Technical Guideline on the Laboratory Testing of the Novel Coronavirus Pneumonia (Second Edition)

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 948 total views,  15 views today

Source:http://www.chinacdc.cn/jkzt/crb/xcrxjb/202001/t20200123_211378.html
【发布时期】1月23日

This technical guideline was formulated to direct various levels of disease control departments and other relevant institutions in conducting laboratory testing of COVID-19. This guideline mainly introduces the RNA detection methods that are relatively mature and easy to implement.

I. Sample collection

(1) Subjects of sample collection.Suspected cases of COVID-19, patients part of a suspected cluster outbreak, other patients who require COVID-19 diagnosis or differential diagnosis, or other environmental or biological samples that require additional screening (such as tracing analysis).

(2) Requirements for sample collection.

1. Technicians engaged in the collection of samples for SARS-COV-2 testing should undergo biosafety training (training certified), and possess relevant laboratory skills. Personal protective equipment (PPE) requirement for sample-collection personnel: N95 respirators, goggles, protective suits, latex gloves, waterproof shoe covers. Double glove if coming into contact with patients' blood, bodily fluids, secretions or excrement.

2. Samples from hospitalized patients should be collected by the medical staff of the hospital under the guidance of professionals of the local CDC.

3. Specimens of close contacts should be collected by local CDC.

4. Based on the requirements of laboratory testing, multiple samples can be taken based on the clinical indications.

(3) Types of samples to collect. Acute respiratory and blood specimens should be collected from each patient. For severely ill patients, prioritize the collection of lower respiratory tract specimens (such as bronchoalveolar lavage), and sample according to clinical indications and sampling intervals.

Other research materials should be collected based on experimental design.

Sample types:

1. Upper respiratory tract samples: throat swabs, nasal swabs, nasopharyngeal aspirate.

2. Lower respiratory tract sample: including sputum, tracheal aspirate, bronchial or alveolar lavage, lung tissue biopsy.

3. Blood samples: ideally, collect anticoagulated acute blood within 7 days after symptom onset. Collect 5ml of blood, preferably after fasting. It's recommended to use vacutainers containing anticoagulants.

4. Serum samples: ideally, collect both acute and convalescent serum. The first serum sample should be collected as early as possible (preferably within 7 days after symptom onset). The second serum sample should be collected 3-4 weeks after symptom onset. Collect 5ml of sample, preferably after fasting. It's recommended to use vacutainers.

(4) Sample collection methods

1. Throat swabs: use 2 plastic swabs with polypropylene fibre heads to simultaneously swab both tonsils and the posterior pharyngeal wall. Insert the heads of the swabs into collection tubes containing 3ml medium. Break off swab shaft and close the cap tightly.

2. Nasal swabs: gently insert 1 plastic swab with a polypropylene fibre head into the nasal cavity to the nasal palate. After a brief pause, slowly withdraw the swab while rotating it. Repeat the procedure in the other nostril with another plastic swab with a polypropylene fibre head. The two aforementioned swabs can be inserted into the same collection tube containing 3ml of medium. Break off the shaft and close the cap tightly.

3. Nasopharyngeal aspirate or tracheal aspirate: use a collection device connected to the negative pressure pump to collect nasopharyngeal mucous or tracheal secretion. Insert the head of the collection device into the nasal cavity or trachea, turn on suction, slowly withdraw the collection tube while rotating to collect mucus. Rinse the collection device once with 3ml of sample collection fluid. (A pediatric catheter connected to a 50ml syringe may be used to replace the collection device.)

4. Deep cough sputum: ask the patient to cough deeply and spit the sputum into a 50ml screw-cap plastic tube containing 3ml of sample collection fluid.

5. Bronchial lavage: insert the head of the collection tube into the trachea through the nose or trach tube (approximately 750px deep), instill 5ml of saline, turn on suction, and slowly withdraw the collection tube while rotating it. Collect the mucus extracted. Wash the collection device once with sample collection fluid. (A pediatric catheter connected to a 50ml syringe may be used to as a collection device.)

