Yunnan Suspends Approval of All Re-education-through-Labor within the Province

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS --THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

Yunnan Suspends All Approvals of Re-education Through Labor in Province (Full Text)

 

2013-02-06 07:36:59 来源: People's Daily Online(Beijing, China)
Summary: On February 5, Yunnan Politics and Law Committee Secretary Meng Sutie, said that approval of reeducation-through-labor (RTL) would be uniformly stopped for conduct such as endangering state security, ,petitioning to harass officials or cause trouble and disparaging leaders' images; approvals of RTL would be suspended for other unlawful circumstances. RTL should continue to be enforced for those currently under it, and in principle, petitions regarding historical problems with RTL will not be accepted.

The RTL system has protected public security in ever historical era, and played an active role in ensuring social stability, but at the same time a few abuses have gradually been revealed, and reform is essential.

Every family holds its own children close, 坚决防止因信访渠道不畅、部门间推诿扯皮而导致越级访、重复访、非正常上访的情况。

Guangdong Might End the Reeducation-Through-Labour System This Year

Nanfang Daily reported, on January 28, that the non-voting delegates of the National People's Congress of Guangdong Province and Provincial Department of Justice Director Yan Zhichan told reporters that, based on the currently released information, the RTLreform plan will be submitted to the NPC Standing Committee for consideration in accordance with the procedures. If it passes, there is a chance that Guangdong will end the RTL system this year, in accordance with the plan and request of the Central Political Legal Committee and Ministry of Justice to advance reform.

Yan Zhichan said that once the cessation of the RTL system is confirmed, it means that the RTL system will no longer receive detainees and persons currently undergoing reeducation-through-labor will be released when they reach the end of their term.

"We have already made all the preparations. Most of those in RTL in Guandong are patients in compulsory drug rehabilatation, the ratio of those who are in RTL in the real sense is quite low." Yan Zhichan added that the province's current RTL population are primarily there for illegal conduct such as gambling, prostitution and solicitation offences in violation of public security administration regulations.

As to whether the public attention on stopping the reeducation-through-labour system would affect the focus of the RTL agencies and police teams, Yan Zhichan bluntly said, "it's not that big an issue. ”

"From now on, approval of re-education through labor for all alleged endangerment of national security, petitioning to harras or make trouble, and disparaging leaders' images is stopped. All approval of of re-education through labor for other unlawful circumstances is suspended and will be handled in accordance with relevant law, and not using the RTL method." "Those currently under re-education through labor will continue its enforcement, and it will naturally wind down" " In principal, petitions relating to historical problems with the re-education system will not be accepted, but where there was truly wrongful enforcement, it will be handled on the basis of the individual case," said Political Legal Committee Secretary Meng Sutie yesterday, on a video conference with the Provincial Political Legal Committee and the Provincial Standing Committee. This means that the the province will not have another person sent to re-education through labor this year. Our province's reform of reeducation through labor has taken a historic step.

At the same time, Meng Sutie expressed that the entire corps of re-education through labor police have made an important contribution towards promoting economic social development, social stability and harmony. In the course of reform, we should especially care for and really do well by this team.

Yesterday's meeting also honored 25 individuals for their current and future excellence in working to implement reforms in the letter petitioning and household registration system.

Reeducation-Through-Labor (RTL)

劳教审批全部暂停 三类行为劳教审批停止

At yesterday's meeting, Meng Sutie emphasized the desire to ensure the smooth advancement of reforms to the RTL system . "The RTL system has played an active role in every era for maintaining public security and ensuring social stability, but at the same time also gradually revealing some shortcomings and reform is essential." He said that on the basis of the province's actual conditions, promoting the reform of the RTL system requires a grasp of several circumstance:

First is mastering principles. From now on, approval o fRTL for alleged endangerment of national security, petitioning to harass or cause trouble, or defaming leaders' images are uniformly stopped; approval of RTL for other unlawful circumstances is suspended and will be handled according to relevant laws, and re-education through labor will not be utilized again. Those currently under RTL will continue with it's enforcement and it will naturally wind down. In principal, petitions dealing with historical problems with theRTL system will not be accepted, but where there really was wrongful enforcement, it shall be handled on an individual case basis

Second is continuing the safe stability of RTL facilities. We need to strengthen the administration of education to those currently under RTL and ensure the stability of their thinking, strengthen security and protection measures and prevent safety accidents, strengthen the connections of those released from RTL and put into place assistance and education measures to help those released from RTL smoothly enter society.

