的慌乱,是人之常情,应予理解。 如果在这种时刻,有关信息及时、全面地公开,群众的疑虑自然会削减。 但是,如果信息公开不及时、不透明,群众基于其社会交往圈与自己的生活经验,往往容易听信并传播各种谣言。

所以,解决谣言问题,依法处理是治标,信息公开是治本。 我们做好了信息公开工作,群众就会将公开的信息和自己获知的谣言相对比,久而久之,当群众发现政府公开的信息永远正确时,谣言就自然失去了群众基础。 反之,如果谣言一次次被现实证实,那么群众在突发事件面前,会自然地选择相信谣言。 从这个意义上讲,各级官员决不能仅把信息公开认为是自己的“一亩三分地”,而是要站在党和国家工作全局的视角考虑问题。

经此一役,我们要从中吸取深刻教训。 遇到突发公共卫生事件,我们要坚定地相信群众的大多数。 我们宁可把问题想得更严重一些,宁可把对群众的警示讲得更严肃一些,宁可把局势形容得相对严峻一些,以此激发起群众对公共卫生事件的高度重视,并紧紧依靠人民群众,打赢类似特殊战争。

3、虚假信息起源于特殊的自媒体环境。

我们今天面对的媒体环境与“非典”时期有根本差异。 “非典”时期,尚不存在自媒体的概念,信息渠道只有官方媒体一种。 彼时,论坛、博客、手机短信等非传统传播方式虽然存在,但造成的影响极其有限,尚不足以作为信息传递的主要通道。

如今,情况发生了显著变化。 随着商业媒体的发展以及微博、微信等一系列社交媒体的出现,人们的信息来源异常多元,个体的声音可以经由互联网而无限放大。 身处在疫区的个体,可以通过语音、短视频等方式与社会公众进行更加直观、更加真切的交流,打破了官方媒体对信息传播的主导权。 显而易见,在海量的信息中,任何试图掩盖真相的尝试都只是徒劳,传统的信息管控措施也很难再有效实施。

一方面,这是中国社会愈加成熟、愈加自由、愈加开放的标志。 另一方面,这种自由也给虚假信息的传播提供了媒体土壤。 这是我们第一次在自媒体环境中遭遇如此重大的公共卫生事件,而这种复杂局面,也是当今国家治理进程中,我们必须面对的时代课题。

二、什么样的谣言必须严厉打击?

不是所有的不实信息都要进行法律打击,但是在决战新型肺炎的特殊时刻,有些谣言必须严厉打击。

从目前各地公安机关查处的有关案件看,以下几类信息应属于严厉打击的对象,可以进行行政处罚,造成严重后果的,可以按照《最高人民法院、最高人民检察院关于办理利用信息网络实施诽谤等刑事案件适用法律若干问题的解释》第五条的规定,以寻衅滋事罪予以刑事处罚。

1、谣言涉及疫情状况,造成社会秩序混乱的。

比如,某地没有疫情而编造该地有疫情出现的信息,从而造成社会秩序混乱的。 但是执法机关在查处类似案件时,应全面审查其主观恶意与行为在客观上造成的影响。 如果其主观上并无重大恶意,谣言也仅在较小范围内传播,造成社会秩序混乱的后果比较有限,考虑到该类谣言在客观上对一定范围群体自我保护意识的提高有一定积极影响,且澄清该类事实较为容易,故对这类谣言的编造者、传播者,应以批评教育为主,以行政处罚为辅,刑事处罚在非极端情况不予考虑。

2、谣言涉及污蔑国家对疫情管控不力等信息,造成社会秩序混乱的。

中国是社会主义国家,中国的国家动员能力在国际社会广受认可和赞誉,具备相关专业知识的公民对国家更好地开展疫情管控工作可以通过正当途径提出自己的意见,有关专业人员可以提出自己的建议甚至是善意的批评。 但是肆意编造国家对疫情管控不力等信息、明知是是虚假信息还进行传播的,主观恶性极大,客观上容易引发严重的社会秩序混乱,依法应予严肃处理,必要时应予刑事追诉。

3、谣言涉及捏造医疗机构对疫情处置失控、治疗无效等信息,造成社会秩序混乱的。

民众对疾病治疗有重大关切,对医护人员在一线面临的防护措施出现短缺的现象有关切,对医疗机构治疗新型肺炎的能力有关切,这些情绪也可以理解,这些正当诉求,民众可以通过正当途径进行表达,有关专家学者或者专业人员对上述问题开展正当学术批评,亦属言论自由范畴,依法应受法律保护。

但是,鉴于疫情防控已经升级为国家行动,有关疫情的处置与疾病的治疗信息应绝对以国家的权威信息渠道为准。 任何编造上述不实信息并传播的行为,都极易造成社会公众的巨大恐慌,主观恶性较深、社会危害巨大,应依法坚决予以打击。

4、其他容易造成社会秩序混乱的谣言。

鉴于社会生活纷繁复杂,新类型谣言层出不穷,审查不同情形的行为,应结合其主观恶性与客观影响等情形综合判断。

诸如一些“鼻子抹香油可以预防新型肺炎”“盐水漱口防肺炎”“喝酒吸烟防肺炎”等谣言,鉴于该类谣言的社会危害性较低,且不会造成社会秩序的混乱,应以正确引导、科学普及为主,不宜进行法律惩戒。

但是其他一些肆意捏造事实的行为,诸如夸大疾病死亡人数、夸大疾病死亡率、捏造负面的所谓医生“自述”等行为,鉴于其主观上并无任何善意可言,且极易造成社会公众严重恐慌,依法应予严惩。

三、结语

与谣言的斗争,本质是一个如何争取群众的问题。 今天的中国,基于其开放和自由,我们对一些不实信息并不进行管制。 澄清一些常识性的错误认识,一方面靠国家的努力,另一方面,也寄希望于广大人民群众自身。

但是病毒当前,国家面对重大考验。 在这个时候,对不怀好意地编造、传播虚假信息的行为,应给予其坚决、有力打击,这是国家政法机关的应尽之责。 社会各界、有关人员,在这个问题上,应有更加清醒的认识,绝不能有丝毫侥幸心理。

来源:人民法院新闻传媒总社

作者:唐兴华 | 编辑:赵炜烽。

About China Law Translate 977 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*