6. Alveolar lavage: after local anesthesia, insert the fibre-optic bronchoscope through oropharyngeal or nasopharyngeal route to the middle lobe of the right lung or a lingular segment of the left lung. Wedge the tip of the bronchoscope into a bronchial branching point. Slowly instill 30-50ml sterile saline each time through the biopsy channel, to a total volume of 100-250ml but not exceed 300ml.

7. Blood sample: it's recommended to use a vacutainer with an anticoagulant to collect 5ml of blood sample. Let the sample sit for 30 minutes at room temperature. Centrifuge for 10 minutes at 1500-2000 RPM. Collect plasma and blood cells into separate sterile screw-cap plastic tubes.

8. Serum sample: use vacutainer to collect 5ml of the blood sample. Leave the sample undisturbed at room temperature for 30 minutes. Centrifuge for 10 minutes at 1500-2000 RPM. Collect the serum in a sterile plastic tube with a screw cap.

9. Other materials: use standard collection methods appropriate for experimental design.

(5) Sample packaging.Collected specimens should be packed inside a biosafety cabinet in a BSL-2 laboratory.

1. All specimens should be placed in collection tubes of suitable sizes. The collection tubes should have screw caps with internal O-rings, and be freeze-resistant. Close the cap tightly. Lable the outer container of the specimen with reference number, specimen type, patient's name, and date collected.

2. Place sealed specimens into a plastic bag of suitable size and seal again. Each bag should contain one specimen.

(6) Sample Storage.Specimens for virus isolation and nucleic acid detection should be processed ASAP. Specimens can be stored at 4℃ if they can be processed within 24 hours. Specimens that cannot be processed within 24 hours should be stored at or below -70℃. If there is no -70℃ storage, the samples can be temporarily stored in -20℃ freezers. Serum can be stored for 3 days at 4℃ and for long term at -20℃. Designate dedicated storage or freezer for sample storage. Avoid repeated freeze-thaw during sample transportation.

(7) Sample submission. Samples should be sent to laboratories ASAP after collection. If long-distance transport is required, it's recommended to preserve samples using dry ice.

1. Sample submission. Each province (or autonomous region/municipality) should submit the samples of their first confirmed positive cases and cases in a suspected or confirmed cluster outbreak to the Institute for Viral Disease Control and Prevention of the Chinese CDC, with corresponding submission forms (see attachment).

2. Transport of pathogen and specimen

2.1 Domestic Transport

SARS-COV-2 strains or other potentially infectious materials are assigned to Category A (UN2814), and must be packaged according to Packing Instruction 602 in the International Civil Aviation Organization's Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Good by Air (Doc9284). Environmental samples are assigned to Category B (UN3373), and must be packaged according to the requirements of Packing Instruction 650 in Doc9284 (International Civil Aviation Organization Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air). Refers to the above standards of packaging when using other modes of transportation.

Transportation of SARS-COV-2 strains or other potentially infectious materials should apply for Shipping Permits according to the Regulation on the Transportation of Highly Pathogenic Microbes (Viruses) or Samples Capable of Infecting Humans (Former Ministry of Health order No. 45).

2.2 International Transport

Standardized packing of SARS-COV-2 strains or samples is required for international transportation. Follow relevant procedures in the Administrative Provisions on the Sanitation and Quarantine of Entry/Exit Special Articles and meet relevant domestic and international requirements.

II. Laboratory testing of SARS-COV-2

The standard method for SARS-COV-2 detection is real-time fluorescent RT-PCR testing. All SARS-COV-2 testing must be performed in laboratories with appropriate setup, and by personnel with relevant technical safety training. Nucleic acid detection in this guideline targets the open reading frame 1ab (ORF1ab) and nucleocapsid protein (N) in the SARS-COV-2 genome.