Third is overall planning of relevant work. TheRTL system and the community corrections, compulsory isolated drug treatment and basic-level construction must be considered together, so that existing resources bring about greater benefits. For a long time, the province's RTL system has made an important contribution in promoting economic and social development, social stability and harmony, and the entire corps of RTL police have paid for this with their blood and sweat. In the process of reform, we must especially care for them, and truly do well by them. He said the corps' obligations in compulsory drug treatment is also very heavy.

Letter Petitions

Party committees and Political Legal Committees at all levels will no longer concentrate assignment of petition cases downward.

Meng Sutie noted that in recent years, there has been remarkable success in the resolution of letter petitions involving lawsuits but the total numbers are still quite high; a minority that 'has faith in petitioning but not the law", "believe in higher officials, but not the lower", "abandon the law and turn to petititioning" and other similar problems stand out and seriously damage judicial authoritativeness. He said that, we want to take the implementation of the revised Criminal Procedure Law and Civil Procedure Law as the moment in which to separate petitions relating to law and litigation from ordinary petitions, and bring those that meet the requirements into the judicial process. Party Committees and Political Legal Committees at all levels will no longer concentrate the assignment of petition cases to the lower level Party and Political Legal Committees, and political legal organs at every level must follow their jurisdictional limits in assigning and handling cases, the responsible unity bears the responsibility for handling it, "Each family carries its own children." Firmly prevent the impediments to petition channels and buck-passing between agencies that has led to phenomenon such as petitioning to the level above, repetitive petitioning, and irregular petitioning.

Quickly and effectively resolving social conflicts and, resolving conflicts at the base level and nipping the problem in the bud, preventing and reducing the number of mass-incidents, remain the the core mission of Peaceful Construction; people's mediation work will be strengthened with the goal of 'small matters staying in the village, large matters staying in the towns and counties, and not passing conflicts upwards."

In addition, we will promote the safe and orderly reform of the household registration system, fully implement the residential permit system, advance basic public services to fully cover the resident population, gradually making the majority of the migrant population in urban and rural areas safe and happy in their endeavors.

Observation

National Political Legal Work Conference Signals Possible End of the Reeducation-Through-Labor (RTL) System

Yesterday, the province's political and legal work conference's news of "suspending RTL" is undoubtedly the implementation and execution of the National Political and Legal Work Conference.:.

On January 7, the National Political Legal Work Conference was held in Beijing, and promoting the reform of the RTL system was a key point of this year's work; at the same time, many media outlets reported via Weibo [Chinese Twitter]: The Central Political Legal Committee Secretary Meng Jianzhu said that the central government has already researched the possible cessation of use of RTL this year, and reported it to the NPC for approval.

"Cessation is not far from abolition! RTL reform finally has some substantial progress! " As soon as the news came out, many well-known experts and scholars expressed there support one after the other. The has been regarded as the most positive signal coming from the National Political Legal Work Conference.

Although the central media has not yet clearly referred to "stopping the use of the RTL system this year" in its coverage of the National Political and Legal Work Conference, many officials who participated in the conference have confirmed the above news to the media.

Subsequently, XinHuaNet released a report saying that the National Political and Legal Work Conference was held in Beijing on January 7, 2013 . The Conference set the intellectual course for 2013's work, putting four reforms as its key points: promoting the reform of the RTL system, reform of the system for petitions involving law or litigation, reform of the household registration system, and reform of judicial power.