The following criteria must be met for laboratory confirmation of a positive case:

In the same specimen, two SARS-COV-2 targets (ORF1ab, N) both test positive in specific real-time fluorescent RT-PCR.

A negative result does not rule out SARS-COV-2 infection. Factors that may contribute to a false-negative should be ruled out, including: poor sample quality, such as oropharyngeal samples; samples were collected too early or too late; incorrect storage, transport and processing of specimen; technical limitations such as mutation of the virus or inhibition of the PCR reaction.

III. Real-time fluorescent RT-PCR detection of SARS-COV-2 RNA

(1) Purpose. To standardize the workflow of SARS-COV-2 RNA detection using the real-time fluorescent RT-PCR method, and to ensure the accuracy and reliability of the experimental results.

(2) Scope. Applicable for real-time fluorescent RT-PCR detection of SARS-COV-2 RNA.

(3) Responsibilities.

Testing personnel: Responsible for testing specimens according to these protocols.

Test reviewers: Responsible for reviewing whether the test operation is standardized and whether the test result is accurate.

Department head: Responsible for the comprehensive management of department and verification of the test reports.

(4) Receving and preparing samples. Verify the patient name, gender, age, reference number and test items requisitioned associated with the sample. Abnormal samples should be indicated. Samples should be stored in -70℃ freezers.

(5) Testing items.

1. SARS-COV-2 RNA test (real-time fluorescent RT-PCR method)

It is recommended to use primers and probes targeting the ORF1ab and N gene regions of SARS-COV-2.

Target 1 (ORF1ab):

Forward Primer(F): CCCTGTGGGTTTTACACTTAA

Reverse Primer (R): ACGATTGTGCATCAGCTGA

Fluorescent Probe (P): 5′-FAM-CCGTCTGCGGTATGTGGAAAGGTTATGG-BHQ1-3′

Target 2 (N):

Forward Primer(F): GGGGAACTTCTCCTGCTAGAAT

Reverse Primer (R): CAGACATTTTGCTCTCAAGCTG

Fluorescent Probe (P): 5′-FAM-TTGCTGCTGCTTGACAGATT-TAMRA-3′

Refer to test kit manufacture's manual for details on RNA extraction and real-time fluorescent RT-PCR reaction components.

2. Result interpretation

Negative: No Ct value or Ct > 40.

Positive: report as positive when Ct < 37.

Ambiguous: if the Ct value is between 37-40, it's recommended to repeat the experiment. If Ct <40 and the amplification curve clearly peaks, the sample should be interpreted as positive. Otherwise, consider the sample as negative.

IV. Biosafety requirements for laboratory activities involving pathogen

Based on available evidence on the biological characteristics, transmission, pathogenicity, clinical and other information on SARS-COV-2, taking into account that SARS-COV-2 infections cause clustered outbreaks and severe and sometimes fatal diseases, relevant experimental activities are temporarily managed as those concerning pathogenic microbes in Category II. Specific requirements are as follows:

(1) Virus propagation. This refers to activities including virus isolation, propagation, titration, neutralization experiments, live virus and protein purification, virus freeze-drying, and recombinant experiments that generate live virus. Biochemical analyses, serological testing, and immunological testing performed on live viruses, virus-infected cells or their cell extract, and without virus inactivation are regarded as propagative activities. The aforementioned activities should be carried out in Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3) laboratories qualified to perform the corresponding acitivities. When using viral cultures for RNA extraction, the addition of lysing or inactivating agents must be carried out under the same biosafety containment level as virus propagation. Virus cultures that have been effectively inactivated may be handled in BSL-2 or BSL-1 laboratories.

(2) Animal inoculation experiments. This refers to experimentally inoculating animals with live virus. These experiments should be conducted in (animal) BSL-3 (ABSL-3) laboratories qualified to carry out corresponding activities.

(3) Non-propagative activities with infectious materials. Before effective inactivation, infectious materials that are not propagated may be handled in BSL-2 laboratories for viral antigen detection, serological testing, nucleic acid testing, and biochemical analyses. However, PPE should be worn according to the requirements of BSL-3. Specimens of human and animal tissues that have not been effectively inactivated or fixed may have high virus concentration, thus the containment level for activities involving these specimens should reference that of virus propagation.

(4) Activities with inactivated materials. Infectious material or live virus may be handled in BSL-1 laboratories after effective inactivation.

(5) Activities with non-infectious materials.This refers to activities involving confirmed non-infectious materials, including but not limited to non-infectious viral DNA or cDNA, which can be carried out in BSL-1 laboratories.

About China Law Translate 995 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

新型冠状病毒感染的肺炎实验室检测技术指南 (第二版)

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 970 total views,  15 views today

【来源】http://www.chinacdc.cn/jkzt/crb/xcrxjb/202001/t20200123_211378.html
【发布时期】1月23日

为指导各级疾控部门和其他相关机构开展新型冠状病毒感染的肺炎实验室检测工作,特制定本技术指南。 本指南主要介绍目前已经比较成熟、易于实施的核酸检测方法

一、标本采集

(一)采集对象。新型冠状病毒感染的肺炎疑似病例、疑似聚集性病例患者,其他需要进行新型冠状病毒感染诊断或鉴别诊断者,或其他需要进一步筛查检测的环境或生物材料(如溯源分析)。

(二)标本采集要求。

1.从事新型冠状病毒检测标本采集的技术人员应经过生物安全培训(培训合格)和具备相应的实验技能。 采样人员专业防护装备(personal protective equipment,PPE)要求:N95口罩、护目镜、防护服、乳胶手套、防水靴套;如果接触患者血液、体液、分泌物或排泄物时,戴双层乳胶手套。

2.住院病例的标本由所在医院医护人员在当地疾控机构专业人员指导下采集。

3.密切接触者标本由当地疾控机构负责采集。

4.根据实验室检测工作的需要,可结合病程多次采样。

(三)标本采集种类。每个病例必须采集急性期呼吸道标本和急性期血液标本;重症病例优先采集下呼吸道标本(如支气管或肺泡灌洗液等),可根据临床表现与采样时间间隔进行采集。

其他研究材料依据设计需求采集。

标本种类:

1.上呼吸道标本:包括咽拭子、鼻拭子、鼻咽抽取物。

2.下呼吸道标本:包括深咳痰液、呼吸道抽取物、支气管灌洗液、肺泡灌洗液、肺组织活检标本。

3.血液标本:尽量釆集发病后7天内的急性期抗凝血。 采集量5ml,以空腹血为佳,建议使用含有抗凝剂的真空釆血管采集血液。

4.血清标本:尽量釆集急性期、恢复期双份血清。 第一份血清应尽早(最好在发病后7天内)釆集,第二份血清应在发病后第3~4周釆集。 采集量5ml,以空腹血为佳,建议使用真空釆血管。

(四)标本采集方法。

1.咽拭子:用2根聚丙烯纤维头的塑料杆拭子同时擦拭双侧咽扁桃体及咽后壁,将拭子头浸入含3ml采样液的管中,尾部弃去,旋紧管盖。

2.鼻拭子:将1根聚丙烯纤维头的塑料杆拭子轻轻插入鼻道内鼻腭处,停留片刻后缓慢转动退出。 取另一根聚丙烯纤维头的塑料杆拭子以同样的方法采集另一侧鼻孔。 上述两根拭子浸入同一含3ml采样液的管中,尾部弃去,旋紧管盖。

3.鼻咽抽取物或呼吸道抽取物:用与负压泵相连的收集器从鼻咽部抽取粘液或从气管抽取呼吸道分泌物。 将收集器头部插入鼻腔或气管,接通负压,旋转收集器头部并缓慢退出,收集抽取的粘液,并用3ml采样液冲洗收集器1次(亦可用小儿导尿管接在50ml注射器上来替代收集器)。