At the same time, Xinhua News Agency released an op-ed titled "looking forward to sweeping social-stability style RTL into the dustbin of history“: half a year ago, China NetEvent published "Three Criticisms of Yongzhou", pointing out that the Tang Hui case didn't leave a period, but a giant question mark; directed at the recurring controversy over RTL for social stability. The National Politics and Legal work Conference was convenes in Beijing on the seventh, we look forward to the further advancement of RTL reforms, sweeping RTL for social stability, which drags us back to another era, into the dust bin of history as soon as possilbe. This is the best answer to the question posed by Tang Hui.

The Reeducation-Through-Labor System has been Altered, Continuing to Preserve it is Anachronistic

In fact, there have always been voices of opposition to the RTL system. In recent years a number of scholars and professors joined together in calling for its abolition. Prominent economist Mao Yushi, , famous sociologist Yu Jianrong, legal scholar He Bing and a number of prominent lawyers advocated the repeal or thorough overhaul of the RTL system. The Tang Hui case and the Ren Jianyu case, did more to inflame public opinion; petitioners and those punished for their speech are all put into the large framework of RTL. The RTL system has been mutated and changed into a tool for a few unrestricted powers, the call for abolition is surging.

Beijing Pacific Century (Kunming) Lawfirm partner Yang Mingkua said RTL is a system developed in the 1950s by the new regime against the background of the the legal system being extremely incompletely formed, to strengthen social control, particularly the problem of a large number of enemy agents and opposition members

The "unlawfulness" of RTL was widely criticized. The legal field largely finds it obviously inconsistent with Constitutional provisions. According to the 37th article of the Constitution, no citizen can be arrested except by approval or decision of a people's procuratorate or court decision.. Arrests is only a temporary compulsory measures during criminal investigation, but requies approval by a court or procuratorate; RTL can be up to 4 years deprivation of physical liberty, but is decided only by the police.

Secondly, it directly violates the Legislation Law. Under article 8 of the Legislation Law, compulsory measures and penalties that restrict citizens' physical liberty can only be established by the national people's Congress formulation of laws. As for the RTL system. regardless of whether one considers its initial approval by the NPC or later approval by the State Council, neither is sufficient to be viewed as having the same status as legislation from the NPC.

Li Chunguang, director of the Yunnan Gun Law Firm, said the RTL system is incompatible with the current legal system and that there are obvious conflicts necessitating repeal. Generally speaking, long-term restrictions on physical liberty should be as provided for in the Criminal Law punishments, the police investigate, the procuratorate reviews indictment and the court adjudicates, but in RTL, these three procedures are covertly simplified into a single procedure, and the public security investigates, reviews and decides. " This is entirely contrary to the rule of law."

Without RTL, There Is Still Compulsory Drug Treatment The impact on Police Is Not Large

It is reported that China currently has more than 300 RTL administration sites, belonging to organizations established under the justice system, with more than 100,000 police and employees taking in 260,000 RTL detainees. Some are concerned that if RTL is abolished, it will impact the police and organization set up. This reporter has learned that, this province has more than 800 listed RTL detainees, with the actual number currently under enforcement only than 200 plus people.

 

This reporter has learned that, Yunan's RTL work was begun in October 1955, and was one of the first provinces to establish RTL facilities. By July 2001, the provincial RTL Bureau was upgraded to Deputy-Minister level institution. At present, Yunnan has 14 RTL facilities including the Yunnan Provincial Detoxification RTL Administration Site, the Yunnan Provincial Women's RTL Administration Site, and the Kunming Municipal Compulsory Drug Treatment RTL Management Site. Generally speaking, The number of RTL detainees in Yunnan is gradually declining. From January 2002 to December 2006, the aggregate number of RTL detainees in Yunnan was 41,742. Whereas from 2007 to late September 2012, the aggregate number of new RTL detainees in Yunnan was only 6,008.

Since 2011, after the power of compulsory detoxification was transferred from the police to the RTL sytem, many RTL facilities added a 'compulsory detoxification site' sign, and began to shoulder the heavy burden of compulsory drug detoxification. In fact, this work has become the primary job of RTL police.. "Without forced labour, there is still Compulsory Detoxification. It can't be said that if RTL was ended the RTL police wouldn't have anything to do. There are a lot of compulsory detoxification tasks, a lot of work," said a relevant figure.