4.深咳痰液:要求病人深咳后,将咳出的痰液收集于含3ml采样液的50ml螺口塑料管中。

5.支气管灌洗液:将收集器头部从鼻孔或气管插口处插入气管(约750px深处),注入5ml生理盐水,接通负压,旋转收集器头部并缓慢退出。 收集抽取的粘液,并用采样液冲洗收集器1次(亦可用小儿导尿管接在50ml注射器上来替代收集)。

6.肺泡灌洗液:局部麻醉后将纤维支气管镜通过口或鼻经过咽部插入右肺中叶或左肺舌段的支管,将其顶端契入支气管分支开口,经气管活检孔缓缓加入灭菌生理盐水,每次30~50 ml,总量100~250 ml,不应超过300 ml。

7.血液标本:建议使用含有抗凝剂的真空釆血管采集血液标本5ml,室温静置30分钟,1500~2000rpm离心10分钟,分别收集血浆和血液中细胞于无菌螺口塑料管中。

8.血清标本:用真空负压采血管采集血液标本5ml,室温静置30分钟,1500~2000rpm离心10分钟,收集血清于无菌螺口塑料管中。

9.其他材料:依据设计需求规范采集。

(五)标本包装。标本采集后在生物安全二级实验室生物安全柜内分装。

1.所有标本应放在大小适合的带螺旋盖内有垫圈、耐冷冻的样本采集管里,拧紧。 容器外注明样本编号、种类、姓名及采样日期。

2.将密闭后的标本放入大小合适的塑料袋内密封,每袋装一份标本。

(六)标本保存。用于病毒分离和核酸检测的标本应尽快进行检测,能在24小时内检测的标本可置于4℃保存;24小时内无法检测的标本则应置于-70℃或以下保存(如无-70℃保存条件,则于-20℃冰箱暂存)。 血清可在4℃存放3天,-20℃以下可长期保存。 应设立专库或专柜单独保存标本。 标本运送期间应避免反复冻融。

(七)标本送检。标本采集后应尽快送往实验室,如果需要长途运输标本,建议采用干冰等制冷方式进行保藏。

1.上送标本:各省(自治区、直辖市)首例检测结果阳性、疑似聚集性病例及聚集性病例的标本,上送中国疾病预防控制中心病毒病预防控制所进行检测复核,并附样本送检表(见附件)。

2.病原体及标本运输

2.1 国内运输

新型冠状病毒毒株或其他潜在感染性生物材料的运输包装分类属于A类,对应的联合国编号为UN2814,包装符合国际民航组织文件Doc9284《危险品航空安全运输技术细则》的PI602分类包装要求;环境样本属于B类,对应的联合国编号为UN3373,包装符合国际民航组织文件Doc9284《危险品航空安全运输技术细则》的PI650分类包装要求;通过其他交通工具运输的可参照以上标准包装。

新型冠状病毒毒株或其他潜在感染性材料运输应按照《可感染人类的高致病性病原微生物菌(毒)种或样本运输管理规定》(原卫生部令第45号)办理《准运证书》。

2.2 国际运输

新型冠状病毒毒株或样本在国际间运输的,应规范包装,按照《出入境特殊物品卫生检疫管理规定》办理相关手续,并满足相关国家和国际相关要求。

二、新型冠状病毒的实验室检测

新型冠状病毒感染的常规检测方法是通过实时荧光RT-PCR鉴定。 任何新型冠状病毒的检测都必须在具备适当条件的实验室由经过相关技术安全培训的人员进行操作。 本指南中的核酸检测方法主要针对新型冠状病毒基因组中开放读码框1a/b(open reading frame 1ab,ORF1ab)和核壳蛋白(nucleocapsid protein,N)。

在实验室要确认一个病例为阳性,满足以下条件:

同一份标本中新型冠状病毒2个靶标(ORF1ab、N)特异性实时荧光RT-PCR检测结果均为阳性。

阴性结果也不能排除新型冠状病毒感染,需要排除可能产生假阴性的因素,包括:样本质量差,比如口咽等部位的呼吸道样本;样本收集的过早或过晚;没有正确的保存、运输和处理样本;技术本身存在的原因,如病毒变异、PCR抑制等。

三、实时荧光RT-PCR方法检测新型冠状病毒核酸

(一)目的。规范实时荧光RT-PCR方法检测新型冠状病毒核酸的工作程序,保证实验结果的正确可靠。

(二)范围。适用于实时荧光RT-PCR方法检测新型冠状病毒核酸。

(三)职责。

检测人员:负责按照本检测细则对被检样本进行检测。

复核人员:负责对检测操作是否规范以及检测结果是否准确进行复核。

部门负责人:负责对科室综合管理和检测报告的审核。

(四)样本接收和准备。核对被检样本姓名、性别、年龄、编号及检测项目等;待检样本的状态如有异常,需注明;待检样本应存放于-70℃冰箱保存。

(五)检测项目。

1.新型冠状病毒核酸测定(实时荧光RT-PCR方法)

推荐选用针对新型冠状病毒的ORF1ab、N基因区域的引物和探针。

靶标一(ORF1ab):

正向引物(F):CCCTGTGGGTTTTACACTTAA

反向引物(R):ACGATTGTGCATCAGCTGA

荧光探针(P):5′-FAM-CCGTCTGCGGTATGTGGAAAGGTTATGG-BHQ1-3′

靶标二(N):

正向引物(F):GGGGAACTTCTCCTGCTAGAAT

反向引物(R):CAGACATTTTGCTCTCAAGCTG

荧光探针(P):5′-FAM-TTGCTGCTGCTTGACAGATT-TAMRA-3′

核酸提取和实时荧光RT-PCR反应体系参考相关厂家试剂盒说明。

2.结果判断

阴性:无Ct值或Ct值>40。

阳性:Ct值<37,可报告为阳性。

可疑:Ct值在37-40之间,建议重复实验,若Ct值<40,扩增曲线有明显起峰,该样本判断为阳性,否则为阴性。

四、病原生物安全实验活动要求

根据目前掌握的新型冠状病毒的生物学性状、传播特性、致病性、临床资料等信息,考虑到新型冠状病毒感染聚集性发病且有重症病例,并有死亡病例的特点,实验活动暂按照病原微生物危害程度分类中第二类病原微生物进行管理,具体要求如下:

(一)病毒培养。指病毒的分离、培养、滴定、中和试验、活病毒及其蛋白纯化、病毒冻干以及产生活病毒的重组试验等操作。 利用活病毒或其感染细胞(或细胞提取物),不经灭活进行的生化分析、血清学检测、免疫学检测等操作视同病毒培养,上述操作应在具有开展相应活动资质的生物安全三级(Biological Safety Level 3,BSL-3)实验室进行。 使用病毒培养物提取核酸时,裂解剂或灭活剂的加入必须在与病毒培养同等级别实验室和防护条件下进行,可靠方法灭活后的病毒培养物,可在BSL-2或BSL-1级实验室操作。

(二)动物感染实验。指以活病毒感染动物的实验。 应在具有开展相应活动资质的动物(animal)BSL-3(ABSL-3)实验室进行操作。

(三)未经培养的感染性材料的操作。未经培养的感染性材料在采用可靠的方法灭活前进行的病毒抗原检测、血清学检测、核酸检测、生化分析等操作,应在生物安全二级实验室操作,但个人防护装备参照生物安全三级实验室的防护要求。 未经可靠灭活或固定的人和动物组织标本因含病毒量较高,其操作的防护级别应比照病毒培养。

(四)灭活材料的操作。感染性材料或活病毒在采用可靠的方法灭活后可在BSL-1实验室操作。

(五)无感染性材料的操作。指针对确认无感染性的材料的各种操作,包括但不限于无感染性的病毒DNA或cDNA操作,应在BSL-1实验室进行。

About China Law Translate 995 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*