The Road to Aboloshing RTL

It is generally believed that the RTL system began on August 3, 1957, with the State Council issuing the "Decision on the Issue of Re-education-through-labor"

In late January 2004, Guangdong Provincial Political Consultative Congress members jointly signed a proposal initiated by Zhu Zhengfu calling for the abolition of RLT; calling for Guangdong to take the lead in abolishing the RTL system and receiving the support Shenzhen Academy of Social Sciences Director Le Zhen, Sun Yat-Sen University History Department Professor Qiu Jie, Guangdong University of Foreign Studies Professor Wang WeiHong, Guangdong Institute of Economic Management Law Department Professor Lan Yanxia, China News Agency's Guangdong branch director Chen Jia, Yangcheng Evening news Editor-in-chief Pan Weiwen and six other members of the Political Consultative Congress

At the end of 2007, 69 Chinese scholars and legal personnel, including economist Mao Yushi, rights lawyer Li Fangpeng and scholar Hu xingdu, jointly signed and published an open letter calling for the revocation of the RTL system.

In March 2008, NPC representative and Shaanxi Province Standing Committee Member Ma Kening formally submitted a suggestion calling for the abolition of the RTL system. Ma felt that the State Council 's administrative regulation on RTL should be abolished as it violates provisions of the Constitution and the Legislation Law, and also violates the Administrative Punishments Law.

On October 9, 2012, the State Council Newd Office released the white paper on "China's Judicial Reform", the head of the Central Office for Judicial Reform, Jiang Wei said that the relevant departments are currently studying the reform plan for the RTL system.

January 7, National Political Work Conference was held and placed promotion of RTL reform as a key focus of this year's work; the : the new coming out was: the central government has already researched and submitted a report to the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress for approval, use of the RTL system might stop this year.

Typical Cases

The Tang Hui Case

 

Tang Hui, whose 11-year-old daughter was forced into prostitution more than 100 times, angrily petitioned but was repeatedly treated unjustly, it was not until six years later that the case got redress. After only two months, however, on August 2, 2012, Tang Hui was put into RTL for a year and six months by Hunan, Yongzhou for "seriously disturbing public order creating an extremely negative social impact:" A few days later under pressure from public opinion, Tang Hui was released.

The Ren Jianyu case

College student village official Ren Jianyu was sent to 2 years in RTL by the Chongqing RTL department for repeatedly publishing "negative speech and information." On November 19, 2012, the RTL Committee withdrew the RTL decision, and Ren Jianyu regained his freedom.

Peng Hong case

In September 2009 during the Chongqing campaign against organized crime, Peng Hong posted a forward of a comic called 'umbrella' about the anti-mafia campaign in a Forum. It was found to be "defamation", and he was given 2 years of RTL. On September 10, 2011, the RTL term expired and he was released. On September 7, 2012, the Chongqing RTL Committee decided to withdraw the original RTL decision.

About China Law Translate 834 Articles
CLT is a crowdsourced, crowdfunded legal translation project that enables English speaking people to better understand Chinese law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*

Yunnan Suspends Approval of All Re-education-through-Labor within the Province

ALL TRANSLATIONS ON THIS SITE ARE UNOFFICIAL AND ARE PROVIDED FOR REFERENCE PURPOSES ONLY. THESE TRANSLATIONS ARE CREATED AND CONTINUOUSLY UPDATED BY USERS –THEY ARE FREE TO VIEW, BUT PROPER ATTRIBUTION IS REQUIRED FOR DISTRIBUTION OF THESE OR DERIVATIVE TRANSLATIONS.

English中文(简体)

 293 total views,  1 views today

云南暂停省内全部劳教审批(全文)

 

2013-02-06 07:36:59 来源: 人民网(北京)
核心提示:2月5日,云南政法委书记孟苏铁表示,将对涉嫌危害国家安全、缠访闹访、丑化领导人形象等三种行为的劳教审批统一停止,对其他违法情形的劳教审批全部暂停。对目前在教人员应继续执行,原则上不受理涉及劳教制度历史问题的上访。

劳教制度在各个历史时期为维护社会治安,确保社会稳定发挥了积极作用,同时也逐渐暴露出一些弊端,改革势在必行。

谁家的娃娃谁家抱,坚决防止因信访渠道不畅、部门间推诿扯皮而导致越级访、重复访、非正常上访的情况。

广东或在今年停止劳教制度

据南方日报报道,1月28日,广东省人大会议列席人员、省司法厅厅长严植婵告诉记者,根据目前公布的信息,劳教改革方案将按照程序提请全国人大常委会审议。如果审议通过,广东将按照方案以及中央政法委、司法部的要求推进改革,有可能在今年适时停止劳教制度。

严植婵表示,一旦确定停止劳教制度,意味着劳教系统不再接收劳教人员,而在教的劳教人员将于到达劳教期限后解教。

“我们已经做好各项工作准备。目前广东劳教人员大量的是强制戒毒和康复戒毒人员,真正意义上的劳教人员比例很低。”严植婵补充,全省现有劳教人员主要有赌博、卖淫、嫖娼等违反治安管理条例的违法行为。

至于公众关注的停止劳教制度是否会影响劳教机构和干警队伍这一焦点,严植婵直言,“没有那么大的问题。”

“从现在起,我省对涉嫌危害国家安全、缠访闹访、丑化领导人形象等三种行为的劳教审批统一停止。对其他违法情形的劳教审批全部暂停,依据相关法律进行处理,不再采用劳教手段。”“对目前在教人员应继续执行、自然消化。”“原则上不受理涉及劳教制度历史问题的上访,确有执行错误的,按个案处理。”昨日,在全省政法工作视频会议上,省委常委、省委政法委书记孟苏铁作了上述重要发言。这意味着,我省今年不会再有人被决定劳教。至此,我省的劳教制度改革跨出了历史性的一步。

孟苏铁同时表示,全体劳教民警为促进经济社会发展和社会稳定和谐作出了重要贡献。在改革过程中,要特别关爱、真正用好这支队伍。

昨日会议还对25名2012年度省见义勇为先进个人予以表彰,对涉诉信访、户籍制度改革等当前和今后一个时期的重要工作进行了部署。

劳教

劳教审批全部暂停 三类行为劳教审批停止

昨日会议上,孟苏铁强调,要确保劳动教养制度改革平稳推进。“劳教制度在各个历史时期为维护社会治安,确保社会稳定发挥了积极作用,同时也逐渐暴露出一些弊端,改革势在必行。”他说,根据我省实际,推进劳教制度改革要把握好几个环节:

一是把握好原则。从现在起,对涉嫌危害国家安全、缠访闹访、丑化领导人形象等三种行为的劳教审批统一停止,对其他违法情形的劳教审批全部暂停,依据相关法律进行处理,不再采用劳教手段。对目前在教人员应继续执行、自然消化。原则上不受理涉及劳教制度历史问题的上访,确有执行错误的,按个案处理。

二是保持劳教场所安全稳定。要加强对在教人员的教育管理,确保在教人员思想稳定。加强安全防范措施,防止安全事故。加强解教人员衔接,落实安置帮教措施,帮助解教人员顺利融入社会。

三是统筹相关工作。要把劳教制度与社区矫正、强制隔离戒毒和基层基础建设统筹考虑,使现有力量资源发挥更大效益。长期以来,全省劳教系统为促进经济社会发展和社会稳定和谐作出了重要贡献,全体劳教民警为此付出了心血和汗水。在改革过程中,要特别关爱、真正用好这支队伍。他表示这支队伍在强制戒毒方面的任务也非常重。

信访

各级党委政法委不再集中向下交办信访案件

孟苏铁指出,近年来,解决涉诉信访问题取得了明显成效,同时,涉诉涉访总量仍在高位运行,少数群众“信访不信法”“信上不信下”“弃法转访”等问题突出,严重损害司法权威。他表示,要以贯彻执行修改后的刑事诉讼法、民事诉讼法为契机,将涉法涉诉信访从普通信访中分离出来,符合条件的纳入司法程序。各级党委政法委不再集中向下级党委政法委交办信访案件,由各级政法机关自上而下交办,依据案件管辖权限,由责任单位负责办理,“谁家的娃娃谁家抱”。坚决防止因信访渠道不畅、部门间推诿扯皮而导致越级访、重复访、非正常上访的情况。

要及时有效化解社会矛盾,最大限度地把矛盾化解在基层、消除在萌芽状态,最大限度地预防和减少群体性事件,仍是平安建设重中之重的任务,要以“小事不出村、大事不出乡镇、矛盾不上交”为目标,大力加强人民调解工作。

此外,要稳妥有序地推进户籍制度改革,全面实行居住证制度,推动基本公共服务向常住人口全覆盖,逐步使大多数流动人口在城镇和农村安全乐业。

观察

全国政法工作会议传信号 或将停止劳教制度

昨日,全省政法工作会议上的“暂停劳教”消息,无疑是对全国政法工作会议的贯彻与落实。

1月7日,全国政法工作会议在京召开,将推进劳教制度改革作为今年的工作重点,同时多家媒体发微博表示:中央政法委书记孟建柱称,中央已研究,报请全国人大常委会批准,今年或停止使用劳教制度。

“停止了,就离废除不远了!劳教改革终于有了实质性的进展!”消息一出,多名知名专家、学者纷纷表示支持。这被认为是全国政法工作会议上释放出的最积极的信号。

虽然中央媒体在全国政法工作会议的相关报道中,均未明确提及“今年停止使用劳教制度”。不过参加全国政法工作会议的多位官员向媒体证实了上述消息。

随后,新华网发布消息称,全国政法工作会议1月7日在北京召开。会议确定了2013年工作思路,将推进劳教制度改革、涉法涉诉信访工作改革、司法权力运行机制改革、户籍制度改革“四项改革”确定为2013年工作重点。

同时,新华社发布《期待把维稳式劳教扫进历史垃圾堆》的短评:半年前中国网事曾发表《三评永州》,指出唐慧案留下的不是个句号,而是个大大的问号,指向屡屡引起争议的维稳式劳教。全国政法工作会议7日在京召开,我们期待劳教制度改革进一步推进,把拖时代后腿的维稳式劳教尽早扫进历史垃圾堆,这才是对“唐慧之问”最好的回答。

劳教制度被异化 继续保留不合时宜

事实上,对劳教制度的反对声,一直都存在,近年来多位学者、教授曾联名要求废止。著名经济学家茅于轼、著名社会学者于建嵘、法律学者何兵、多名知名律师均主张废除或彻底改革劳教制度。唐慧案、任建宇案,更是引爆舆论,上访的、因言获罪的,统统装进“劳教”的大框。劳教制度已经被异化,成了某些权力不受拘束的工具,废除声高涨。

北京盈科(昆明)律师事务所合伙人杨名跨表示,劳教是上世纪50年代法制极不健全的背景下,新政权为加强社会管制尤其是大量敌特反人员问题而设立的制度。在国家法制基本健全的当下,还继续保留已不合时宜。因为治安管理处罚法及刑法已基本做到密而不疏,故再沿用劳教这样的“老黄历”完全悖逆了时代潮流。

劳教的“违法性”被广为诟病。法学界普遍认为其明显与宪法规定不符。根据《宪法》第37条, 任何公民非经检察院批准、决定或法院决定不受逮捕。而逮捕仅是刑事侦查中的临时性强制措施,即须检法批准决定;劳教可剥夺公民人身自由高达4年,却仅由警方自行决定。

其次是其直接违反了《立法法》。根据《立法法》第8条,对限制公民人身自由的强制措施和处罚,只能由全国人大制定法律予以设定,而劳教制度无论是初始的人大批准,还是后来的国务院批准,都不够格视同为全国人大的立法位阶。

云南凌云律师事务所主任李春光表示,劳教制度和当前的法律体系是不相容的、有明显冲突的,废除势在必行。一般来说,长期限制人身自由,应该由《刑法》规定在刑罚中来承担,由公安侦查、检察院审查起诉、法院审判,而劳教变相把三个程序简化成一个程序,由公安自侦自查自定。“这完全是反法治的”。

没了劳教还有强戒 对警察影响不大

据报道,目前中国有300多劳教管理所,属于司法系统下设机构,干警职工10万多人,收容26万名劳教人员。有人担心,若劳教废除了,会对干警以及机构设置产生一定的影响。记者了解到,我省共有在册的劳教人员800多人,实际正在执行的人员仅有200多人。

 

记者了解到,云南劳动教养工作始创于1955年10月,是全国最早建立劳动教养场所的省份之一。到2001年7月,省劳教局升格为副厅级机构。目前,包括云南省戒毒劳动教养管理所、云南省女子劳动教养管理所和昆明市强制戒毒劳动教养管理所在内,云南设立的劳教所共有14个。总体说来,云南的劳教人员呈逐渐下降的趋势。2002年1月至2006年12月,云南累计收容劳教的人员有41742人。而2007年至2012年9月末,云南累计新收容劳教的人员只有6008人。

自从2011年,强制戒毒权从公安转到劳教系统以后,我省众多劳教所又多了一块“强制戒毒所”的牌子,担负起了强制戒毒的重任。事实上,这一块工作正成为劳教警察们的主要工作。“没了劳教,还有强戒。不是说劳教停止了,劳教系统的警察就没事干了。强戒的任务也很重,活很多!”相关人士表示。

劳教立废之路

一般认为劳教制度始于1957年8月3日,国务院发布了《关于劳动教养问题的决定》。

2004年1月下旬,广东省政协委员联署由朱征夫发起要求废除劳教的提案,要求广东先行一步废除劳教制度,得到了深圳市社会科学院院长乐正教授、中山大学历史系教授邱捷、广东外语外贸大学教授王卫红、广东经济管理学院法律系教授蓝燕霞、中新社广东分社社长陈佳、《羊城晚报》总编辑潘伟文等六位政协委员的附议。

2007年底,包括经济学家茅于轼、维权律师李方平、学者胡星斗等69位中国学者和法律界人士联署发表了公开信,呼吁取消劳动教养制度。

2008年3月,全国人大代表、陕西省人大常委会委员马克宁正式提交建议,呼吁废除劳动教养制度。马认为,国务院关于劳动教养的行政法规违反《宪法》、《立法法》的规定,也违反了《行政处罚法》和《治安管理处罚法》,应当废除。

2012年10月9日,国新办发表《中国的司法改革》白皮书,中央司改办负责人姜伟称,有关部门正在研究劳动教养制度的改革方案。

1月7日,全国政法工作会议召开,将推进劳教制度改革作为今年的工作重点,有消息传出:中央已研究,报请全国人大常委会批准,今年或停止使用劳教制度。

典型案例

唐慧案

 

11岁女儿被逼卖淫100余次,唐慧愤然上访却屡遭不公正对待,6年后案情才得以昭雪。然而仅过了两个月,2012年8月2日,唐慧被湖南永州以“严重扰乱社会秩序,造成了极坏的社会影响”劳动教养一年六个月。几天后,在舆论压力下唐慧获释。

任建宇案

大学生村官任建宇因多次发表“负面言论和信息”, 被重庆劳教处处以两年劳教。2012年11月19日,劳教委撤销了劳教决定,任建宇重获自由。

彭洪案

2009年9月重庆打黑期间,彭洪在论坛转发打黑漫画《保护伞》。认定为“诽谤”,劳教两年。2011年9月10日,劳教期满获释。2012年9月7日,重庆市劳教委决定撤销原劳教决定。

About China Law Translate 1003 Articles
CLT 是一个能够让说英语的人群进一步了解中国法律,众包、众筹的法律翻译项目。

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*